AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 4th February, 2003, 12:11 PM
Allan's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 7,914

[homer mode]Mmmmm, TBred! [/homer]

Today my new CPU arrived, after a journey across the big pond known as the Atlantic Ocean. Its name is Thoroughbred 1700+, a cheap but powerful solution with a great overclocking potential. Its last name is Juicb, I think it may descend from an ancient tribe known as the mighty J-series.

I ripped out the trusty 1600+ from my Asus motherboard, and in came the replacement.

1466 to 2000
Booted at default speeds and voltages, and voila - 1700+.
Ah, my XP1600+ did 1795MHz and I wanted more. I tried setting the 1700+ to about 1850 MHz, and gave it a wee bit of voltage. Booted straight into Windows. I wanted more. Decided that 2000 MHz wouldn't be bad: Presto, 2000 MHz. Tried running 3Dmark, it went fine. Mmm.... mesa likes.

Above 2000
Got greedy, and went for 2100 MHz straight. Upped the voltage to 1.775 and it went straigt to WinXP. No hickups. WOW, this must be good, I thought to myself.
Lets see what she is really capable of. Went to 2150 and 1.80 Vcore. It kept working. Got even more greedy, and decided on 2212. NO GO! First time it didn't post. I upped the Vcore to 1.93, and into Windows it flew right the first time. This is where I am at now... check the picture.

I'm mighty impressed with this chip. I wonder what the full potential is. I'll have more to tell later.

PS.: I'm watercooling this baby.


:beer:
Attached Thumbnails
[homer mode]Mmmmm, TBred! [/homer]-tbred.gif  
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 4th February, 2003, 12:55 PM
kat's Avatar
kat kat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: belding MI
Posts: 2,166

very nice oc allen.... kinda nice when they go that high right out of the box

my 2200+asus a7v333 without tweaks stops at 2184 generic memory..ive got two sticks of OCZ PC3500 256MB 433Mhz DDR CAS2.5(Copper Heatsink)-Performance Series comming in the mail...perhaps that will get me a little higher
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 4th February, 2003, 07:30 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Posts: 451
Send a message via ICQ to ByteWipe

kewl nice one
__________________
Michael Lewis
Disappointed

Main Rig: AMD XP 2000+ @ 1790Mhz (142Mhz FSB), Leadtek Winfast K7N415DA Mobo, Leadtek WinFast A250LE TD GF4 Ti4200 64MB @ 305/589, Crucial 256MB DDR PC2100 RAM, 92GB hard drive space, Chieftec Scorpio TX-10BD Case, 2 Papst 80mm Case Fans (40cfm each), Akasa AK-821 2Q Silent CPU Cooler (20cfm). Win XP Pro. 45C idle, 54C full load. 3DMark2001SE: 11020

Server: AMD K6-2 500Mhz @ 550Mhz (110Mhz FSB), Gigabyte GA-5AX Mobo, S3 Trio 4MB, 224MB P100 RAM, stock CPU cooler. Win 2000 Pro
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 4th February, 2003, 07:49 PM
LBJGH's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: North of Toronto
Posts: 459

damn good cpu's... I get the same speed on air.

This is the best I got at 1.95v (not stable tho)

http://members.rogers.com/swiftresults/cpu-2320mhz.jpg
__________________
AMD & ATI Powered!

DFI Lanparty S939 NF3 Ultra-D | AMD X2 4200 @ 2.6GHz | 1gb OCZ pc3200 rev2 TCC5 | ATI X800XT Platinum Edition| 2x120G WD | Plextor 712a | Antec SLK3700AMB| 520w OCZ PowerStream | Zalman 7000Cu

My Heatware 100% Positive

Last edited by LBJGH; 4th February, 2003 at 07:57 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 6th February, 2003, 02:43 PM
Allan's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 7,914

I found out that at 2212 my water cooling setup wasn't really sufficient - 70C easily!!
I backed it down to 1.80 volts and 2065 MHz for now to keep temps down until I get some better cooling. But the CPU really ain't bad..
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 6th February, 2003, 03:30 PM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

Quote:
Originally posted by Allan
I found out that at 2212 my water cooling setup wasn't really sufficient - 70C easily!!
......

That's odd, I'm running the same CPU @ 2014 and 1.85v. My temp reading is only 47c... with an SK7 and fan quietly spinning at only 2800rpm. That just seems odd to me. I'm relatively confident in the temp reading, since I've let the fan slow down to 2000 or so, and the temp can hit high 50's and still run stable.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 6th February, 2003, 05:40 PM
Allan's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 7,914

Quote:
Originally posted by SteveI



That's odd, I'm running the same CPU @ 2014 and 1.85v. My temp reading is only 47c... with an SK7 and fan quietly spinning at only 2800rpm. That just seems odd to me. I'm relatively confident in the temp reading, since I've let the fan slow down to 2000 or so, and the temp can hit high 50's and still run stable.
Hmm thats strange.. I may have to reapply the arctic silver and see if that helps.

I wish I had more voltage options in my BIOS, it seems it can't really decide on what to supply the CPU with. At one point Asus Probe reported a Vcore of 2.13! Too high for me...
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mmmmm refreshing Favu Random Nonsense! 4 6th August, 2006 01:11 PM
mmmmm yummy :) bradmax57 AMD Motherboards & CPUs 8 12th August, 2005 09:06 AM
homer and krusty barneygumble742 Random Nonsense! 6 11th September, 2004 07:55 PM
How can u check if you have a tbred-b or tbred-a? Mccallbros AMD Motherboards & CPUs 8 1st April, 2003 04:33 PM
MMMMM, doom3 loop GAMES! OH YEAH! 6 23rd March, 2003 02:20 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:46 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0