AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 25th November, 2001, 04:42 AM
Superman's Avatar
Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: WI
Posts: 4,406
Send a message via ICQ to Superman

Asynchronous FSB/Memory Frequency Question

If I'm running the CPU at 100Mhz FSB and the memory at 133Mhz on a KT133 chipset mobo, when I overclock the FSB is the memory being increased proportionally? That's what I would've expected. Therefore could I go higher FSB's by decreasing the memory speed to 100Mhz?
__________________
"And, most of all, remember this descendant of David who beat the hell out of death."
-from the book "Six Hours One Friday" by Max Lucado

"You have to go outside the sequence of engines, into the world of men, to find the real originator of the rocket. Is it not equally reasonable to look outside nature for the real Originator of the natural order?
-C.S. Lewis


Director of JavaScript section of the Allied Sites Support Team, web designer and programmer for DaOCPlace, and co-web designer and programmer for AOA Files

Avatar by Epox Tech



<>< I Believe-Do You?
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 25th November, 2001, 06:59 AM
eobard
Guest
 
Posts: n/a

Yes! My A7V-E has that chipset and I have the choice of running the memory at FSB or FSB + PCI. PCI = one third of FSB so a FSB setting of 105mhz = a PCI setting of 35mhz. That would give me the choice of 105mhz or 140mhz for my memory.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 25th November, 2001, 07:05 AM
Superman's Avatar
Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: WI
Posts: 4,406
Send a message via ICQ to Superman

Ahhh, OK. Thanks, but it still didn't help. Guess this old Athlon 1000 has seen better days

All the more reason to get an XP!
__________________
"And, most of all, remember this descendant of David who beat the hell out of death."
-from the book "Six Hours One Friday" by Max Lucado

"You have to go outside the sequence of engines, into the world of men, to find the real originator of the rocket. Is it not equally reasonable to look outside nature for the real Originator of the natural order?
-C.S. Lewis


Director of JavaScript section of the Allied Sites Support Team, web designer and programmer for DaOCPlace, and co-web designer and programmer for AOA Files

Avatar by Epox Tech



<>< I Believe-Do You?
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 25th November, 2001, 07:46 AM
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: RSA
Posts: 227
Send a message via ICQ to proze

yep. if your memory is limiting your fsb overclock, then dropping it to be synchronous with the fsb at a lower speed would help.
__________________
Athlon XP1700+@1540 (140*11), Gigabyte GA-7VAX, 256 Samsung PC2700 at 173Mhz, MTS Glaciator, Powercolor Radeon 8500 275/275, Delta 300W PSU.

Duron 600@1102 (105*10.5), Asus A7V, 256MB generic RAM at 140mhz 2-2-2, MTS Glaciator II, Creative GF Pro, Awesome no-name 300W PSU.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 25th November, 2001, 02:31 PM
FRANK's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Pittsburgh Pa.
Posts: 35

If you have a motherboard with the original KT133 chipset, then it's not your memory nor your CPU holding you back. The KT133 chipset is known not to support a FSB much above the 107/ 110MHz range. This was resolved with the introduction of the KT133A chipset that has been reported to attain 150+MHz FSB.

If you intend to use a "C" code (266FSB) CPU, then you're going to have to upgrade to a newer motherboard that will take advantage of the newer CPU.

I would recomend that you upgrade to one of the newest DDR boards with the KT266A chipset and DDR. With this chipset, a 150+MHz FSB is easily attained.

Good Luck!
__________________
AMD, eXPperience the difference

[COLOR=royal blue]2-XP1600+@1.53 ASUS A7M 266-D [/COLOR]----------- ----------- ---------- --------- [COLOR=royal blue]2-1G DURON's @ 1.2 150FSB TYAN S2460 [/COLOR][COLOR=royal blue]1G DURON @ 1.24 AD11 WBK 38[/COLOR]------------ ------------ ------------- [COLOR=royal blue]1.2g AXIA-9 @ 1.4 A7V133 WBK 38[/COLOR]
[COLOR=royal blue]1G AXIA @ 1.4 8KHA+ Millenium Glacator II[/COLOR]--- ---------- ---------- ---------[COLOR=royal blue] DURON 600 @ 1000 8KHA+ WBK38[/COLOR]
[COLOR=royal blue]DURON 600 @ 1100 A7V FOP 32[/COLOR] ........... .......... ........... ........... ........... [COLOR=royal blue]Desk drawer full of other stuff![/COLOR]

