AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 14th February, 2003, 08:56 PM
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Posts: 153

Barton?

I am just about to upgrade and want to overclock me new processor....trouble is what is better choice xp2400 or xp2500 barton? and can barton be 'unlocked' like this:

http://www.ocworkbench.com/2002/amd/...ocktbredp1.htm
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 16th February, 2003, 10:31 AM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Posts: 95

get barton
__________________
athlon xp 2100+ 0301 mpmw @2350mhz 1.75v vantec aeroflow hsf [] epox 8rda+ @ 195 fsb w/ vantec iceburg [] 2 256mb corsair 3200 sync @ 5322 [] audigy platinum [] geforce 3 ti500 [] logitech z-560 speakers [] 19' viewsonic trinitron [] 80gb 8mb cache wd drive [] 80gb 2mb cache seagate [] 450w psu [] silver chieftec w/ 6 case fans
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 16th February, 2003, 04:39 PM
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Posts: 153

thanx

thanx for the advice but can it actually be unlocked like that....cause i would really not want to brake a new chip lol
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 16th February, 2003, 05:27 PM
Staz's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Lafayette LA
Posts: 3,241
Send a message via Yahoo to Staz

If I told you that you could unlock a Barton like that I would be lying to you. I don't know. I do know however that that is not the best method. It would cause your CPU to not sit exactly flat and my cause at best the need for more thermal grease and at worst uneven pressure while attaching the HSF causing a cracked core.

You could also tak a small wire and bend it and drop it in the 2 holes in the socket. It would achieve the same thing and would cause less distortion to the way the CPU sits. If you were to take a small knife and cut a grove for the wire then the CPU could sit as it should without interferance. An even better option would be to scrape the varnish off of the corosponding pins on the back of the motherboard CPU socket and connect those pins with a defroster repair kit.

Also I don't think that a Barton would be a wise choice. The price/performance ratio is nowhere near what it is with the TBred B core CPUs. I am not sure what the price difference is but the performance diference minimal. Also the TBred B 2100+ AUIHB (???) is a proven overclocker hitting 2.4GHz on a regular basis. We have no idea on how well the Barton core will overclock.
__________________
How come whenever I have a 50/50 chance I'm wrong 80% of the time?

What goes in a computer? Click me to find out.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 16th February, 2003, 07:50 PM
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Posts: 153

ok thanx for the advice could have done sumthin dangerous there lol......i just need to know where to get any thunderbird B processors in the uk.....any suggestions peeps?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 17th February, 2003, 02:57 AM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Posts: 95

most of the reviews of barton i have seen said it has no problem clocking up to 2250mhz, have seen that they could have problems with high fsbs however. so if you want to get something right now get the tbred b cuz its proven, if you have time to wait an see how bartons are gonna do then wait.
__________________
athlon xp 2100+ 0301 mpmw @2350mhz 1.75v vantec aeroflow hsf [] epox 8rda+ @ 195 fsb w/ vantec iceburg [] 2 256mb corsair 3200 sync @ 5322 [] audigy platinum [] geforce 3 ti500 [] logitech z-560 speakers [] 19' viewsonic trinitron [] 80gb 8mb cache wd drive [] 80gb 2mb cache seagate [] 450w psu [] silver chieftec w/ 6 case fans
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
a64 vs barton _MID_Viking AMD Motherboards & CPUs 10 6th May, 2004 12:00 AM
Barton 2600+ Barton steppings Pieros AMD Motherboards & CPUs 8 4th November, 2003 10:35 PM
Barton and DDR 400 Neoprene AMD Motherboards & CPUs 8 8th June, 2003 01:45 PM
barton sly113 ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team 31 23rd May, 2003 10:36 PM
Barton is this oc ok? Shonk AMD Motherboards & CPUs 12 4th May, 2003 06:47 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:13 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0