AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 9th March, 2003, 08:52 PM
SpleeNMaN's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Hilversum, Holland
Posts: 72

Unhappy Why won't my T-Bred 2000+ do over 1930MHz?!

Hi, and welcome to my very second :clown: post on the AOA Forum !
I've bought a new system about a week ago and it's running fine basically, accept for one thing: My T-Bred 2000+ won't run (at all) over 1930MHz ! As you might know, the board that I have (8-RDA) is supposed to be famous for it's overclockability and it will do 200 to 210MHz FSB on my system, so that can hardly be the problem.
My exact setup is this: Q-tec 450W (I've blown up 2 300W PSU's already by running the CPU @ 2,1 V :nervous: ), EPoX 8-RDA w/ 40mm fan on NB, AMD Athlon 2000+ (labelled: AXDA2000DUT3C, RIRGA = Thoroughbred A) unlocked (L1 bridge is intact) @ 1,9V w/ Zalman GoldPlus cooler, OEM 512DDR PC2700 333MHz CL2,5 RAM @ 2,9V w/ Thermaltake passive cooling, Leadtek Winfast A280LE TDH GeForce Ti 4200 8X AGP 128MB DDR @ 280 X 590 MHz, sofar I' m able to get 13382 3DMarks @ 1024 X 768 X 32.
So, like I said my system will easily do 200 MHz FSB, but only @ 9,5 multiplier, the only way to squeeze 1930 MHz out of the bloody thing is 193 FSB x 10 MP and it won't do ANY higher.
So... I have a few questions about this issue:
- Why does my MB display "FF" in the POST screen all the time?
- Could my CPU not be as unlocked as I think it is? (it will do 3 to 12,5 MP but not 13 to 24 ))
- A MB voltage mod wouldn't be necessary I reckon (although I am prepared to do one )
- Any other suggestions?
By the way, I don't think it's a temperature problem, my CPU gets 47 degrees Celcius under full load, my RAM, NB, Mosfets, SB and GeForce always stay "touchable" too...
I really hope you guys can help me out on this one, 'cos it's really frustrating for me to read all the posts of guys doing 2,1 GHz with their 1700+ CPU's!!
Thanx in advance,
Elwin :beer:
__________________
Silentmaxx Fanless Pro 503W PSU. EPoX 9NPA+ Ultra. AMD Athlon64 3200+ Venice E6. Twinmos 512 DDR x 2 (dual channel) PC3200. Hitachi Deskstar 7200rpm, 8MB Sata II x 2 @ raid0, Cpu, Gpu, Chipset watercooled by Innovatek (and a Ford Taunus engine radiator)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 9th March, 2003, 08:55 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Posts: 95

t-bred a's arent as oc' able as the tbred-bs everyones been ocing lately. your tbred a is about at its limit. the reason they can get 2100mhz out of the 1700+'s is cuz they are tbred-bs. sell your proc on ebay and buy a tbred-b with the money
__________________
athlon xp 2100+ 0301 mpmw @2350mhz 1.75v vantec aeroflow hsf [] epox 8rda+ @ 195 fsb w/ vantec iceburg [] 2 256mb corsair 3200 sync @ 5322 [] audigy platinum [] geforce 3 ti500 [] logitech z-560 speakers [] 19' viewsonic trinitron [] 80gb 8mb cache wd drive [] 80gb 2mb cache seagate [] 450w psu [] silver chieftec w/ 6 case fans
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 30th March, 2003, 06:11 AM
ral ral is offline
Member
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Philippines
Posts: 351

I read somehere that T-Bred "B"'s were supposed to max out at 2.00 GHZ while T-Bred "B"'s were supposed to max out a 2.25 GHz. There is also apprently some physical difference between the design of T-Bred "A" and "B".
__________________
ASUS A7V600 (Bios Rev. 1.008)
AMD Athlon XP1800+ DLT3C JIUHB 0309 TPMW @ 2100MHz (10.5x200) @ 1.50v vcore
2x256MB Twinmoss PC2700 (CL2.5) @ 400MHz (CL2-3-3-7 2T) @ 2.55v vdimm
ALX-800 w/ 80mm HAC-V81 fan
MSI Star Force GeForce FX 5700 128TD 425MHz/555MHz @ 475MHz/650MHz
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 31st March, 2003, 04:28 AM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

A's and B's are different... On a typical setup with decent cooling, "A"s generally top out between 1850 and 1975.

B's generally top out between 2000 and 2500.

The differences in spread are caused by different steppings, and a little luck.

Your results are not surprising at all. They're right in line with some of the better (newer) Tbred A's.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
333 fsb T-bred and 8k3a+ jklhill AMD Motherboards & CPUs 0 4th April, 2003 03:58 AM
Why won't my T-Bred 2000+ do over 1930MHz?! SpleeNMaN EPoX MotherBoards 16 10th March, 2003 07:29 AM
8kta3pro and 2000+ t-bred B mcentee EPoX MotherBoards 1 4th March, 2003 12:55 PM
ANYone with a t-bred drunken_master AMD Motherboards & CPUs 5 23rd July, 2002 05:24 PM
1800 T-bred! The Spyder AMD Motherboards & CPUs 10 28th June, 2002 08:18 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:28 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0