AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 15th April, 2003, 10:06 PM
Member
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Thurrock, uk
Posts: 55

Question 7njs mem sync question

hello to all,

i notice on my 7njs that if i try to run my memory at either auto or 100% to the fsb, it seems to clock one step behind. e.g 186 fsb ' memory clock reprtedly set to 185'
Except at 166 fsb (default for xp2500+ barton) when bios reports mem speed at 166

is this normal?

(before switching to 02/24 bios i am sure there was an option for 'sync' but it seems to be just auto, spd, 100% e.t.c)

Also, with my barton xp2500+ i cannot attain multiplier above 12.5 is this due to the same problem as the xp2600+'s? ( L3?) i have not seen discussion of this topic directly relating to barton's.

i have 1 stick of 512mb corsair xms3500c2
barton xp2500+, cm hlk61 heatpipe cooler
chaintech zenith 7njs board (02/24)
gainward pro 600 tv gf4 mx 440 4x (324/464)
audigy2 pt
40gb ibm drive

i am enjoying playing around with set up but realise i need to improve my cooling. temps tend to creep up esp after a day or so when running oc'ed.

thanks. will attach a couple of screen shots now that i saw somewhere how to do it!
__________________
Regards,
Phil Martin
7NJS (02/24), xp2500+ barton, tr slk947u - tt smart fan II, 2 x 512MB xms3500c2 + xms3200LL (6,3,2,2 DC), Asus Radeon 9600XT, Audigy 2 Platinum, inspire 6.1, plextor w1610ta cdrw, ibm 40Gb 120gxp, 2x 80Gb 180gxp's raid 0, iiyama VM Pro 413 17", win xp pro, antec truepower 550, Blueyonder dsl, sb4100 modem, speedcom+ router,
AOA Team fah

Last edited by fzr phil; 15th April, 2003 at 10:08 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 15th April, 2003, 10:11 PM
Member
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Thurrock, uk
Posts: 55

try again
Attached Thumbnails
7njs mem sync question-untitled.jpg  
__________________
Regards,
Phil Martin
7NJS (02/24), xp2500+ barton, tr slk947u - tt smart fan II, 2 x 512MB xms3500c2 + xms3200LL (6,3,2,2 DC), Asus Radeon 9600XT, Audigy 2 Platinum, inspire 6.1, plextor w1610ta cdrw, ibm 40Gb 120gxp, 2x 80Gb 180gxp's raid 0, iiyama VM Pro 413 17", win xp pro, antec truepower 550, Blueyonder dsl, sb4100 modem, speedcom+ router,
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 15th April, 2003, 10:23 PM
Member
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Thurrock, uk
Posts: 55

I know my score is a bit low but before upgrading to 7njs e.t.c i was only getting 4000odd!

(193 x 11) seemed ok but started behaving strange after day or so
Attached Thumbnails
7njs mem sync question-193-11a.jpg  
__________________
Regards,
Phil Martin
7NJS (02/24), xp2500+ barton, tr slk947u - tt smart fan II, 2 x 512MB xms3500c2 + xms3200LL (6,3,2,2 DC), Asus Radeon 9600XT, Audigy 2 Platinum, inspire 6.1, plextor w1610ta cdrw, ibm 40Gb 120gxp, 2x 80Gb 180gxp's raid 0, iiyama VM Pro 413 17", win xp pro, antec truepower 550, Blueyonder dsl, sb4100 modem, speedcom+ router,
AOA Team fah

Last edited by fzr phil; 15th April, 2003 at 10:36 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 16th April, 2003, 12:36 AM
Uncle Bob's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2002
Location: Blaine, WA
Posts: 3,734

Hi fzr phil! Welcome to the little 7NJS corner here.

First of all, the number displayed in the BIOS is always 1 MHz larger than the one showing on the POST screen but the reason escapes me at the moment.

Second: What BIOS version are you using? Look in my sig for the latest and install it if you haven't but remember to set your BIOS to safe default settings before you flash!

Your 3D marks? What driver do you have for your card?

This thread shows some info as well as my scores.

