AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 10th March, 2003, 11:24 AM
dod's Avatar
dod dod is offline
AOA Staff (should be working)
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Inverness
Posts: 4,014
Send a message via ICQ to dod Send a message via Yahoo to dod

Talking 800 MHz for free

I swapped out my XP2400 last night for a new T'Bred B XP1700. JIUHB 0302.

Left it running FAH overnight and all is well at 190X12 2280 MHz with 1.875V. Not too shabby for £50. I'm wondering just how far this will go.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Asus P5Q pro, E8400, 4X2Gb XMS2 6400, 8800GT OC and a heap more HDD space
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 10th March, 2003, 12:29 PM
Random Nonsense's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: USS Great Britain, aircraft carrier, moored off the northwest coast of Europe
Posts: 3,340
Send a message via ICQ to Random Nonsense Send a message via Yahoo to Random Nonsense

WOW!

Wonder if tbred b's would be any good in my duallie..... Need to unlock high mults tho and my bios only has the low ones
__________________
Dual XP1600+ AGOIA "Y" @ 1875mhz WATERCOOLED 33C LOAD

Undergoing overhaul. Hard Locking to 13.5X multiplier for theoretical clockrate of 1944mhz 144mhz FSB

1X Duron 1.3 AHCLA "9" @ 1430mhz

1X Celeron 1000mhz

1X Pentium3 450 DECEASED

Folding Under AOA-UK for team 45!



"Mothers should love their babies, because then they grow up, everyone might hate them."
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 10th March, 2003, 02:26 PM
Stepper's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Location: ShAkYgRoUnD
Posts: 109

Re: 800 MHz for free

Quote:
Originally posted by dod
I swapped out my XP2400 last night for a new T'Bred B XP1700. JIUHB 0302.

Left it running FAH overnight and all is well at 190X12 2280 MHz with 1.875V. Not too shabby for £50. I'm wondering just how far this will go.
^5...I did the same thing...pretty kewl...huh...only thing...I tried to sell the 2400...an nobody bought it...so now I've got two chips...something doesn't compute...

left >> 2400 right >> 1700...
Attached Thumbnails
800 MHz for free-big-and-jr.jpg jr.jpg
Views:	360
Size:	166.6 KB
ID:	5227  
__________________
~~StePPer~~
A Man of Wealth & Taste
Outta My Mind...back in 5 min

X_Peed2400/currently XP1700
Epox-8r_Da
Anorexic_TruePowDer 550w_aste of ca$h
M_ax C_ooling X_pence 462+/Semi_Smart Fan II
2*512Mb Cors_hair X_tra M_oney S_pent PC3200C2
ATI Radiation8500
Sin2k/MaXtor'd60giggleATA133
Memor_XXX 4.8x2.4x4.8
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 10th March, 2003, 03:01 PM
dod's Avatar
dod dod is offline
AOA Staff (should be working)
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Inverness
Posts: 4,014
Send a message via ICQ to dod Send a message via Yahoo to dod

Re: Re: 800 MHz for free

Quote:
Originally posted by Stepper

^5...I did the same thing...pretty kewl...huh...only thing...I tried to sell the 2400...an nobody bought it...so now I've got two chips...something doesn't compute...

left >> 2400 right >> 1700...
nice one Stepper, thats encouraging

Well the 2400's going into my 8K3A+ ( the one my wife uses for her emails LOL) as soon as I get the cooling sorted out. Its sweet spots at about 2350 so I'll set it up about 166X14 I think. I'm fairly hopeful the 1700's going to go past that.

If I knew then what I know now I wouldnt have bought a 2400 either.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Asus P5Q pro, E8400, 4X2Gb XMS2 6400, 8800GT OC and a heap more HDD space
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 10th March, 2003, 03:51 PM
bldegle2's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2002
Posts: 222

8k3a

forget about multi's 14 and 14.5, also, the 7.5 choice it a real p.sser, 22x only, would have loved the 15.5, 14.5 is reserved by AMD and the 14x i could never get to work with my 2700+ modded to 14x, max x's were 11.5 when i did it. so the board goes 13.5, then skips to 15, then kinda follows the +8 remapp rule with processors that have at least a 13.5 factory setting, but if you lower the FSB to 133, the remappage follows the +8, then a +7 on top of that, so +15 to the remappage.

this board has a lot of nice hidden stuffs, just not as user friendly with the x choices like the newer boards have.

i would be interested in whether you can get the 14x, cause if you can with the board in question, then i would love to know the L3 pattern and/or any other L mod you used to obtain said x (14).

nice chips these newer issues, the yield are amazing now.

top end seems to remain the same, 3.0gig, many 2100+ are getting close to that with chiller heads (prome and vapo's), makes clocking to insane for the cheap, go AMD.

baldy
__________________
Opty's 939 single and dual, DFI, AsRock, Gskill & Team, clocked of course...
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 10th March, 2003, 04:09 PM
dod's Avatar
dod dod is offline
AOA Staff (should be working)
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Inverness
Posts: 4,014
Send a message via ICQ to dod Send a message via Yahoo to dod

Re: 8k3a

Quote:
Originally posted by bldegle2
forget about multi's 14 and 14.5, also, the 7.5 choice it a real p.sser, 22x only,...
Okay, thats about where you lost me

See if I can work this out. Lets say I use FSB of 150. Select multi of 8 which gives 8+8 working at 2.4GHz? Is that basically it?

But if I drop to 133 then its 8 + 8+7 =23 or 3059

What happens if I drop the fsb further. Bear in mind that what I want most on this box is cpu speed for FAH. For example if I drop to 100 does the X +8+7 still apply?

