AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 24th March, 2003, 01:03 AM
Supradog's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Norway
Posts: 11

KT333, Highest FSB?

Hia,

Just wondering, what is the highest stable fsb you(or heard some) have attained on a KT333 based motherboard?

The KX7-333R I got has support for 166FSB with it's dividers and I recently got myself a Barton 2500, and are running on 174 FSB now.

If you got memory that can handle good speeds, how high would you be able to go before the chipset would start to become unstable?
Let's say you have really tollerant(or no) pci/agp cards.
__________________
"A bug? No, no, no, It's a Feature"
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 24th March, 2003, 03:47 AM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

My AT7max does 204 without a hitch. Also, I'm quite confident my 8K3A's could do over 200 stable... I'm just not giving my kids my XMS memory.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 24th March, 2003, 04:57 AM
JAWS's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Daytona Beach
Posts: 124

I had my 2700 up around 198 stable. Anything more and my hard drive would bug out.
__________________
"Only a surfer knows the feeling"
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 24th March, 2003, 03:54 PM
Supradog's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Norway
Posts: 11

Thanks alot for the answers. *off to mess around some more*
__________________
"A bug? No, no, no, It's a Feature"
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 24th March, 2003, 04:11 PM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

Quote:
Originally posted by JAWS
I had my 2700 up around 198 stable. Anything more and my hard drive would bug out.
Good point..
When I run FSB over 180, I usually turn my on board controller down to ATA100(or ATA66 for WD drives). My RAID controllers don't mind the high fsbs, but I've scrambled HDDs on the onboard controller.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 24th March, 2003, 04:39 PM
Liquid3D's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: Newport, RI SURF
Posts: 374

I'm positive I've seen 230FSB speeds on the Epox 8K3A's. I'll try to find a link for ya.

Here's an 8K3A (KT333) doing 11.5x211FSB; http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k1=5657031
__________________
(1.) 2.4C@3.6GHz 300FSB, SLK900U/Vantec Tornado 92mm/119CFM, Abit IS7-E, 1GB OCZ GolD Dual Channel 3700, Tyan G9700 Pro, PCPower&Cooling 400W
(2.) JIUHB1700, Prometeia, Soltek 75FRN2-L, 1GB OCZ EL-PC3700, Leadtek Winfast A250, ANTEC 480W


Last edited by Liquid3D; 24th March, 2003 at 04:47 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 24th March, 2003, 04:45 PM
Holst's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Leics UK
Posts: 4,528

I had my 8k3a past 220.

ive seen people run sandra at 240.
__________________
No longer Epox Tech.

Best of luck in the future all my friends.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 25th March, 2003, 11:44 AM
Liquid3D's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: Newport, RI SURF
Posts: 374

Quote:
Originally posted by JAWS
I had my 2700 up around 198 stable. Anything more and my hard drive would bug out.
Although you specifically isolated your problem with the HDD (I set mine to PIO Mode-4 under very high FSB environments. I imagine this is synonomous with ATA100 or ATA66?) I thought I'd include the info below as an interesting alternative where the HDD is not at fault, but high FSB speeds are unattainable with 333FSB CPU's. This may be the result of an inherent desgin flaw, or a further refinement needed between mainboard chipsets, and 333FSB AMD processors. I don't think anyone has determined the exact cause of the anomally, but the quote below illuminates the problem. And here's a link to the article; http://www.sudhian.com/showdocs.cfm?aid=307

The following quote is from a Sudhian article entitled "Opening the nForce Floodgates--Modding the AthlonXP for a 400 MHz FSB."; "The advantage of the 2600+ / 333 model is that it runs a 12.5x multiplier, allowing any Socket A motherboard with the capability to adjust the board's running multiplier.  This makes the CPU particularly handy for testing motherboards, as it guarantees compatibility for testing, and allows for the multiplier to be dropped for higher FSB testing....We've been using the CPU for motherboard testing, but had noticed that none of the motherboards we were testing could push past 190 MHz.  The results, no matter the board, were the same.  Initial booting into Windows would be fine, as would basic programs, but any attempt to seriously benchmark the system would fail.  While that didn't seem abnormal at first, after numerous boards ran into the same barrier at the same speed, we began to suspect there might be another component holding us back.  After swapping out RAM, video cards, hard drives and every other component, we focused on the CPU itself and began searching for a reason why we might be having such problems.  Even purchasing another AthlonXP 2600+ / 333, however, didn't solve the problem, and we continued to run into problems around the 190-195 MHz range....This was infuriating.  The whole goal of being able to run at high FSB's was to test a batch of high-end memory we'd received.  While you can run the FSB and memory bus out of synch, it lowers overall performance and can invalidate stress testing of a part.  With all of our motherboards stuck at 190 MHz (or lower) it was impossible to tell just how much various PC3500 and 3200 parts truly differentiated from each other....We spent almost two weeks trying to find a solution until we ran into Randi (MrIcee) over at XtremeSystems.  Two of the forum readers there (Aceman and Praetereo by name) have found a solution to this problem, detailed in a forum thread http://href="http://www.xtremesystem...=6934">here.  Randy passed it along to us, so thanks very much to the boys over at XS.  The picture below is courtesy of Praetereo @ XtremeSystems.org as well.... The problem, apparently, is that the nForce2 (and possibly the KT400 as well) destabilizes when the front-side bus is overclocked using a 333 MHz FSB CPU.  The solution (which we've tested) is to cut one of the L12 bridges on the CPU"
__________________
(1.) 2.4C@3.6GHz 300FSB, SLK900U/Vantec Tornado 92mm/119CFM, Abit IS7-E, 1GB OCZ GolD Dual Channel 3700, Tyan G9700 Pro, PCPower&Cooling 400W
(2.) JIUHB1700, Prometeia, Soltek 75FRN2-L, 1GB OCZ EL-PC3700, Leadtek Winfast A250, ANTEC 480W


Last edited by Liquid3D; 25th March, 2003 at 11:59 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 25th March, 2003, 06:54 PM
JAWS's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Daytona Beach
Posts: 124

Very true!

With Mr. Icee's advice I avoided hard drive corruption above 195 by using the raid controller instead of the ide1. Also moving to slot 3 from 1 has helped, but nothing beats your vmem at 3.2.
__________________
"Only a surfer knows the feeling"
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 26th March, 2003, 09:16 AM
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 51

I've been running my 8K5A3+ at 209MHz with Turbo settings with no problems, anything over that gives me AGP tear.
Gonna replace the original NB heatsink with a Zalman today to see if it would help any.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
KT333+ Barton? mark076 AMD Motherboards & CPUs 17 22nd May, 2004 08:26 PM
Barton & KT333 Rainbow EPoX MotherBoards 1 1st June, 2003 06:58 PM
EP-8K9A or KT333 ? nucro EPoX MotherBoards 5 15th February, 2003 07:34 PM
Kt333 demonX AMD Motherboards & CPUs 3 11th March, 2002 01:30 AM
KT333 dead evilernie EPoX MotherBoards 12 8th February, 2002 01:16 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:51 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0