Let me know how it's going, I'll check back later this evenint PST>
__________________
Main Rig: Gigabyte GA-965P-DQ6 (rev. 1.0) cooled by the Monster Water Cooling Setup
HTPC One BIG Case Asus 8 CORE Monster
Current PC Count:
ASROCK: 1 * BIOSTAR: 1 * ASUS: 5 * CHAINTECH: 7 * GIGABYTE: 2 *IWILL: 1 * MSI: 3* TYAN: 2
175+ GHZ total power for PC Perspective Killer Frogs Climate Prediction Team as The Uncle B's!!
and more coming all the time!

I'm the Uncle your Aunt won't talk about. Go ahead and pull my finger!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 16th April, 2003, 04:56 PM
Member
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Thurrock, uk
Posts: 55

Thanks for reply Uncle Bob,

I am definately using 02/24 bios on mboard.
am enclosing screen shot which shows graphics driver.
also must have forgotton i up'ed fsb last night, seems quite happy at 180 x 11! temps were 56 when i got home from work


regards

phil m
Attached Thumbnails
7njs mem sync question-180-11.jpg  
__________________
Regards,
Phil Martin
7NJS (02/24), xp2500+ barton, tr slk947u - tt smart fan II, 2 x 512MB xms3500c2 + xms3200LL (6,3,2,2 DC), Asus Radeon 9600XT, Audigy 2 Platinum, inspire 6.1, plextor w1610ta cdrw, ibm 40Gb 120gxp, 2x 80Gb 180gxp's raid 0, iiyama VM Pro 413 17", win xp pro, antec truepower 550, Blueyonder dsl, sb4100 modem, speedcom+ router,
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 19th April, 2003, 01:24 AM
Uncle Bob's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2002
Location: Blaine, WA
Posts: 3,734

BIOS version 0326 addresses the discrepancy on the FSB settings and reported FSB in POST screen. Other than that it seems there is little else. This thread discusses it further.
__________________
Main Rig: Gigabyte GA-965P-DQ6 (rev. 1.0) cooled by the Monster Water Cooling Setup
HTPC One BIG Case Asus 8 CORE Monster
Current PC Count:
ASROCK: 1 * BIOSTAR: 1 * ASUS: 5 * CHAINTECH: 7 * GIGABYTE: 2 *IWILL: 1 * MSI: 3* TYAN: 2
175+ GHZ total power for PC Perspective Killer Frogs Climate Prediction Team as The Uncle B's!!
and more coming all the time!

I'm the Uncle your Aunt won't talk about. Go ahead and pull my finger!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 20th April, 2003, 02:18 PM
[FuK]poudaman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Holland
Posts: 50

hej uncle bob!
what temps are u gettin on the chaintec with H2O??? as i am considdering the silent way aswell and as i see u have a good watercooling ur temps could be a nice guideline..
ps.: my cpu is a xp2100@xp2600
__________________
Xp2000 - Chaintech 7NJS - 512 Samsung Original pc2700 (2 x 256) -
WD-800-JP - Connect3D 9700 - Cooled by Zalman & Papst

all default:http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k1=5585945
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 20th April, 2003, 03:42 PM
Uncle Bob's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2002
Location: Blaine, WA
Posts: 3,734

Quote:
Originally posted by [FuK]poudaman
hej uncle bob!
what temps are u gettin on the chaintec with H2O??? as i am considdering the silent way aswell and as i see u have a good watercooling ur temps could be a nice guideline..
ps.: my cpu is a xp2100@xp2600
Hi there. . I'm just about to put it in a spankin new aluminum case with some good fans as well so we'll see how that works out. It has run as high as 115 F when the room gets warm. I asked the wife for a peliter for my (50th!!!) birthday this June, so we'll see what that brings. It's an expensive add on but I'd love to play around with it!

Best of luck with it. What watercooling system are you looking at? There are links to mine in my sig. It's a Danger Den and the rest is 'homegrown'.

Here are some links to other threads on the Chaintech:

Anyone here using a Chaintech 7njs?

Chaintech 7NJS BIOS Update

OMG 242 FSB without any MOD and ONAIR....

