AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 2nd June, 2003, 02:28 AM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Location: U of K
Posts: 386

Need a new PSU.......

Hi all,


Recently volt moded my Rad 9500np and I think the V's being drawn by this together with my mobo is overwhelming my PSU as the 5v line reported in USDM has dropped from 4.8v to 4.6v, and I also get random BSOD.

I want the best value for money PSU and have been looking at the 550W CWT Quiet Dual Fan Version , so I just wanted to hear what the forum's opinion on CWT PSU's are and also wondered whether any members have this model and how it performs ?

Any feedback would be appreciated.


TIA.
__________________
He who asks is a fool for 15 minutes, he who does'nt remains a fool forever.

| Abit NF7-S V 2.0 | 1.8v Vdd (modded) | XP 1700+ DLT3C 0319 1.95v @ 2495 Mhz 217 x 11.5 |
| 2 x 256 TwinMos w/ Winbond BH-5 DC 10,2,2,Cas2 @ 3.0v Vdimm (modded) |
| Connect3d ATI Radeon 9800 Pro | Innovatek Water Cooled CPU & NB, actively cooled SB |
| Adaptec 39160 | Seagate Cheetah ST318406LW | ST336706LW | Lite-on CDRW |



Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 2nd June, 2003, 02:39 AM
Staz's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Lafayette LA
Posts: 3,241
Send a message via Yahoo to Staz

does CTW= Channle Well?

If it does then they are one of the largest OEM producers of PSUs. I believe that Antecs are simply rebadged ChannelWells. But they also make other cheaper PSUs as well.

I personally have no experiance with a CWT branded PSU. Nor have I heard anything good or bad about them. One good indicator is weight. Check the shipping weight against other 550w PSUs.
__________________
How come whenever I have a 50/50 chance I'm wrong 80% of the time?

What goes in a computer? Click me to find out.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 3rd June, 2003, 02:34 AM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Location: U of K
Posts: 386

Yeah CWT = Channel Well Tech
__________________
He who asks is a fool for 15 minutes, he who does'nt remains a fool forever.

| Abit NF7-S V 2.0 | 1.8v Vdd (modded) | XP 1700+ DLT3C 0319 1.95v @ 2495 Mhz 217 x 11.5 |
| 2 x 256 TwinMos w/ Winbond BH-5 DC 10,2,2,Cas2 @ 3.0v Vdimm (modded) |
| Connect3d ATI Radeon 9800 Pro | Innovatek Water Cooled CPU & NB, actively cooled SB |
| Adaptec 39160 | Seagate Cheetah ST318406LW | ST336706LW | Lite-on CDRW |



Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 3rd June, 2003, 03:39 AM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

I'm currently running a CWT 420w to power my main rig.. running CPU@ 1.9v, 3 or 4 HDDs at any time, plus DVDrom and DVDRW... seems stable. My 12v line drops a bit to 11.55 at times, otherwise stable.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 3rd June, 2003, 06:18 AM
Uncle Bob's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2002
Location: Blaine, WA
Posts: 3,734

The most reliable method of measuring your PSU output is with a digital multimeter. The two inside wires on a standard molex connector are the negative lines, btw. See what you get before you go thinking it's the PSU.
__________________
Main Rig: Gigabyte GA-965P-DQ6 (rev. 1.0) cooled by the Monster Water Cooling Setup
HTPC One BIG Case Asus 8 CORE Monster
Current PC Count:
ASROCK: 1 * BIOSTAR: 1 * ASUS: 5 * CHAINTECH: 7 * GIGABYTE: 2 *IWILL: 1 * MSI: 3* TYAN: 2
175+ GHZ total power for PC Perspective Killer Frogs Climate Prediction Team as The Uncle B's!!
and more coming all the time!

I'm the Uncle your Aunt won't talk about. Go ahead and pull my finger!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 3rd June, 2003, 04:44 PM
CCW's Avatar
CCW CCW is offline
Member
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Suffolk, UK
Posts: 345

Uncle Bob, Happy Birthday. I was viewing XS earlier and noticed your name in the birthday list.

If you want a cheap PSU that packs a lot of punch then you cant go far wrong with Q-Tec.

Craig
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 3rd June, 2003, 06:09 PM
Allan's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 7,914

Quote:
Originally posted by CCW
Uncle Bob, Happy Birthday. I was viewing XS earlier and noticed your name in the birthday list.

If you want a cheap PSU that packs a lot of punch then you cant go far wrong with Q-Tec.

