AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 24th January, 2003, 02:29 PM
Dan Dan is offline
New Member/OES
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 4

Question Abit NF7-S (with 5bit FID) and Athlon XP1700... do I still need to unlock?

Hi peeps

I've unlocked quite a few Athlons by now, but not a modern XP yet (I think I did an XP1400 a while back). I have been told that the Abit mobos with "5bit FID" will oc the CPU without having to unlock it - is this true?

If I still have to unlock the chip, can someone tell me, is it the same as before? Nothing new I should know? I have been out of the OC scene for a few months you see

Thanks!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 24th January, 2003, 04:25 PM
Random Nonsense's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: USS Great Britain, aircraft carrier, moored off the northwest coast of Europe
Posts: 3,340
Send a message via ICQ to Random Nonsense Send a message via Yahoo to Random Nonsense

Im not sure whether you have to unlock, I expect you will, and yes, it has changed a fair bit form the old tbirds. You will have to fill the pits between the L1's with a nonconductive substance before using a conductive ink, or defogger repair fluid to connect the bridges.
__________________
Dual XP1600+ AGOIA "Y" @ 1875mhz WATERCOOLED 33C LOAD

Undergoing overhaul. Hard Locking to 13.5X multiplier for theoretical clockrate of 1944mhz 144mhz FSB

1X Duron 1.3 AHCLA "9" @ 1430mhz

1X Celeron 1000mhz

1X Pentium3 450 DECEASED

Folding Under AOA-UK for team 45!



"Mothers should love their babies, because then they grow up, everyone might hate them."
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 24th January, 2003, 05:18 PM
Dan Dan is offline
New Member/OES
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 4

Quote:
Originally posted by Random Nonsense
Im not sure whether you have to unlock, I expect you will, and yes, it has changed a fair bit form the old tbirds. You will have to fill the pits between the L1's with a nonconductive substance before using a conductive ink, or defogger repair fluid to connect the bridges.
Cool - same as the XP1400 then that's good, I've done that before.

Thanks!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 29th January, 2003, 03:04 AM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: las vegas-nv-usa
Posts: 213

Not if it is a Tbred.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 29th January, 2003, 05:45 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: January 2003
Posts: 3

Uh yeah, if its a TBRED, no unlocking pop in and have access to all multipliers. If its a Tbred b, expect 2.0 ghz or higher overclock.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
how do i unlock an AMD athlon XP 2600+ post week 43? Amp4027 Hardware Hacking 17 20th December, 2005 07:58 PM
New Amd Athlon Unlock Info cadaveca Hardware Hacking 100 29th October, 2004 11:47 AM
unlock higher multiplier for xp1700 ? TheLOckE AMD Motherboards & CPUs 3 5th February, 2004 07:16 AM
Abit BD7M - Abit bring forth badness. The Daishi Intel Motherboards & CPUs 4 10th April, 2002 08:24 PM
Abit KT7A-RAID w/Athlon 1700+ oddicy AMD Motherboards & CPUs 5 6th April, 2002 03:32 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:12 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0