AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 12th February, 2003, 10:17 PM
bradmax57's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: La Toon
Posts: 3,784

Unsure that 8RDA+ has PCI lock?

I'm Still uncertain? although the american epox site states that the PCI lock is there I'm not so sure. I did the VDD mod the other day, though all was well got to almost 210 sync at 1.77 I though yes great stuff, then I realised that I had no sound from my front left speaker (4.1) tried relashing bios etc new sound drivers anyway I put a hercules fortissimo II soundcard in and all speakers worked, put it back upto 200fsb and no sound back down to 166fsb sound came back. so IM curently back at 205fsb but 3 channel!!! Instead of speanding money on a new sound card I think I'll wait for a new revison of 8RDA, bit gutted but then thats what happens when you fool around!
__________________
Asus Rampage II Gene - Intel i7 920 D0 - 6 x 2gb Patriot Viper 1600 DDR3 - Nvidia 285 GTX - OCZ Modstream 600W - 1 x samsung 1tb SATA HDD's - 2 x Pioneer 216D SATA DVD-RW - Antec P180 Mini
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 13th February, 2003, 05:44 PM
sotti's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Location: Portland, Or
Posts: 138

everywhere I've seen PCI speed mentioned it says locked at 33mhz

as for the speaker I can't coment on that.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 13th February, 2003, 07:44 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: Europe, Finland
Posts: 243
Send a message via ICQ to sirtoby

It has pci lock.. no need to discuss facts.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 13th February, 2003, 07:52 PM
bradmax57's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: La Toon
Posts: 3,784

Quote:
Originally posted by sirtoby
It has pci lock.. no need to discuss facts.
then why does the pci card work at 166fsb but not 200fsb?
__________________
Asus Rampage II Gene - Intel i7 920 D0 - 6 x 2gb Patriot Viper 1600 DDR3 - Nvidia 285 GTX - OCZ Modstream 600W - 1 x samsung 1tb SATA HDD's - 2 x Pioneer 216D SATA DVD-RW - Antec P180 Mini
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 13th February, 2003, 08:31 PM
Holst's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Leics UK
Posts: 4,528

I recon you might have some sort of very odd software instability bradmax.

Having trouble with 2 soundcards is too much of a co-incidence.

Try reinstalling direcX and direct sound (is that included in DX9 ?)

The PCI is locked at 33 however that is no guarantee of stability within PCI or IDE as your still overclocking... and you can still get instability.
__________________
No longer Epox Tech.

Best of luck in the future all my friends.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 13th February, 2003, 09:32 PM
bradmax57's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: La Toon
Posts: 3,784

Quote:
Originally posted by Holst
I recon you might have some sort of very odd software instability bradmax.

Having trouble with 2 soundcards is too much of a co-incidence.

Try reinstalling direcX and direct sound (is that included in DX9 ?)

The PCI is locked at 33 however that is no guarantee of stability within PCI or IDE as your still overclocking... and you can still get instability.
I know it seems weird but the pci card only had problems at 200fsb was fine at 166 which made me think Ive tried alls with the onboard sound I'm currently downloading dx9 again but I somehow think ive knacked my soudn card, oh well!
__________________
Asus Rampage II Gene - Intel i7 920 D0 - 6 x 2gb Patriot Viper 1600 DDR3 - Nvidia 285 GTX - OCZ Modstream 600W - 1 x samsung 1tb SATA HDD's - 2 x Pioneer 216D SATA DVD-RW - Antec P180 Mini
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
8rda+ and nvidia graphics driver lock up workaround anonymous EPoX MotherBoards 2 16th May, 2003 10:44 PM
8RDA+ - Where do you lock PCI / FSB ration FastFred EPoX MotherBoards 2 10th January, 2003 04:15 AM
8RDA+ PCI lock and divider answer at last !! MiGGinZ AMD Motherboards & CPUs 21 13th December, 2002 12:02 PM
No PCI lock on 8RDA+ ivanmoe AMD Motherboards & CPUs 4 12th December, 2002 11:13 PM
Have reason to believe no PCI Lock on 8RDA+ nikhsub1 AMD Motherboards & CPUs 37 7th December, 2002 02:04 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:51 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0