AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #21 (permalink)  
Old 28th March, 2003, 08:24 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: January 2003
Posts: 189

oh, lol Im a moron :0 sorry all my bAD.. i GUESS MY FOOT IS IN MY MOUTH NOW!!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old 28th March, 2003, 08:46 PM
Holst's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Leics UK
Posts: 4,528

Hehe,

We all make mistakes sometimes.
__________________
No longer Epox Tech.

Best of luck in the future all my friends.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old 28th March, 2003, 09:06 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

I've merged your two threads on this topic. Please don't double post.
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old 28th March, 2003, 10:26 PM
nfrenay's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Brazil
Posts: 573
Send a message via ICQ to nfrenay

LOL!!

Who has never made mistakes before?? :beer:
__________________
- EPoX 8K3A+ rev 1.2 (BIOS 3414)
- XP 1700+ "JIUGB" @ 1979MHz @ 1.65V
- Home-made WaterCooler
- 512Mb Kingston Hyper-X PC2700 @ 2-2-6-2-1 @ 198MHz @ 2.67V
- MSI GF4 Ti4400 VIVO
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old 29th March, 2003, 09:05 AM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Posts: 4

chaintech has got 1T and 4-way settings in bios for rams settings?
thought these are meant for via chipset only?

could you please update?

tks
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old 29th March, 2003, 04:51 PM
Uncle Bob's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2002
Location: Blaine, WA
Posts: 3,734

Quote:
Originally posted by Albert
chaintech has got 1T and 4-way settings in bios for rams settings?
thought these are meant for via chipset only?

could you please update?

tks
My 7NJS certainly doesn't have those settings.
__________________
Main Rig: Gigabyte GA-965P-DQ6 (rev. 1.0) cooled by the Monster Water Cooling Setup
HTPC One BIG Case Asus 8 CORE Monster
Current PC Count:
ASROCK: 1 * BIOSTAR: 1 * ASUS: 5 * CHAINTECH: 7 * GIGABYTE: 2 *IWILL: 1 * MSI: 3* TYAN: 2
175+ GHZ total power for PC Perspective Killer Frogs Climate Prediction Team as The Uncle B's!!
and more coming all the time!

I'm the Uncle your Aunt won't talk about. Go ahead and pull my finger!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old 1st April, 2003, 09:43 AM
Dagalidis's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Patras - GREECE
Posts: 206

First of all sorry for my late reply….
You know I have also some work to do except OCking……
I read a lot of your posts and make me think that maybe I was not so clear to you or you cant read well what you see ( just Kidding)…

From the first time I told you I have some problems regarding BIOS issues like cant overvolt my DDR higher than 2.8 Volt if I select FSB > 215 and also PC2700 cant handle such those HIGH FSB at SYNCH MODE….

To keep working without problems at FSB > 215 a voltage higher than 2.8 is recommended and you KNOW it well…

This is the reason why I use 80% effective FSB on DDR when I reach 242 FSB on CPU….
The second parameter also VERY important is when you have big difference between CPU FSB and DDR Frequency you cant have stability at your system..and you also KNOW it well…

I told you from the first time that I will post ONLY those tests which give me a ROCK STABLE SYSTEM and NOT just a simple post of CPUID screen shot which means NOTHING to me…
When I overclock a system I do it to work all day and not to have VIRTUAL REALITY system which also can be a data killer or even a hardware killer….

Yes I have screen shots of 250 FSB but this all I have because after the screen shot taken the system goes to Known BLUE SCREEN….
Lets suppose I post those screens and tell you OMG 250 FSB and bla..bla…(CPUID post)….Then what we gain ? NOTHING just a VIRTUAL RELLITY again…

Many of you people tell us you are able to work OVER 230 FSB SYNCH and if this is true then why since now I don’t see any POST of you with those ULTRA HIGH memories scores ???
Talks talks talks ….we are full of that….Just POST your work and secondly talk again…

I tell again to not forget that 242 FSB running on a board without any MOD including VDD or even CPU MOD ( L12 trick ) totally AIRCOOLED and case closed - Period …
If you ask for my opinion I will tell you simply that….
I’m sure this BOARD can work SYNCH at least 236 – 240 FSB and I will prove it when a BIOS fix will come and also buy some XMS CL 2 special memories…

Until then …. this is what I can offer to you and the 7NS by CHAINTECH can offer a lot more …..


Hi Uncle BOB and thank you for your attention….

Many 73’s to all of you from SV2SY (radio amateur operator call sign which I have)
Dimitris………..


PS : We always do some mistakes and this is NOT a problem.....The problem start when we dont learn from them...:beer:
__________________
OPTERON 165 UP @ 3300(366×9) 1.425 Vcore
EXOS MODED Watercooling & SOON be Naked CPU

DFI 939 SLI DR
2Χ1GB GSKILL HZ PC4000
Sound Blaster AUDIGY 2
Sound Blaster Megaworks Speakers 2.1 250D THX / 300 WRMS
ALBATRON 7900GTX 512MB@700/900
System Powered By OCZ 600W
===========================
Limits do NOT exist
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old 1st April, 2003, 10:27 AM
Holst's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Leics UK
Posts: 4,528

Quote:
I’m sure this BOARD can work SYNCH at least 236 – 240 FSB and I will prove it when a BIOS fix will come and also buy some XMS CL 2 special memories…
This is what I want to see.