And here is a recent screenshot of my rig running at 1005 running Seti@Home. The temps are pretty typical.
Attached Thumbnails
7njs mem sync question-215fsb.jpg  
__________________
Main Rig: Gigabyte GA-965P-DQ6 (rev. 1.0) cooled by the Monster Water Cooling Setup
HTPC One BIG Case Asus 8 CORE Monster
Current PC Count:
ASROCK: 1 * BIOSTAR: 1 * ASUS: 5 * CHAINTECH: 7 * GIGABYTE: 2 *IWILL: 1 * MSI: 3* TYAN: 2
175+ GHZ total power for PC Perspective Killer Frogs Climate Prediction Team as The Uncle B's!!
and more coming all the time!

I'm the Uncle your Aunt won't talk about. Go ahead and pull my finger!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 20th April, 2003, 10:11 PM
Liquid3D's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: Newport, RI SURF
Posts: 374

I believe your 3DMark scores are consistant with the type of core your using, based on a NV17 Core (although the code on the core read's "MX440-8X", "NV17" isn't mentioned any longer). Your spec's indicate a GF4 MX440, on a "PCI" bus? Is this simply a misread? Your card is generally rated at 270MHz (DDR) core speed, and 400MHz (DDR) memory speed. However, the Gainward Golden Sample (as your sig. seems to indicate) is an exceptional card (utilizing Samsung 3.3ns DDR memory 513MHz - 600MHz DDR), and the best overclocker in it's class. Your 3DMark2001SE score's are comparable to scores attained using the same card (see picture below) on a Intel P4 2.5GHz, Det 40.72 drivers (remember the 7579 3D score was on a 2533MHz system, and 533FSB (albeit quad-pumped 133). Of course the Intel's performance is left unaffected by anomalies associated& nbsp;with an overclocking (stressful) environment.  
Attached Thumbnails
7njs mem sync question-mx440roundup.gif  
__________________
(1.) 2.4C@3.6GHz 300FSB, SLK900U/Vantec Tornado 92mm/119CFM, Abit IS7-E, 1GB OCZ GolD Dual Channel 3700, Tyan G9700 Pro, PCPower&Cooling 400W
(2.) JIUHB1700, Prometeia, Soltek 75FRN2-L, 1GB OCZ EL-PC3700, Leadtek Winfast A250, ANTEC 480W


Last edited by Liquid3D; 20th April, 2003 at 10:24 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 22nd April, 2003, 02:46 AM
Member
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Thurrock, uk
Posts: 55

Quote:
Originally posted by Liquid3D
I believe your 3DMark scores are consistant with the type of core your using, based on a NV17 Core (although the code on the core read's "MX440-8X", "NV17" isn't mentioned any longer). Your spec's indicate a GF4 MX440, on a "PCI" bus? Is this simply a misread? Your card is generally rated at 270MHz (DDR) core speed, and 400MHz (DDR) memory speed. However, the Gainward Golden Sample (as your sig. seems to indicate) is an exceptional card (utilizing Samsung 3.3ns DDR memory 513MHz - 600MHz DDR), and the best overclocker in it's class. Your 3DMark2001SE score's are comparable to scores attained using the same card (see picture below) on a Intel P4 2.5GHz, Det 40.72 drivers (remember the 7579 3D score was on a 2533MHz system, and 533FSB (albeit quad-pumped 133). Of course the Intel's performance is left unaffected by anomalies&nbsp ;associated with an overclocking (stressful) environment.  

Thanks for interest Liquid3d!,

my graphics card is the agp gainward pro 600 tv (mx440 4x) and is not a golden sample. i think i did update the bios and am using the 2nd latest nvidea drivers and latest exprert tool.
the gainward utility 'expert tool' does allow some overclocking of the core clock and memory clock. safe mode setting is 270/405 and max could be 350/490. I have upped the settings to 324/464 as it seemed a reasonable performance gain without running into the 'red'
of course i would like a top of the range card but really can't justify it at the moment. i hardly play any games as it is! i do believe the mx440 to be an adequate compromise for my needs although i am interested/ tempted by the new 8x 'golden sample' version with vivo of the same card ( as i now have 8x support on my 7njs)

some comparitive results for the graphics card on my system:

xp2500+barton with 'standard ' cpu Overclock of 166 x 12.5 (270/405) = 6531 3dmarks

same but (324/464) on graphics card = 7310 3dmarks

default- no overclock cpu, 166 x 11 (324/464) = 7082

my personal absolute best 3d mark so far is 7407 at 193 x 11.

