AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 9th March, 2003, 04:20 AM
boead's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 83

Q&A on Abit NF7-S rev 1.2

Prior board revisions don’t have Vdd adjustment in BIOS?

Why did Abit limit Vdd to 1.7v when its obvious that as much as 2.0v is needed?

Can’t a BIOS hack allow the Vdd to be adjustable beyond 1.7v? I’ve seen other boards allow for more Vcore volts through BIOS updates.

I don’t want to voltage mod this board. I choose it because of the 1.2 revision and that fact that its got NB voltage control already. I would have waited for the Epox version with the video onboard but I bought three 8RDA+ and neither did more than 180Mhz. (One I gave to my wife, one got send back to Newegg (no flaming – I gave them more than $15k in business last year) and the third is at a friends temporally while he gets a replacement board – his 8RDA+ did 210Mhz till he broke it, the one I gave him won’t break 180 for him either!

I hoped this Abit would be better. If they don’t allow for more vdd voltage than I will find it another home and pick up another brand again. Maybe my 4 and 6 year olds can use an NF2 board with an 2600+ to go with their Radeon 8500 to play Tonka raceway and Mickys yada yada adventure or those new damn Barbie games.
__________________
Always Evolving….
P4e
3.36 / 240mhz
Swiftech 8600 water cooled
(2) 256Mb Corsair XMS-3500
Abit IC7 (i875p)
Zalman 400W PSU
Radeon 9700p at 371/688, copper cooling
19" Hitachi CM772
(2) WD250se drives SATA
Pioneer DVD, Sony CDRW
M-Audio Delta DIO 2496
3DM01 - 18,960
3DM03 - 5767
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 9th March, 2003, 05:56 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: February 2003
Posts: 38

nf7-s v.1.0 and v1.1 both have VDD settings in the bios.. up to 1.7V
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 9th March, 2003, 02:15 PM
whatever's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: moon
Posts: 1,132

boead is complaining about vdd limiting upto 1.7v.
boead, you don't need to be messing around with the chipset voltage. Many people blow their board modding the vdd. It is for more advanced overclockers, not for newbies. 1.7v is enough for you upto 200FSB on the NF7 series. You don't need more. Work on cooling your parts more. Your NB cooling is pathetic. Don't expect BIOS update to get higher Vdd voltages. I suggest you leave it alone for the newbies.
__________________
sig
HTPC
Conroe E6600 + stock cooler @ 3.2ghz
ATi X1950XTX 512 CrossFire
Triple WD Raptor 10k HDDs@ raid 0
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PHD7UY
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PH9UK
BetterCable SilverSerpent SVGA & DVI-D
Sony BWU-100A Blu-Ray PC Drive

p4 - superPi - 31 sec.
pM - superPi - 28 sec.
conroe - superPi - 14 sec.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 9th March, 2003, 05:52 PM
deathstar13's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Posts: 142

well only took me 2 weeks to fry my 8rda with a vdd mod.
either 1.9-2vdd fried it or it grounded out somehow.either way its dead.
i ordered the abit 1.2 myself in hopes of having a mobo that does +200fsb out of the box.1.7vdd should do it.

to be honest i don't mind doing a mod i just wouldnt mind having a warranty.
i dont think the difference between 200fsb or 220fsb is all that great as long as the mhz are still the same.sure i complain about only 195fsb max on my current a7n8x,and i went out and bought a new nf7 1.2 to gain 4fsb but its just my own weird thinking and isn't no big issue in the big picture.

my main reason was vcore options of 2.3vcore no thats what is what i really miss after loosing my 8rda
__________________

Last edited by deathstar13; 9th March, 2003 at 05:54 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 9th March, 2003, 05:58 PM
whatever's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: moon
Posts: 1,132

Deathstar, good luck on your NF7 rev1.2 board. I'm sure you'll do 200+ out of the box.
__________________
sig
HTPC
Conroe E6600 + stock cooler @ 3.2ghz
ATi X1950XTX 512 CrossFire
Triple WD Raptor 10k HDDs@ raid 0
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PHD7UY
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PH9UK
BetterCable SilverSerpent SVGA & DVI-D
Sony BWU-100A Blu-Ray PC Drive

p4 - superPi - 31 sec.
pM - superPi - 28 sec.
conroe - superPi - 14 sec.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 9th March, 2003, 06:21 PM
boead's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 83

Quote:
Originally posted by whatever
boead is complaining about vdd limiting upto 1.7v.
boead, you don't need to be messing around with the chipset voltage. Many people blow their board modding the vdd. It is for more advanced overclockers, not for newbies. 1.7v is enough for you upto 200FSB on the NF7 series. You don't need more. Work on cooling your parts more. Your NB cooling is pathetic. Don't expect BIOS update to get higher Vdd voltages. I suggest you leave it alone for the newbies.

Again we see your lack of knowledge. In the short time I have had this board I have found many people reporting that the actual voltage to the NB is less than 1.7 and fluctuates way to much.