Craig
I haven't been lucky with Q-Tec. Out of the 10 computers I've assembled with them, 3 of them went dead within a month!
Thats 30%!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 3rd June, 2003, 10:14 PM
Rip Rip is offline
Member
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: USA,NJ
Posts: 15

I've recommend a TTGI 420 or 520 psu.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 4th June, 2003, 08:17 AM
CCW's Avatar
CCW CCW is offline
Member
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Suffolk, UK
Posts: 345

Quote:
Originally posted by Allan


I haven't been lucky with Q-Tec. Out of the 10 computers I've assembled with them, 3 of them went dead within a month!
Thats 30%!
Thats unlucky What versions were they? The Dual-Fan ones are pretty cool, keeps em running cool!

Craig
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 4th June, 2003, 11:48 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Gibraltar
Posts: 20

I have had some problems with q-tec dual fan. I was replacing a generic 300w psu. My system was stable at 210x10.5 at 1.75v.

Anyway i installed the q-tec. and it looked like it was DOA. The next day i tried one more time and it worked. Dunno why, didnt do anything to it.

So on the first boot, i cant go into windows. So i end up increasing the voltage to the cpu. It seems stable at 1.875. But it was still crashing in cm4. Getting annoyed with things now. I took the multiplier down to 10 and everything was fine. So it seemed that one of the psu's wasnt delivering the volts it thought it was.

So new PSU is at fault I thought. So i swapped them over again. It seemed stable and then the same problem.

So in the end i am confused. I cant be arsed to change things back again. But it all started when installing the q-tec. Probably fine after all. But beware the ctx cable is pretty short.

I just think you get what you pay for now.
__________________
XP2400 cpu (210FSB x 10.5 at 1.825v) , Epox 8RDA+ Nforce2 mobo, 512 DDR 400 Ram, Gainward GeForce 4 4400 GS, Win XP Home, 120gb 7200rpm Seagate HDD, 30gb 5400rpm Western Digital HDD, 52x Creative CD drive, SLK900, Q-Tec 550w PSU
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 5th June, 2003, 03:41 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Location: U of K
Posts: 386

Quote:
Originally posted by Uncle Bob
The most reliable method of measuring your PSU output is with a digital multimeter. The two inside wires on a standard molex connector are the negative lines, btw. See what you get before you go thinking it's the PSU.
UB,

I've tried the mutimeter on unused connectors and the 5v line reads 4.98 - 5.01v, however I remember reading a thread where some knowledgable folk said that readings from an unused connector may not be representitive of whats happening at say the voltage regulator for the CPU. So when I cite my PSU as a possible cause of my problems I'm basing this mostly on what I've seen on USDM where before the GFX mods the USDM 5v line read 4.75 and post mod it read 4.6v, we all know that USDM is not noted for its accuracy but it's good enough for consistancy.

BTW a belated Happy Birthday!!!
__________________
He who asks is a fool for 15 minutes, he who does'nt remains a fool forever.

| Abit NF7-S V 2.0 | 1.8v Vdd (modded) | XP 1700+ DLT3C 0319 1.95v @ 2495 Mhz 217 x 11.5 |
| 2 x 256 TwinMos w/ Winbond BH-5 DC 10,2,2,Cas2 @ 3.0v Vdimm (modded) |
| Connect3d ATI Radeon 9800 Pro | Innovatek Water Cooled CPU & NB, actively cooled SB |
| Adaptec 39160 | Seagate Cheetah ST318406LW | ST336706LW | Lite-on CDRW |




Last edited by Pita^Norf; 5th June, 2003 at 10:25 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 5th June, 2003, 05:29 PM
Holst's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Leics UK
Posts: 4,528

I use a CWT 320 as my main test PSU at work, this should be a testement to there quality and reliability.

As for Q-Tech there rubbish, absolute and utter pap, dont buy one there just cheap generic PSU painted gold with two fans. As allan says they will break down.
__________________
No longer Epox Tech.