I can also run around 240 async stable on my modded 8rda+ (I cant remove the mods) but sync I top out at around 225-227 with fast timings.
if you can run 236 sync then that will be very impressive.

ive yet to try crappy memory timings as I dont want to corrupt my OS and I dont have a spare HDD.
__________________
No longer Epox Tech.

Best of luck in the future all my friends.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old 1st April, 2003, 11:08 AM
Dagalidis's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Patras - GREECE
Posts: 206

Oh Holst i start collecting some money to go on XMS world..

Which are the BEST memories right now on the market to keep my attention ?
I dont want to make a mistake cause some people tell bad thinks about XMS.... Is it true or not ?

Thanks for your attention....

Dimitris...
__________________
OPTERON 165 UP @ 3300(366×9) 1.425 Vcore
EXOS MODED Watercooling & SOON be Naked CPU

DFI 939 SLI DR
2Χ1GB GSKILL HZ PC4000
Sound Blaster AUDIGY 2
Sound Blaster Megaworks Speakers 2.1 250D THX / 300 WRMS
ALBATRON 7900GTX 512MB@700/900
System Powered By OCZ 600W
===========================
Limits do NOT exist
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old 1st April, 2003, 11:30 AM
Dagalidis's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Patras - GREECE
Posts: 206

I will install an active cooler (heatsink - Fan) on SB to see if helps on FSB > 242....
My MAIN TARGET now is to work stable on 250 Mhz and when get those XMS 3500 rams see how far can go FSB at SYNCH mode...

I will no post screens with 250 FSB until can work stable on 3D ...

Perhaps tommorow will give you those 3D scores running 246 FSB (screenshots also)....

to be continue.....

Dimitris.....
__________________
OPTERON 165 UP @ 3300(366×9) 1.425 Vcore
EXOS MODED Watercooling & SOON be Naked CPU

DFI 939 SLI DR
2Χ1GB GSKILL HZ PC4000
Sound Blaster AUDIGY 2
Sound Blaster Megaworks Speakers 2.1 250D THX / 300 WRMS
ALBATRON 7900GTX 512MB@700/900
System Powered By OCZ 600W
===========================
Limits do NOT exist
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #31 (permalink)  
Old 1st April, 2003, 01:24 PM
Member
 
Join Date: March 2003
Posts: 120

the SB doesnt have anything to do with the speed the system runs out...........you could cool with with liquid nitrogen but you wont see any gain what so ever
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #32 (permalink)  
Old 1st April, 2003, 02:07 PM
Holst's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Leics UK
Posts: 4,528

I dunno Goku, if you let the SB get very hot then your system will become unstable, but I agree that nothing more than a heatsink is required..

The best ram avalable....

Thats impossible to answer.

Best value for money is the twinmos/winbond 3200 im using, only £35 per stick and 227fsb..

Corsair 3500 may clock a bit better, it might even be worse, its almost impossible to know.. the same is true for OCZ and others.
__________________
No longer Epox Tech.

Best of luck in the future all my friends.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #33 (permalink)  
Old 1st April, 2003, 02:15 PM
Dagalidis's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Patras - GREECE
Posts: 206

Ok understand...

I will buy XMS 3500 and pray to win this FSB battle...:-D

Dimitris...
__________________
OPTERON 165 UP @ 3300(366×9) 1.425 Vcore
EXOS MODED Watercooling & SOON be Naked CPU

DFI 939 SLI DR
2Χ1GB GSKILL HZ PC4000
Sound Blaster AUDIGY 2
Sound Blaster Megaworks Speakers 2.1 250D THX / 300 WRMS
ALBATRON 7900GTX 512MB@700/900
System Powered By OCZ 600W
===========================
Limits do NOT exist
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #34 (permalink)  
Old 1st April, 2003, 05:26 PM
Member
 
Join Date: March 2003
Posts: 120

is it the 3500's or 3700's that have had issues with the RDA boards?

also, on a side note - this memory thing. Ive looked at the chips on my stick, and it does indeed say winbond and they are 3200 chips........
now, will these be the same as you have holst, or does it have to be twinmos, or do winbond do different rate (ie cas3) chips? for 256 i paid like £45 a few months ago :O
__________________
Abit NF7-S V2.0 || XP1700 @ 2.5ghz (Maze4 Cooled) || 2 * 256mb twinmos @ DDR 454 (6-2-2-2)
Coolermaster 210 (Blue) || Radeon 9700pro 450/350 || NB 1.93v
Pioneer DVD player || Liteon CD-RW (40/32/40) || 80gb WD 8mb cache || 80gb Maxtor 2mb cache

[3DMark2001 - 20139] || [3DMark2003 - 6512] || [PCMark2002 - 7598/6634/1009]
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #35 (permalink)  
Old 2nd April, 2003, 07:09 AM
Dagalidis's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Patras - GREECE
Posts: 206

Last night UPDATE...