You obviously don't pay any attention. I have a Zalman somewhere that I will use but the NB cooler on the board is actually sufficient - spend less time patting yourself on the back and more time reading - err and not smut.

Since this board has no voltage sensor for Vdd, its difficult to say what is going on. When I raise Vcore to 2.15v Vcc wne t from 2.85 to 2.9. My guess is that Vdd went up as well, maybe this is why the system got WAY more stable.

lastly, I don't know why I'm even talking to you- I don't like you very much.
__________________
Always Evolving….
P4e
3.36 / 240mhz
Swiftech 8600 water cooled
(2) 256Mb Corsair XMS-3500
Abit IC7 (i875p)
Zalman 400W PSU
Radeon 9700p at 371/688, copper cooling
19" Hitachi CM772
(2) WD250se drives SATA
Pioneer DVD, Sony CDRW
M-Audio Delta DIO 2496
3DM01 - 18,960
3DM03 - 5767
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 9th March, 2003, 08:30 PM
whatever's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: moon
Posts: 1,132

Quote:
Originally posted by boead
Again we see your lack of knowledge. In the short time I have had this board I have found many people reporting that the actual voltage to the NB is less than 1.7 and fluctuates way to much.

What vdd voltage selected in the BIOS?
You can't hit 200FSB so now you put blame on the vdd voltage rail.. excuses and excuses and excuses. That is not a very good of excuse. All voltages fluctuates. That's the nature. Unless you completely got a defective board, you should have no problem reaching 200FSB without vdd modding.

Quote:
You obviously don't pay any attention. I have a Zalman somewhere that I will use but the NB cooler on the board is actually sufficient - spend less time patting yourself on the back and more time reading - err and not smut.

suit yourself. Let's see how far you could go playing UT2003 @ 200 range FSB.

Quote:
When I raise Vcore to 2.15v Vcc wne t from 2.85 to 2.9. My guess is that Vdd went up as well, maybe this is why the system got WAY more stable.

Wow...
Vdd went up as well eh?..
Vmem went down eh?..
because you up the Vcore?
All this is based on your thoughts. Do you have the proof for this? Give me some URLs from a good reliable source. Let's see doctor. Wow.
__________________
sig
HTPC
Conroe E6600 + stock cooler @ 3.2ghz
ATi X1950XTX 512 CrossFire
Triple WD Raptor 10k HDDs@ raid 0
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PHD7UY
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PH9UK
BetterCable SilverSerpent SVGA & DVI-D
Sony BWU-100A Blu-Ray PC Drive

p4 - superPi - 31 sec.
pM - superPi - 28 sec.
conroe - superPi - 14 sec.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 9th March, 2003, 08:49 PM
boead's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 83

Quote:
Originally posted by whatever

What vdd voltage selected in the BIOS?
You can't hit 200FSB so now you put blame on the vdd voltage rail.. excuses and excuses and excuses. That is not a very good of excuse. All voltages fluctuates. That's the nature. Unless you completely got a defective board, you should have no problem reaching 200FSB without vdd modding.

[/b]
suit yourself. Let's see how far you could go playing UT2003 @ 200 range FSB.

[/b]
Wow...
Vdd went up as well eh?..
Vmem went down eh?..
because you up the Vcore?
All this is based on your thoughts. Do you have the proof for this? Give me some URLs from a good reliable source. Let's see doctor. Wow. [/B]

Oh so comprehension is also a problem for you. I can’t help there either. I don’t have time to explain; I think I was clear enough.
__________________
Always Evolving….
P4e
3.36 / 240mhz
Swiftech 8600 water cooled
(2) 256Mb Corsair XMS-3500
Abit IC7 (i875p)
Zalman 400W PSU
Radeon 9700p at 371/688, copper cooling
19" Hitachi CM772
(2) WD250se drives SATA
Pioneer DVD, Sony CDRW
M-Audio Delta DIO 2496
3DM01 - 18,960
3DM03 - 5767
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 9th March, 2003, 09:14 PM
whatever's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: moon
Posts: 1,132

You've ran out of your words. why keeping it short? afraid?... Nevervous???? LOL!!!!!!!!!

I feel sorry for you, kid.


Poor little one.
__________________
sig
HTPC
Conroe E6600 + stock cooler @ 3.2ghz
ATi X1950XTX 512 CrossFire
Triple WD Raptor 10k HDDs@ raid 0
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PHD7UY
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PH9UK
BetterCable SilverSerpent SVGA & DVI-D
Sony BWU-100A Blu-Ray PC Drive

p4 - superPi - 31 sec.
pM - superPi - 28 sec.
conroe - superPi - 14 sec.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Abit AN7 xp QSDT AMD Motherboards & CPUs 0 12th August, 2005 03:54 AM
Abit IC7-G help Viper66 Intel Motherboards & CPUs 7 5th February, 2004 07:16 PM
Abit at7 max q's! The Spyder AMD Motherboards & CPUs 8 16th July, 2002 10:50 PM
Abit BD7M - Abit bring forth badness. The Daishi Intel Motherboards & CPUs 4 10th April, 2002 08:24 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:41 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0