it was some months before i realised the potential/ ability of this graphics overclocking!

i have done some fiddling with my cooling the last couple of days. i tried to fit an 80mm fan ( antec smart fan) to my heatpipe but it did not work out a well as i hoped (i think i may have not seated the cooler properly). i have ended up putting the heatpipe fan back to standard, and using the antec fan as a system exhaust fan. happily i can utilise the 2nd fan speed monitor on the MB . i did get and apply some antec 'reference' silver compound to the cpu. i want to let it settled down again though before i push it again. temps do seem a bit lower at 166 x 12.5 ~64degc when before it was up at ~68degc. as of now is running 166 x 11 ~59 degc.
Attached Thumbnails
7njs mem sync question-166-x-11b.jpg  
__________________
Regards,
Phil Martin
7NJS (02/24), xp2500+ barton, tr slk947u - tt smart fan II, 2 x 512MB xms3500c2 + xms3200LL (6,3,2,2 DC), Asus Radeon 9600XT, Audigy 2 Platinum, inspire 6.1, plextor w1610ta cdrw, ibm 40Gb 120gxp, 2x 80Gb 180gxp's raid 0, iiyama VM Pro 413 17", win xp pro, antec truepower 550, Blueyonder dsl, sb4100 modem, speedcom+ router,
AOA Team fah

Last edited by fzr phil; 22nd April, 2003 at 02:51 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 23rd April, 2003, 04:00 PM
Liquid3D's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: Newport, RI SURF
Posts: 374

When running 3DMark2001SE you should have your card set on it's "default" settings. Choosing "Aggressive" will not necessarily enhance the score, but will in fact have the opposite effect. Make sure Vsync is disabled, in both Direct3D and OpenGL and 1024X768 should be the resolution. How old is the card?

Of course your primary detriment at this point is your only utilizing 64-bit memory controller, on a Twinbank (128-bit) system. 3DMark2001SE scores would improve significantly if you were to buy another stick of memory. Ensure you buy then same make, model, and latency of your current stick!

Could you read and enter here, the entire code printed on your videocard's memory chips?

BTW I'm thinking of getting a Barton 2500+, and overclocking it to 12x166, or 13x166. I think the chip has excellent potential with it's 512k L2 cache! And their only $139 at Newegg boxed w/HSF and 3 year warranty (which is what I want) I'll use the HSF for NB cooling.
__________________
(1.) 2.4C@3.6GHz 300FSB, SLK900U/Vantec Tornado 92mm/119CFM, Abit IS7-E, 1GB OCZ GolD Dual Channel 3700, Tyan G9700 Pro, PCPower&Cooling 400W
(2.) JIUHB1700, Prometeia, Soltek 75FRN2-L, 1GB OCZ EL-PC3700, Leadtek Winfast A250, ANTEC 480W


Last edited by Liquid3D; 23rd April, 2003 at 04:09 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 23rd April, 2003, 11:20 PM
Member
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Thurrock, uk
Posts: 55

Quote:
Originally posted by Liquid3D
Could you read and enter here, the entire code printed on your videocard's memory chips?

BTW I'm thinking of getting a Barton 2500+, and overclocking it to 12x166, or 13x166. I think the chip has excellent potential with it's 512k L2 cache! And their only $139 at Newegg boxed w/HSF and 3 year warranty (which is what I want) I'll use the HSF for NB cooling.
[/B]
10 mins before reading this i had the card pulled off the board! i will check for you though.

re. barton, by your lasts posts it sounds like you have already convinced yoursel

i doubt that 166 x 12 or even 166 x 12.5 (xp2800+ speed)will be a problem at least mine will without much trouble. mine wont select any multi above 12.5

re. hsf, Having been despairing of my cooling lately and trying again my 80mm fan conversion without satisfactory results on my coolermaster hhcl-61 heatpipe, i actually tried for the first time today the retail cooler that came with the cpu and.... i have not seen the temps lower! e.g 48/54 degc (no OC) 58 at full load and 166 x 12.5 .this is without applying any additional heat compound or anything. i had been seeing much higher temps.
one thing though, thr heatsink fins seem to aim right at the ram so i have stripped the case off again
i reckon i might try to lap my heatpipe and get a properr fan conversion. i was trying with an antec 80mm smart fan i might be better with the thermaltake one, also the adapter i was using was a plastic one which i had to modify due to holes not directing all the air flow into the cpu, ideal for a case probably!

