AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 23rd January, 2003, 04:53 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Location: Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 27

Epox 8RDA+ @ 200Mhz FSB stable but...

...the only way I've found to get it stable is to drop my AGP speed to 50Mhz. Otherwise, running at 66Mhz, I get screen corruption and 3D games crash after 5 mins.

System Specs:

Athlon XP 2400+ @ 200 x 12 @ 1.90v
Epox 8RDA+
Corsair 512Mb PC3200 DDR (4-2-2-2)
PNY Geforce 4 Ti4200 @ 300 / 575
360W PSU

Ive determined its not the following:

- Changing the RAM timings does nothing, so its not a timing issue
- Under-clocking the GC back to defaults doesn't work either, so it doesn't seem to be a heat issue
- Raising the AGP voltage doesn't do anything either
- Adding more fans doesn't do anything (had two deltas in it at one point - eeeek) so I don't think its a heat issue.

The graphics just refuse to be stable when the FSB is at 200Mhz and the AGP speed is at 66Mhz. The obvious conclusion is that there is either a problem with my graphics card or the AGP slot.

HOWEVER, looking around on the Internet, I notice a lot of people are using the ATi Raedon 9700 (or variations of) and easily exceeding the magic 200Mhz FSB. I'm not sure what to make of this.

I would like anyones opinion on this, as I notice a lot of people cant hit 200Mhz FSB stability, but others can.

BTW, this is my first post. I wasn't sure whether to post this in the Epox forum, as it has to do with the AGP clock speeds.

Skell

[EDIT: Anybody wanna try this?]
__________________

Last edited by Skell; 23rd January, 2003 at 08:59 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 23rd January, 2003, 11:25 PM
Staz's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Lafayette LA
Posts: 3,241
Send a message via Yahoo to Staz

Don't have the board so I can't be sure.

It sounds like the north bridge is overheating to me. Have you tried sticking a fan on the north brigde.

Note:
This is just an educated guess.
Anyone else care to hazard a guess???
__________________
How come whenever I have a 50/50 chance I'm wrong 80% of the time?

What goes in a computer? Click me to find out.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 23rd January, 2003, 11:38 PM
Prometheus's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Posts: 44

I'm one of the 9700 owners who hits 200 and up with ease, and I can tell you it ISN'T the video card. The 9700 is a poor overclocker compared to other performance cards. As an example in boards that do NOT have AGP/PCI lock the 9700 limits overclocks to about 145 to 148 on a 133 base P4, while the GF4 series genrally make it to the mid 50's or even higher.

The HIGHEST I can get my 2400+ with stability is 11.5x200 or 207x11 at 1.775v to 1.8v - but I CAN use 69-70 on AGP at those settings and still overclock the 9700 to 373/333 from 325/310.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 24th January, 2003, 01:41 AM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Location: Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 27

Yes I thought it might be the Northbridge, but I opened a window one cold night and got it freezing in here, along with the 2 deltas, no difference... Its fine at around 199 and lower... :|

My XP can do 200x12, which is great, but i wish I cud run the AGP at spec or above, not below... Maybe I should just get a 9700

I wonder if its got something to do with the card not being AGP 8x compatible... Thanks for ur input guys, very much appreciated!

Skell
__________________

Last edited by Skell; 24th January, 2003 at 01:46 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 24th January, 2003, 02:08 AM
Staz's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Lafayette LA
Posts: 3,241
Send a message via Yahoo to Staz

Well if it runs fine at 199 then why not run at 199? Or run at 12.5x192?
__________________
How come whenever I have a 50/50 chance I'm wrong 80% of the time?