Thanks for pointing this out baldy

Edit: I suppose I could just leave it at about 150X15 but I would have preferred to leave the PCI more or less in spec.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Asus P5Q pro, E8400, 4X2Gb XMS2 6400, 8800GT OC and a heap more HDD space

Last edited by dod; 10th March, 2003 at 05:29 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 10th March, 2003, 04:21 PM
Stepper's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Location: ShAkYgRoUnD
Posts: 109

Re: Re: Re: 800 MHz for free

Quote:
Originally posted by dod


nice one Stepper, thats encouraging

Well the 2400's going into my 8K3A+ ( the one my wife uses for her emails LOL) as soon as I get the cooling sorted out. Its sweet spots at about 2350 so I'll set it up about 166X14 I think. I'm fairly hopeful the 1700's going to go past that.

If I knew then what I know now I wouldnt have bought a 2400 either.
I've had Frank Jr. (that's the 1700) over 2400mhz...however the board is box stock...ie no mods...on air...so I don't want to push it that hard very often...usually I jus let him loaf along at 10.5*205...also both the chipset and the memory need a lightning bolt worth of voltage to be stable at anything higher...
__________________
~~StePPer~~
A Man of Wealth & Taste
Outta My Mind...back in 5 min

X_Peed2400/currently XP1700
Epox-8r_Da
Anorexic_TruePowDer 550w_aste of ca$h
M_ax C_ooling X_pence 462+/Semi_Smart Fan II
2*512Mb Cors_hair X_tra M_oney S_pent PC3200C2
ATI Radiation8500
Sin2k/MaXtor'd60giggleATA133
Memor_XXX 4.8x2.4x4.8
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 10th March, 2003, 06:50 PM
boead's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 83

Just got a XP1700+ (JIUHB 0304) for my kids PC (4 and 6 year olds) - this is a TBred "B" ??
__________________
Always Evolving….
P4e
3.36 / 240mhz
Swiftech 8600 water cooled
(2) 256Mb Corsair XMS-3500
Abit IC7 (i875p)
Zalman 400W PSU
Radeon 9700p at 371/688, copper cooling
19" Hitachi CM772
(2) WD250se drives SATA
Pioneer DVD, Sony CDRW
M-Audio Delta DIO 2496
3DM01 - 18,960
3DM03 - 5767
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 10th March, 2003, 09:54 PM
dod's Avatar
dod dod is offline
AOA Staff (should be working)
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Inverness
Posts: 4,014
Send a message via ICQ to dod Send a message via Yahoo to dod

Its been like this for the last 4 hours FAH. I'll leave it for a couple of days to settle and then try for more. Its already booted at 2411 but crashed in fah although it does do some photoshop and office stuff.
Attached Thumbnails
800 MHz for free-2305-copy.jpg  
__________________
AOA Team fah
Asus P5Q pro, E8400, 4X2Gb XMS2 6400, 8800GT OC and a heap more HDD space
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 11th March, 2003, 02:50 AM
deathstar13's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Posts: 142

ive taken my jiuhb 0302 1700 too 2508 2.15v
its alot of vcore but im thinking ive found a pre-high vcore workout that lessens chances of death.
that was done on my old 8rda before it smoked.vdd mod death i think.
i have the chip in this a7n8x for the time being until my nf7 1.2 gets here later this week.im stuck at 2233 mhz @1.9v since it does overvolt the 1.85v bios setting.
still crappy i think and a 270mhz loss,ty asus! dont want to mod it since ill be returning it soon.thank goodness for 30 return satisfaction guarentees.

this is all done on refer h20 btw.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 11th March, 2003, 07:47 AM
boead's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 83

Just got this new XP1700+ (JIUHB 0304) in my newly moded 8RDA+, brought the
Vdd to 1.95v and booted the XP1700+ at
12 X 190 = 2280 for the first time, and it was fine!
This chip will NEVER see 1470Mhz as it was designed to.

205 X 11 = 2264 and its rock solid and smooth, UT03 plays great.
Bandwidth near 3200mbs
3D Mark 01 at 16720

I wanted to see how low I could drop the Vdd at 205.
I dipped to 1.85 and it got less stable with UT03. I dropped the
FSB to 200 and upped the multiplier to 12 for 2400mhz.
Bandwidth is at 3105mbs
3DM01 at 17,000 score
UT03 runs bench just fine.
Vcore at 2.0v with low temps (idle 34ºc – Gaming at 44ºc)
Vdd at 1.85v

This chip is over-clocking by 935Mhz – That’s a 64% over-clock!

I have NO idea how high the board/CPU will go, it’s late and I need to go to sleep.

Thanks to whomever was helpful. This 2600+ I got from Newegg
in January sucks! 180'ish is about all it will do at 12.5, not horrible but not a 200Mhz chip at all.
__________________
Always Evolving….
P4e
3.36 / 240mhz
Swiftech 8600 water cooled
(2) 256Mb Corsair XMS-3500
Abit IC7 (i875p)
Zalman 400W PSU
Radeon 9700p at 371/688, copper cooling
19" Hitachi CM772
(2) WD250se drives SATA
Pioneer DVD, Sony CDRW
M-Audio Delta DIO 2496
3DM01 - 18,960
3DM03 - 5767

Last edited by boead; 11th March, 2003 at 07:53 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Nikon 4100 4MP camera for 219.94. Free ship. Free printer AR. mookydooky Online Deals, and Steals 2 8th December, 2004 09:49 PM
Free remote desktop, works on most platforms,no need for kvm switch,free timbob2469 OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 1 31st May, 2003 08:43 AM
i got a free copy of .NET standard server RC1 free form M$!!! r0l0e OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 7 13th October, 2002 05:11 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:06 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0