AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 2nd June, 2003, 09:54 PM
MiGGinZ's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2002
Location: Harrogate
Posts: 513

Barton 2500+ now £67

thats right kids, XP2500+ are now £67 in the uk at www.komplett.co.uk
__________________
One revived 8K3A+ thx holst.

ABIT AN7 2500xp-m @ 2.8ghz (H20-220 WC) , 1GB Twinmos PC3200, Radeon 9800pro(XT flashed)


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 2nd June, 2003, 10:16 PM
Mad old tory's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Cheltenham
Posts: 175
Send a message via ICQ to Mad old tory

hey tht thing runs 177MHz slower than my 2400 does the higher FSB make tht much difference ??? (Just wen i think my wallets safe from the fact tht upgrading is too much money and bang the prices drop jus enuff to make it worth thinkin bout...
__________________
XP2400@2060
ECS K7S6A
512mb pc2100-think its generic
MSI Geforce 4MX440
Soundblaster Audigy
Noname 350w PSU
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 2nd June, 2003, 11:08 PM
Member
 
Join Date: June 2003
Posts: 43

Yes it is slower clockwise but it has 512K instead of 256k of l2 Cache as well as the 166FSB, this according to AMD makes all the difference, probably not worth the upgrade IMO, I'm gonna wait until Hammers out until my next upgrade then my old kit in this box will go into a Shuttle...
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 2nd June, 2003, 11:30 PM
Lazgoat's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,868

Wow, thats the cheapest I've seen it. Scan.co.uk had/have it for £75 and I was tempted then, but now its £67! Its probably worth waiting a few weeks to see it at £50
Does anyone know which ones clock best and what you could get with air cooling?
Just curious, would it (stock) eat up my XP1700+ @2Ghz?

Laz.
__________________
DFI SLi-D, Opteron 144 @ 2.8Ghz, 4x512MB PDP XBLK, 160GB WD Caviar SE, Benq 1620DW DVD-RW, X1800XT 256MB,Custom WC.


AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 3rd June, 2003, 12:29 AM
MiGGinZ's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2002
Location: Harrogate
Posts: 513

apparently they overclock like a bugger, XP3200+ speeds being quite reachable.
__________________
One revived 8K3A+ thx holst.

ABIT AN7 2500xp-m @ 2.8ghz (H20-220 WC) , 1GB Twinmos PC3200, Radeon 9800pro(XT flashed)


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 3rd June, 2003, 09:41 AM
Sideburns's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2002
Location: UK, North East
Posts: 280

man, heres hoping the 8k3a is able to take a barton, and i just might treat myself again despite the fact im barely passing my degree
__________________
"Pain is only relative to the comfort you live in"

Athlon 64 3700+, Shuttle sn95, 1gb, nvidia 7600gt

----old-----
xp1700+ @ xp2600 (12.5*166 / 1.6v), epox 8k3a+, TwinMos + Geil 1.5gb ram, Ati radeon 8500 128mb
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 3rd June, 2003, 04:46 PM
CCW's Avatar
CCW CCW is offline
Member
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Suffolk, UK
Posts: 345

I noticed these have started to come down, the cache makes a fair bit of difference. Time to invest *kerching!*

Craig
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 4th June, 2003, 03:07 AM
Member
 
Join Date: March 2003
Posts: 120

the 512k cache gives about a 5% increase.....but bartons do not overclock as well as the tbred b's (XP1700/XP1800).

average speed is like 2.3ghz i think.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My New Barton 2500+'s SteveI AMD Motherboards & CPUs 19 5th December, 2003 02:30 PM
My new Barton 2500+ pctech AMD Motherboards & CPUs 31 23rd July, 2003 02:11 AM
2500+ Barton What does your oc like Shonk AMD Motherboards & CPUs 7 18th April, 2003 05:21 PM
Barton 2500+ bradmax57 AMD Motherboards & CPUs 5 26th February, 2003 08:03 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:15 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0