I was trying to work stable at 246 - 250 FSB but no matter what i do my system cant be stable at those FSB...

I can boot - enter to WINXP but a blue screen appears after a few seconds....

So i bilieve 242 FSB is the top and also bilieve that with some XMS 3500 or 3700 can make possible to work at 250 FSB...

When XMS come we will see in SYNCH DDR MODE how far can go...

Its time i think to change my sign down there.........


Dimitris........
__________________
OPTERON 165 UP @ 3300(366×9) 1.425 Vcore
EXOS MODED Watercooling & SOON be Naked CPU

DFI 939 SLI DR
2Χ1GB GSKILL HZ PC4000
Sound Blaster AUDIGY 2
Sound Blaster Megaworks Speakers 2.1 250D THX / 300 WRMS
ALBATRON 7900GTX 512MB@700/900
System Powered By OCZ 600W
===========================
Limits do NOT exist
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #36 (permalink)  
Old 3rd April, 2003, 08:08 AM
Dagalidis's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Patras - GREECE
Posts: 206

This post was with 215 FSB and DX8....Take a look what a GF4 4200 Ti can do....
Attached Thumbnails
OMG 242 FSB without any MOD and ONAIR....-3d2001_14500.jpg  
__________________
OPTERON 165 UP @ 3300(366×9) 1.425 Vcore
EXOS MODED Watercooling & SOON be Naked CPU

DFI 939 SLI DR
2Χ1GB GSKILL HZ PC4000
Sound Blaster AUDIGY 2
Sound Blaster Megaworks Speakers 2.1 250D THX / 300 WRMS
ALBATRON 7900GTX 512MB@700/900
System Powered By OCZ 600W
===========================
Limits do NOT exist
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #37 (permalink)  
Old 3rd April, 2003, 08:13 AM
Dagalidis's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Patras - GREECE
Posts: 206

And now 242 FSB and DX9......

I cant run again 3dmark 2001SE to compare with 242 FSB ....

Dimitris....
Attached Thumbnails
OMG 242 FSB without any MOD and ONAIR....-3dmark03_1850.jpg  
__________________
OPTERON 165 UP @ 3300(366×9) 1.425 Vcore
EXOS MODED Watercooling & SOON be Naked CPU

DFI 939 SLI DR
2Χ1GB GSKILL HZ PC4000
Sound Blaster AUDIGY 2
Sound Blaster Megaworks Speakers 2.1 250D THX / 300 WRMS
ALBATRON 7900GTX 512MB@700/900
System Powered By OCZ 600W
===========================
Limits do NOT exist
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #38 (permalink)  
Old 3rd April, 2003, 03:32 PM
nfrenay's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Brazil
Posts: 573
Send a message via ICQ to nfrenay

I get 1830 with my current system:
Epox 8k3a+ @ 171MHz
Athlon XP 1700+ @ 1975MHz
MSI GF4 Ti4400 stock

What was your CPU speed at that benchmark and was your video-card overclocked?
__________________
- EPoX 8K3A+ rev 1.2 (BIOS 3414)
- XP 1700+ "JIUGB" @ 1979MHz @ 1.65V
- Home-made WaterCooler
- 512Mb Kingston Hyper-X PC2700 @ 2-2-6-2-1 @ 198MHz @ 2.67V
- MSI GF4 Ti4400 VIVO
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #39 (permalink)  
Old 4th April, 2003, 04:49 PM
bldegle2's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2002
Posts: 222

Cool SiSoft

mem scores seem low.

i can get better scores with my 8k3a+ @215FSB, an older VIA 333 board.

don't run there, no PCI or AGP lock, so it is dicey to run there all day every day, only gots the 1/5 divider, makes the hard drives get pissed after awhile.

good clockage, i am sure at that FSB the desktop and programs really snap to attention at a mouse clickee.

baldy:clown:
__________________
Opty's 939 single and dual, DFI, AsRock, Gskill & Team, clocked of course...
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #40 (permalink)  
Old 5th April, 2003, 01:58 AM
Mrspec3's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Posts: 14
Send a message via ICQ to Mrspec3

Re: SiSoft

Quote:
Originally posted by bldegle2
mem scores seem low.

i can get better scores with my 8k3a+ @215FSB, an older VIA 333 board.

don't run there, no PCI or AGP lock, so it is dicey to run there all day every day, only gots the 1/5 divider, makes the hard drives get pissed after awhile.

good clockage, i am sure at that FSB the desktop and programs really snap to attention at a mouse clickee.

baldy:clown:
His mem benchmarks are a joke. 242 not syncd isn't such a big deal.....:nervous:
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:49 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0