AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 14th June, 2003, 07:05 PM
WhiteWolf's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2003
Posts: 5

Twinmos PC3200 Winbond CH5 2*512 + ABIT NF7-S rev 2.0 How far can you go?

Has anyone this? What is max FSB with this combination? I hope about 220?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 15th June, 2003, 01:43 PM
Genius's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2002
Posts: 428
Send a message via Yahoo to Genius

I'm testing at 218 right now, 6-3-3-2 timings. This is with two of the TwinMos PC3200 and one 512mb stick of Winbond 4.5ns chips from hardcorecooling.com. I can only imagine you'll be able to push it further than whatever my maximum will be when I find it since you're only running two sticks.
__________________
Abit NF7-S - AMD Athlon XP 2500+ Barton @2300MHz - 210fsb (decided I don't have to redline ) - 1 GB PC3500 Corsair PLT 11-2-2-2 - Thermalright SLK-800 + Vantec Tornado 84.1cfm - ATI Radeon 9700 Pro 360/340 - Sony G420S 19" - Sound Blaster Audigy 2 - Logitech Z-680 Speakers - Dual Western Digital 80GB 8mb RAID 0 - Western Digital 80GB 2mb buffa' pr0n storage - LiteOn 16x DVD - LiteOn 52x24x52 Burner - Windows XP SP1a.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 15th June, 2003, 03:50 PM
hocusfocus's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Mobile, Al
Posts: 63

Quote:
Originally posted by Genius
I'm testing at 218 right now, 6-3-3-2 timings. This is with two of the TwinMos PC3200 and one 512mb stick of Winbond 4.5ns chips from hardcorecooling.com. I can only imagine you'll be able to push it further than whatever my maximum will be when I find it since you're only running two sticks.
Genius,
What voltage are you running on that Barton, at 211 I black screen out of the bios and have to use the insert key to get back in the bios. 210 runs fine.
HF
__________________
NF7-S V2, Barton 2500+10X210, 2x256 Twinmos +512 Buffalo PC3200 (winbond) DC 100% 5-2-2-2, 120g-8m Maxtor, 9500pro 350core/320mem, Winfast 2000deluxe, 52x24x52liteon, Verbatim 4X dvd burner (+r/rw)16xpioneer,WinXp bunch of other crap
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 15th June, 2003, 04:29 PM
Genius's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2002
Posts: 428
Send a message via Yahoo to Genius

Right now with 218x11 I'm at 1.93v. I'm not sure it's 100% stable yet but so far it's looking good. I think about the only way it might crash is with Prime 95 for several hours. I'll be testing that later today when I leave. I've completed numerous other benchmarks and gaming sessions though.
__________________
Abit NF7-S - AMD Athlon XP 2500+ Barton @2300MHz - 210fsb (decided I don't have to redline ) - 1 GB PC3500 Corsair PLT 11-2-2-2 - Thermalright SLK-800 + Vantec Tornado 84.1cfm - ATI Radeon 9700 Pro 360/340 - Sony G420S 19" - Sound Blaster Audigy 2 - Logitech Z-680 Speakers - Dual Western Digital 80GB 8mb RAID 0 - Western Digital 80GB 2mb buffa' pr0n storage - LiteOn 16x DVD - LiteOn 52x24x52 Burner - Windows XP SP1a.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 18th June, 2003, 04:15 AM
Member
 
Join Date: June 2003
Posts: 3

hy there,

i got this abit rev. 2.0 together with 2x256mb twinmos/winbond ch-5 and an 1700+dut3c and after excessive testing i never managed to get stable above 218fsb no matter what multi i choose!
either the timings are pretty bad, cl2,5 3-3-7

any ideas?
anyone getting higher?
does anyone know if its more the ram or the nb making probs at those speeds?

thanks in advance


specs as said above plus...:
original bios,
2,9vdimm
1,7vcc
xp sp 1
orig. drivers from abit cd
CPU,NB watercoled
sb not cooled, but i'm thinking bout it
__________________
hands up 4 www.blackviper.com
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 18th June, 2003, 02:33 PM
hocusfocus's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Mobile, Al
Posts: 63

Quote:
Originally posted by Roadrunner
[B]hy there,

i got this abit rev. 2.0 together with 2x256mb twinmos/winbond ch-5 and an 1700+dut3c and after excessive testing i never managed to get stable above 218fsb no matter what multi i choose!
either the timings are pretty bad, cl2,5 3-3-7

any ideas?
anyone getting higher?
does anyone know if its more the ram or the nb making probs at those speeds?
Perhaps you need more juice to the cpu?
HF
__________________
NF7-S V2, Barton 2500+10X210, 2x256 Twinmos +512 Buffalo PC3200 (winbond) DC 100% 5-2-2-2, 120g-8m Maxtor, 9500pro 350core/320mem, Winfast 2000deluxe, 52x24x52liteon, Verbatim 4X dvd burner (+r/rw)16xpioneer,WinXp bunch of other crap
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 18th June, 2003, 10:39 PM
Member
 
Join Date: June 2003
Posts: 3

nope... it seems like it was the NB, although raising the vdd to 1,97(pencil mod) neither would me cross the 225mhz line....:/
its definitely not the vcore, i lowered the multi just to test the fsb!!
and the twinmos never perform like i want to... highest cl2 2-2-5 was with 200mhz, at 205mhz i had to lower the timings to cl2 3-2-6 to become a completly stable system!
of course all this timings are with 2,9vdimm(which is 3,07 in real) as this sticks need quite much "juice"!!
i think i'm gonna stick with my corsair 256mb pc3200 as i can go 223mhz @ cl2 2-2-5 whithout any prob
__________________
hands up 4 www.blackviper.com
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Winbond CH5 or Twinmos with Winbond bradmax57 EPoX MotherBoards 47 2nd August, 2003 02:44 PM
2X 512MB Winbond PC3200 -£149 all inc DimViesel Online Deals, and Steals 4 22nd May, 2003 07:47 AM
Twinmos Winbond SpleeNMaN EPoX MotherBoards 9 26th March, 2003 06:55 PM
Best Bios for TwinMos\Winbond j0j0 EPoX MotherBoards 0 10th March, 2003 03:12 PM
Twinmos 256MB PC3200 w/ Twinmos chips on 8RDA+... Swifty2002 EPoX MotherBoards 9 27th February, 2003 05:46 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:00 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0