AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 2nd May, 2003, 03:31 AM
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Posts: 274

Alt/F2 on an asus A7VL VM

The title says it all.

I recently purchased an A7VL VM mobo. I am attempting to run a 1600xp on it and have a minor problem. I am unable to access DOS to flash to the latest BIOS. The system will post but will not boot. the current BIOS is 1002 and does not recognize the XP.
Flashing a BIOS on my Epox is simple,depress Alt/F2 at beginning of post and BIOS will flash with proper flash program. Can this work for this particular board? If so How would you set it up?
Which flash program etc.

TIA

G
__________________
630 quad4
Asus M4A79XTD Evo
4G Corsair XMS
HD5570 ATI
750w Antec PSU
500g x 2 Seagate
160g x 2 Seagate mirrored
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 3rd May, 2003, 05:50 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

Temporarily replace the new XP 1600 with a slower processor that the mainboard will boot into the OS with. I'm told that using Asus's "automatic BIOS flash while online and connected to Asus's Web site" works very well. The capability to do this needs to be installed first. The program is named "Asus Live Update" and this program is found on the CD-ROM that comes with the motherboard.

The Alt/F2 method will not work with Asus m'boards to the best of my knowledge.
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 4th May, 2003, 02:08 AM
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Posts: 274

Thank you for the info Cloasters, I ordered a 1.3 duron to do just that. I should be recieving it Monday and will see what happens Asus Live Update, I'll look into it

G
__________________
630 quad4
Asus M4A79XTD Evo
4G Corsair XMS
HD5570 ATI
750w Antec PSU
500g x 2 Seagate
160g x 2 Seagate mirrored
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 4th May, 2003, 09:05 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

You're very welcome, we are here to serve.

I surely hope that the Duron 1.3 Ghz isn't too new, too! Dang, I can't remember when they hit the shelves. I have one in the B Box. It's pretty fast and the price is mmm mmm good! Not an OCer, though.

The Duron 1000 often OC's to 1300. At the 133 Mhz FSB, they definitely tromp a stock 1300. But I've only seen Duron 1.1 Ghz lately, the 1 Gigger's may have vanished. Shame, that.
__________________
When the world will be better.

Last edited by cloasters; 4th May, 2003 at 09:07 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 4th May, 2003, 09:49 PM
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Posts: 274

I ordered a 200fsb model and hope it works the way I want, and if not I'll just have to do something with it.
HHMMM what to do?
I shall see tomorrow evening

G
__________________
630 quad4
Asus M4A79XTD Evo
4G Corsair XMS
HD5570 ATI
750w Antec PSU
500g x 2 Seagate
160g x 2 Seagate mirrored
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Asus DvD rom ajopz General Hardware Discussion 9 4th September, 2006 07:13 PM
asus asus A-8 SLI madcatmk3 General Hardware Discussion 2 25th December, 2005 02:47 AM
ASUS A8N SLi cadaveca AMD Motherboards & CPUs 14 27th December, 2004 03:03 AM
Anyone else have an Asus A7S-VM? cloasters AMD Motherboards & CPUs 10 16th February, 2002 06:41 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:33 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0