What goes in a computer? Click me to find out.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 24th January, 2003, 02:48 AM
timbob2469's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: Pa. USA
Posts: 805

For what it's worth , when I set my 8RDA+ to 199FSB in bios setup and then use Sandra to check mainboard information or cpu + bios information ,It shows up as running at 200FSB. I think the figures get rounded up ,199FSB is really about 199.66. My memory can't take much more (207 tops) but with instability. 11 x 199(200) and all is well prime95 for hours , 3dmark2001se , Superpi ,Toast....I did vmod(1.81v),Iceberq on NB ,passive on SB , Zalman Flower on cpu , Passive on moffsets , even a small fan on memory.
Gotta resist clicking "add to shopping cart" for xms3500...
Gotta resist clicking "add to shopping cart" for xms3500...
Gotta resist clicking "add to shopping cart" for xms3500...
bob
ps. H2O cooling is being looked into as well as peltier , Just how unstable is liquid nitrogen ? I could always drag that refridgerator/freezer a little closer mmmmm It is about 12° F outside tonight.
__________________
EP-8RDA+ v1.0 3827 bios
XP1700+ JIUHB 175 x 12.5=2187MHz. 1.75v
2 x 512MB Crucial pc3200 10, 2, 2, 2.0
THERMALRIGHT SLK900u 92mm Zalman fan, Enlight 420 watt, AIW 9000 Pro 64mb DDR agp4x, voltage mod 1.85v
Home made NB cooler
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 24th January, 2003, 11:52 AM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Location: Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 27

I knew someone would say, why dont you run it at 199! Cos 199 is such an odd number Hehe

To be honest, I probably will, but I'm still confused as to why the board wont hit 200!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 24th January, 2003, 05:13 PM
Stepper's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Location: ShAkYgRoUnD
Posts: 109

Another Point of View

U may have better results if U lower the multiplier...U can still get the same numbers out of the chip with a lower multiplier and a higher fsb...U may also want to take a look at Ur power supply...jus my 2 cents worth...
Attached Thumbnails
Epox 8RDA+ @ 200Mhz FSB stable but...-haha-223.jpg  
__________________
~~StePPer~~
A Man of Wealth & Taste
Outta My Mind...back in 5 min

X_Peed2400/currently XP1700
Epox-8r_Da
Anorexic_TruePowDer 550w_aste of ca$h
M_ax C_ooling X_pence 462+/Semi_Smart Fan II
2*512Mb Cors_hair X_tra M_oney S_pent PC3200C2
ATI Radiation8500
Sin2k/MaXtor'd60giggleATA133
Memor_XXX 4.8x2.4x4.8

Last edited by Stepper; 24th January, 2003 at 05:17 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 24th January, 2003, 08:07 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Location: Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 27

What are your RAM timings for that rig?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 24th January, 2003, 08:24 PM
Stepper's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Location: ShAkYgRoUnD
Posts: 109

3*2*2*2...although the spec on this memory is...6*3*3*2*1T
__________________
~~StePPer~~
A Man of Wealth & Taste
Outta My Mind...back in 5 min

X_Peed2400/currently XP1700
Epox-8r_Da
Anorexic_TruePowDer 550w_aste of ca$h
M_ax C_ooling X_pence 462+/Semi_Smart Fan II
2*512Mb Cors_hair X_tra M_oney S_pent PC3200C2
ATI Radiation8500
Sin2k/MaXtor'd60giggleATA133
Memor_XXX 4.8x2.4x4.8
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 25th January, 2003, 05:06 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 20

Mine won't even run at 190sync in 3dmark I don't know what it is, I'm a bit dissapointed.
__________________
8rda+(rev1.1), 1700+ (JIUCB), 2*256 twinmos(w/ twinmos chips), Sapphire 9700 np, 120 WD SE, Alpha Pal 8045
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 25th January, 2003, 08:58 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Location: Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 27

Yeah its annoying isnt it
Altho yours might be solved by removing a stick of RAM, although thats rather pointless. Just run it at 166 sync and ramp up the multiplyer!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
which epox boards support 200mhz fsb athlons? webmedic EPoX MotherBoards 19 16th June, 2003 09:44 AM
8rda+ with A1(C1) can't reach 200MHz FSB SgtBudde EPoX MotherBoards 20 17th May, 2003 02:20 PM
My 8RDA+ can't do 200mhz, Help! Link EPoX MotherBoards 23 4th May, 2003 01:25 PM
How I got 200mhz SYNCH 8RDA+ Clocker EPoX MotherBoards 0 3rd January, 2003 11:51 PM
8RDA+ 200Mhz No Go Clocker EPoX MotherBoards 4 18th December, 2002 11:35 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:50 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0