Last edited by FRANK; 25th November, 2001 at 02:34 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 26th November, 2001, 04:16 AM
Superman's Avatar
Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: WI
Posts: 4,406
Send a message via ICQ to Superman

I know. I can't get 106Mhz. I was hoping for 110Mhz. I think it's the memory. It's cheap crap.

And yes, I know about the need to upgrade the mobo. I was looking at either the 8KHA2 or the Soyo Dragon Plus. Need money first though.

EDIT: Never mind, can't be the memory. Maybe one of my PCI devices. I'll strip it later.
__________________
"And, most of all, remember this descendant of David who beat the hell out of death."
-from the book "Six Hours One Friday" by Max Lucado

"You have to go outside the sequence of engines, into the world of men, to find the real originator of the rocket. Is it not equally reasonable to look outside nature for the real Originator of the natural order?
-C.S. Lewis


Director of JavaScript section of the Allied Sites Support Team, web designer and programmer for DaOCPlace, and co-web designer and programmer for AOA Files

Avatar by Epox Tech



<>< I Believe-Do You?
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 30th November, 2001, 08:06 PM
MARKYBOY's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Florida
Posts: 25

Yes , my MSI K7turbo allows it , but like Frank says if you don't have a mobo with a KT133A chipset you'll be lucky to get a FSB of 110MHz max, pobably around 106-108 is average.

My Asus A7V would do about 110 FSB stable, my MSI K7 turbo does 143 max, stable( but i believe the memory is stopping it there) my shuttle does 175 stable and after that the memory craps out.
__________________
1.33TB @ 1575 (9x175)
Shuttle AK31 rev3
256 megs Corsair PC2400
15 gig IBM 7200 rpm
Yamaha 8x4x24 CD burner
Acer 32x CDrom
3 Com NIC
GeForce2 MX-200 64m
20 inch Sony Trinitron
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 30th November, 2001, 09:22 PM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

Looks like you don't have many options, Superman53142. Have you unlocked the CPU? While mem performance wouldn't improve, you could always up the multiplier to 10.5 or 11 to get more MHZ for folding

What's the stepping? Sounds like you have an AthlonB 1gig. A build for a friend was that chip w/ AXIA stepping. I was able to get 1.33 w/ 1.825v.

edit: BTW: if you can't get 106x10=1060, if you try 100x10.5= 1050, and it still doesn't work, you know it's not other devices.
__________________
AOA Team fah

Last edited by SteveI; 30th November, 2001 at 09:24 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 30th November, 2001, 09:35 PM
mrpcman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Anchorage, AK
Posts: 2,689
Send a message via AIM to mrpcman

I know my kt-7 raid could never get above 108MHz FSB. it was that darn kt133 chipset.
__________________
Alex Worthen
Director Of Web Design for the Allied Sites Support Team
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 1st December, 2001, 12:00 AM
Superman's Avatar
Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: WI
Posts: 4,406
Send a message via ICQ to Superman

Quote:
Originally posted by SteveI
Looks like you don't have many options, Superman53142. Have you unlocked the CPU? While mem performance wouldn't improve, you could always up the multiplier to 10.5 or 11 to get more MHZ for folding

What's the stepping? Sounds like you have an AthlonB 1gig. A build for a friend was that chip w/ AXIA stepping. I was able to get 1.33 w/ 1.825v.

edit: BTW: if you can't get 106x10=1060, if you try 100x10.5= 1050, and it still doesn't work, you know it's not other devices.
I didn't unlock it when I put it in, and I have no Arctic Silver in da house. Hence, if I take the heatsink off, it doesn't go back on. I'll have to make my way out to KD Computers in Waterford sometime and get some AS, then I can unlock it.
__________________
"And, most of all, remember this descendant of David who beat the hell out of death."
-from the book "Six Hours One Friday" by Max Lucado