Best of luck in the future all my friends.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 5th June, 2003, 09:35 PM
Member
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: By myself
Posts: 47
Send a message via AIM to Not Slim

And if you are interested I have a one month old Vantec Stealth (Stealth??? I don't think ) 470W Psu going spare after my better half treated me to a 550W Antec True Power.... But in all seriousness I have no-one who can recommend a Q-Tec PSU, all have had problems, inconsistent lines etc
__________________
8RGA+, Barton 2500 @ 215x10.5 (for the time being), Sapphire 9700 pro @ 405x660, 2X256MB Twinmoss w/Winbond @ 3,2,2,2, Antec True Control 550W, Alpha Pal8045 with one seriously LOUD Vantec Fan, Lian Li PC60 USB with another couple of Vantec Tornado's and other assorted bits.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 5th June, 2003, 10:01 PM
ichorid's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 81
Send a message via MSN to ichorid

whoops... just bought q-tec 400W for my new rig...

ill build it this weekend.

if i find any psu related probs, ill pm u about that vantec, slim
__________________
Lithos
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 5th June, 2003, 10:19 PM
Uncle Bob's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2002
Location: Blaine, WA
Posts: 3,734

Measuring at the molex connector would be the most accurate method for determining voltage. Anyone who said it had to be a used connector was inviting a chance at a free ride to the pacemaker farm. I've been an accredited electrician for over 25 years (holy sheep dip...half my life!!) and I've never used another method. If you were measuring amps now....that's another story. 4.9 to 5.01 volts is great.

Another part of the story seldom mentioned is the range observed. On a cheap PSU (perhaps one is mentioned here...Q-Tech for instance) the variance or fluctuation of the voltage becomes a problem. You are noting a 4.98 - 5.01v range, which is acceptable. Other PSUs may vary far more and that in itself is a problem. I believe we are allowed a 5% variance which isn't all that much.
__________________
Main Rig: Gigabyte GA-965P-DQ6 (rev. 1.0) cooled by the Monster Water Cooling Setup
HTPC One BIG Case Asus 8 CORE Monster
Current PC Count:
ASROCK: 1 * BIOSTAR: 1 * ASUS: 5 * CHAINTECH: 7 * GIGABYTE: 2 *IWILL: 1 * MSI: 3* TYAN: 2
175+ GHZ total power for PC Perspective Killer Frogs Climate Prediction Team as The Uncle B's!!
and more coming all the time!

I'm the Uncle your Aunt won't talk about. Go ahead and pull my finger!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 7th June, 2003, 11:58 AM
Member
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: By myself
Posts: 47
Send a message via AIM to Not Slim

No worries Ichorid, hope you don't need it and good luck with your build.
__________________
8RGA+, Barton 2500 @ 215x10.5 (for the time being), Sapphire 9700 pro @ 405x660, 2X256MB Twinmoss w/Winbond @ 3,2,2,2, Antec True Control 550W, Alpha Pal8045 with one seriously LOUD Vantec Fan, Lian Li PC60 USB with another couple of Vantec Tornado's and other assorted bits.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 7th June, 2003, 09:32 PM
ichorid's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 81
Send a message via MSN to ichorid

__________________
Lithos
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 7th June, 2003, 09:32 PM
ichorid's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 81
Send a message via MSN to ichorid

__________________
Lithos
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 29th June, 2003, 07:16 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Location: U of K
Posts: 386

Got my CWT-550ADP and its looking V good.

Just to recap, I suspected my 420W PSU was at fault for random reboots and I think my suspicions are founded. I got a new CPU last week and tried OCing it.

Got shut downs at Vcore of 1.85V and above, so did the OVP mod on my 8RDA+ and was still was getting shutdowns even though my 5V lines were a respectable 4.98V at load, (also I should point out that I run quite a few devices in my rig) so I was thinking that my 420 PSU just could'nt supply enough watts to my rig?

Anyways I borrowed a Enermax 550 and all my shut downs problems went away

With the CWT I'm getting a constant 5.00v on my 5v line at load...this compares to the 4.94V at load of the Enermax 550W, so IMO a very good PSU for a reasonable price of £58 (~$80 to our US memebers).

__________________
He who asks is a fool for 15 minutes, he who does'nt remains a fool forever.

| Abit NF7-S V 2.0 | 1.8v Vdd (modded) | XP 1700+ DLT3C 0319 1.95v @ 2495 Mhz 217 x 11.5 |
| 2 x 256 TwinMos w/ Winbond BH-5 DC 10,2,2,Cas2 @ 3.0v Vdimm (modded) |
| Connect3d ATI Radeon 9800 Pro | Innovatek Water Cooled CPU & NB, actively cooled SB |
| Adaptec 39160 | Seagate Cheetah ST318406LW | ST336706LW | Lite-on CDRW |



Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 30th June, 2003, 12:18 AM
Lazgoat's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,868

Where did you order it from Pita^Norf?
__________________
DFI SLi-D, Opteron 144 @ 2.8Ghz, 4x512MB PDP XBLK, 160GB WD Caviar SE, Benq 1620DW DVD-RW, X1800XT 256MB,Custom WC.


AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:26 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0