AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 20th June, 2003, 07:36 AM
Member
 
Join Date: June 2003
Posts: 13

What Nforce 2 boards INCREASE multiplyers?

I just got some Crucial pc-2700 ram for 47.99 (512mb). I was gonna get some XMS PC-3200, but seeing its about 3 times the price, i jumped on this. So now i am limited to 166fsb and i have a 1700+ DLT3C proccesser. You see my problem. Since the default multiplyer is 11, i need a board that can RAISE it to about atleast 13 prefferably. i heard the 8rda+ cant, and its the board i was going to go with. All suggestions welcome!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 20th June, 2003, 08:34 AM
dod's Avatar
dod dod is offline
AOA Staff (should be working)
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Inverness
Posts: 4,014
Send a message via ICQ to dod Send a message via Yahoo to dod

I believe the Abit and Soltek do.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Asus P5Q pro, E8400, 4X2Gb XMS2 6400, 8800GT OC and a heap more HDD space
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 20th June, 2003, 08:40 AM
Groltz's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Location: Pierce County, WA
Posts: 181

The Abit NF7 can do from 5X to 22X.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 20th June, 2003, 09:10 AM
Member
 
Join Date: June 2003
Posts: 13

Quote:
Originally posted by Groltz
The Abit NF7 can do from 5X to 22X.
On any CPU? Even the SVC 59.99 0319 DL3TC 1700+?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 20th June, 2003, 09:40 AM
Groltz's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Location: Pierce County, WA
Posts: 181

That's what the owner's manual says. It should do 13x easily on a 1700+ @ 166FSB.

I've only tried 11.5 and 12 on my own CPU (Barton 2500+) though.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 20th June, 2003, 11:34 AM
MiGGinZ's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2002
Location: Harrogate
Posts: 513

the max multi is limited by the type of CPU on all boards.
__________________
One revived 8K3A+ thx holst.

ABIT AN7 2500xp-m @ 2.8ghz (H20-220 WC) , 1GB Twinmos PC3200, Radeon 9800pro(XT flashed)


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 20th June, 2003, 12:12 PM
Member
 
Join Date: June 2003
Posts: 13

Quote:
Originally posted by MiGGinZ
the max multi is limited by the type of CPU on all boards.
Ok... whats the max multi of the 1700+?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 20th June, 2003, 01:05 PM
Groltz's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Location: Pierce County, WA
Posts: 181

C,
Did you get the answer you needed from your post in the abit-usa forum?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 20th June, 2003, 01:08 PM
Member
 
Join Date: June 2003
Posts: 13

half and half, still working on it but im fairly sure im gonna go Abit NF7-S. I just hate spendin that much when i can get a 8rda+ for $40 cheaper and plan to a get a Audigy 2.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 20th June, 2003, 03:55 PM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

What you are really asking for is a 5bit FID BIOS... whatever that means...

The result is a multiplier control that bipasses certain limits... Abit has been using this type of bios since their KT400s... I believe SolteK's new NF2 boards also use it... Everyone else is still using 4bit FID bios.

EDIT: on boards with 4bit... there is a brick wall at 12.5x. If the default multiplier is higher than 12.5x, at best, you have control of the higher multipliers... If default is under 12.5x, that is what you can control... As a result, some users paint a bridge on their high end CPU to get access to the lower multiplier to go for high FSB. However, with a 5bit fid, the bios is able to bipass the limitation (or wall) and access all higher and lower multipliers at will.

All of my statements assume that the CPU is unlocked to begin with.
__________________
AOA Team fah

Last edited by SteveI; 20th June, 2003 at 04:41 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SATA RAID on nforce-boards gedon AMD Motherboards & CPUs 2 4th May, 2005 07:56 PM
memory latency and NForce 2 boards nano AMD Motherboards & CPUs 1 19th December, 2003 11:13 PM
AGP/PCI on nForce 2 boards? Jupiler AMD Motherboards & CPUs 5 7th February, 2003 07:47 PM
Epox and Asus Nforce 2 boards Galifrey AMD Motherboards & CPUs 14 16th December, 2002 02:15 PM
nForce boards I Am A Sponge AMD Motherboards & CPUs 9 2nd June, 2002 03:20 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:03 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0