"You have to go outside the sequence of engines, into the world of men, to find the real originator of the rocket. Is it not equally reasonable to look outside nature for the real Originator of the natural order?
-C.S. Lewis


Director of JavaScript section of the Allied Sites Support Team, web designer and programmer for DaOCPlace, and co-web designer and programmer for AOA Files

Avatar by Epox Tech



<>< I Believe-Do You?
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 1st December, 2001, 09:00 AM
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: RSA
Posts: 227
Send a message via ICQ to proze

hey superman, you're a supertones fan!!! kicka$$!
__________________
Athlon XP1700+@1540 (140*11), Gigabyte GA-7VAX, 256 Samsung PC2700 at 173Mhz, MTS Glaciator, Powercolor Radeon 8500 275/275, Delta 300W PSU.

Duron 600@1102 (105*10.5), Asus A7V, 256MB generic RAM at 140mhz 2-2-2, MTS Glaciator II, Creative GF Pro, Awesome no-name 300W PSU.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 1st December, 2001, 09:01 AM
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: RSA
Posts: 227
Send a message via ICQ to proze

what about the bosstones? reel big fish? goldfinger?
__________________
Athlon XP1700+@1540 (140*11), Gigabyte GA-7VAX, 256 Samsung PC2700 at 173Mhz, MTS Glaciator, Powercolor Radeon 8500 275/275, Delta 300W PSU.

Duron 600@1102 (105*10.5), Asus A7V, 256MB generic RAM at 140mhz 2-2-2, MTS Glaciator II, Creative GF Pro, Awesome no-name 300W PSU.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 1st December, 2001, 05:05 PM
Superman's Avatar
Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: WI
Posts: 4,406
Send a message via ICQ to Superman

Quote:
Originally posted by proze
what about the bosstones? reel big fish? goldfinger?
They are all right. I like the Supertones best though. And MxPx, they're good. And Five Iron Frenzy. They just came out with a new album that kicks butt. And there's a band called Switchfoot which has some pretty good stuff.
__________________
"And, most of all, remember this descendant of David who beat the hell out of death."
-from the book "Six Hours One Friday" by Max Lucado

"You have to go outside the sequence of engines, into the world of men, to find the real originator of the rocket. Is it not equally reasonable to look outside nature for the real Originator of the natural order?
-C.S. Lewis


Director of JavaScript section of the Allied Sites Support Team, web designer and programmer for DaOCPlace, and co-web designer and programmer for AOA Files

Avatar by Epox Tech



<>< I Believe-Do You?
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 2nd December, 2001, 05:29 PM
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: RSA
Posts: 227
Send a message via ICQ to proze

five iron frenzy came out here last year and i went to see them at our local skatepark. it was really awesome!! only about 100 people in this tiny little room, all going ape*****! it was nice..

mxpx are great too! as a matter of fact, i'm listening to the ever passing moment right now!

skate-punk and ska make the world go round!
__________________
Athlon XP1700+@1540 (140*11), Gigabyte GA-7VAX, 256 Samsung PC2700 at 173Mhz, MTS Glaciator, Powercolor Radeon 8500 275/275, Delta 300W PSU.

Duron 600@1102 (105*10.5), Asus A7V, 256MB generic RAM at 140mhz 2-2-2, MTS Glaciator II, Creative GF Pro, Awesome no-name 300W PSU.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Asynchronous memory on Nforce2 Keno5net AMD Motherboards & CPUs 3 4th August, 2004 02:41 PM
Memory Frequency ??? geekbyte EPoX MotherBoards 5 11th August, 2003 11:33 PM
Memory frequency on 8RDA+ SweFred EPoX MotherBoards 3 9th March, 2003 04:43 PM
Asynchronous system bus Q? please read fvr EPoX MotherBoards 0 13th September, 2002 07:21 AM
Have a ddr memory question. Ikester7579 EPoX MotherBoards 8 2nd September, 2002 07:43 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:19 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0