had a serious bash last night ( before changing hsf)and found my max fsb at regular'ish voltage to be 203 (boot windows), at 202 x 9 (mem and fsb reported 202 in bios -interestingly)was looking good right up to not running 3d mark

cooling is definately an issue but also suspect my psu (300w cwt) to be lacking. there is 550w cwt at scan.co.uk this week that is tempting but i could do withought throwing the money about

cheers

Phil
__________________
Regards,
Phil Martin
7NJS (02/24), xp2500+ barton, tr slk947u - tt smart fan II, 2 x 512MB xms3500c2 + xms3200LL (6,3,2,2 DC), Asus Radeon 9600XT, Audigy 2 Platinum, inspire 6.1, plextor w1610ta cdrw, ibm 40Gb 120gxp, 2x 80Gb 180gxp's raid 0, iiyama VM Pro 413 17", win xp pro, antec truepower 550, Blueyonder dsl, sb4100 modem, speedcom+ router,
AOA Team fah

Last edited by fzr phil; 24th April, 2003 at 12:26 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 24th April, 2003, 09:27 PM
Liquid3D's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: Newport, RI SURF
Posts: 374

What's "cwt"? I can't begin to explain how important the PSU to the system. In fact an article I'd thought be done in a few day's about PSU's is going on a week. What I have learned, is there's no more improtant place to begin building with quality then the PSU. For example, if someone were to offer me a brand new Thoroughbred 3000+ and a no name 600Watt PSU, or a used Thunderbird 1400MHz processor and a PCPower&Cooling 425W http://www.pcpowercooling.com/produc...lies/index.htm  or Sam Cheer 470W http://www.samcheer.com/html/product...x470triple.htm  I'd take the latter pair in a heartbeat. So I don't know what cwt, but there's only one more PSU I'd suggest TTGI TT520-SS 520W four-fan silent. Only $86 at Directron; http://www.directron.com/tt5204fanc.html

When you applied the thermasl paste to the core, did you apply it in a paper thin coat, covering the entire core, BUT not overlapping the sides. Although the Core sides only rise a few mm above the CPU organic surface, it's important there's no excess thermal paste on the sides. This will atually prevent air flow, around the sides of the core, and will actually be akin to throwing a wrinkled blanket over the core.  Just make sure you don't spread the paste too thin, as to leave bare spaces, but as thin as possible. I've actually heard some say they could read the code through the paste (of course this was prior to labels, when AMD stamped/etched the code on the core). That of course is an example. I used to use my finger, now I've heard the oils may not be condusive to the paste? So credit card, or simliar should be used. 
__________________
(1.) 2.4C@3.6GHz 300FSB, SLK900U/Vantec Tornado 92mm/119CFM, Abit IS7-E, 1GB OCZ GolD Dual Channel 3700, Tyan G9700 Pro, PCPower&Cooling 400W
(2.) JIUHB1700, Prometeia, Soltek 75FRN2-L, 1GB OCZ EL-PC3700, Leadtek Winfast A250, ANTEC 480W

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Quick question about sync/async..... rocklobster EPoX MotherBoards 4 2nd August, 2003 06:23 AM
VDD MOD for Chaintech 7NJS.... Dagalidis AMD Motherboards & CPUs 8 27th April, 2003 02:41 PM
New BIOS 0326 for Chaintech 7NJS.... Dagalidis AMD Motherboards & CPUs 2 17th April, 2003 07:47 AM
Anyone here using a Chaintech 7njs? Uncle Bob AMD Motherboards & CPUs 25 31st January, 2003 01:33 AM
Chaintech 7NJS maxwell AMD Motherboards & CPUs 4 30th January, 2003 11:53 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:02 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0