AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 19th June, 2003, 02:44 PM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Location: London
Posts: 158

NF7-S Rev2 + Sata raid & TV Card problem

Hi all
Just got hold of 2 36GB WD raptor sata drives . I set up windows XP pro using the 28 sata driver set with the drives in raid 0 . I have been using the 14 beta bios without a hitch .
The problem is that any hard drive activity ( installing a game defrag etc ... ) if I am using my TV card I get lots of horizontal lines on the picture . I have tried various settings in the BIOS and swapping the PCI slots used ,but nothing makes a difference .
If there is any hard drive activity on my 120 GB drive on the IDE connector the problem does not occour , it only happens on the sata raid drive.
If anyone can shed some light on this it would be of a great help
Cheers
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 19th June, 2003, 03:15 PM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

I had a similar setup..
nf7s v2, maxt w/ adaptor on sata, and a leadtek TVtuner. I did not get your kind of problems tho... In my case, if there was too much hdd activity the recording would stop.

I finally gave up and moved the TV tuner to my wife's machine... 8k3a running on raid channels, and for the last few days no problems.

If the picture is degrading, it may be that the controller's drivers are using too many CPU cycles, and as a result, the encoding/compressing in real time does not get enough CPU cycles to record a good picture. Next time you see this happening, open task manager and see what is using the CPU cycles.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 19th June, 2003, 04:09 PM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Location: London
Posts: 158

CPU activity is not too high . When I defrag the drive it goes between 5-10% sometimes it will go higher but not much .
The lines are there when I just watch TV and try to do anything with the raid setup ( moving files , game installs etc ... ) I am hoping somebody else is running sata raid with a TV card so they can let me know if they have had the same thing or if they fixed it .
Thanks for the reply
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
nForce3 64Bit SATA RAID Driver (winxp x64), K8n neo2 platinum SATA RAID DRIVERS enforcex64guru 64 Bit computing 6 2nd May, 2007 02:15 PM
8RDA3+rev2.1-Sata problem-Write cache :Disable radiologos EPoX MotherBoards 1 14th June, 2005 09:49 AM
8RDA3+ Sata raid problem icy20 EPoX MotherBoards 2 21st April, 2004 05:45 AM
8KRA2+ SATA/RAID boot problem henryha EPoX MotherBoards 0 24th November, 2003 10:47 AM
BooT Booting problem 8KRA2+ SATA-Raid and PATA-Raid together; not able to boot SATA.. DaF EPoX MotherBoards 0 1st October, 2003 09:20 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:21 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0