AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 22nd June, 2003, 08:35 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 13

NF7-S 1.2 vs 2.0

Enermax 430w
NF7-S 1.2
Athlon XP Tbred B 2100+
OCZ PC3200 512MB

i currently have an overclock of 2233.65 MHz (186.14*12.0). Core=1.78v.

this is the max FSB i can get out of my system. i don't know if the FSB is limited by the nForce2 northbridge or the CPU iteself. it's certainly not limited by the RAM because i've already tested and burned it at 416 with no prob.

i'd really like to run 400+ FSB.

do you think i'd get better results with a new Barton 2500 or an NF7-S 2.0?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 22nd June, 2003, 10:00 PM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

My guess is bad luck with the mobo... What is the chipset voltage set to?
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 22nd June, 2003, 11:35 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 13

Quote:
Originally posted by SteveI
My guess is bad luck with the mobo... What is the chipset voltage set to?
1.6v or 1.7v, either way doesn't make a difference in the FSB.

from what i've read, it's the luck of the draw on how far your NF7-S board will go:

http://www.hardocp.com/article.html?art=NDQ3

i thought maybe the FSB is limited by my CPU (Tbred B 2100) rather than the mobo. but unfortunately i don't have another CPU to test with and my budget can't afford a new one at this time.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 23rd June, 2003, 12:04 AM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

If you drop the multiplier, I don't understand how the CPU can limit the fsb...

With NF2 boards, additional chipset voltage is often helpful.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 23rd June, 2003, 12:35 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 13

Quote:
Originally posted by SteveI
If you drop the multiplier, I don't understand how the CPU can limit the fsb...

With NF2 boards, additional chipset voltage is often helpful.
i just flashed my BIOS from 1.8 to 1.9 (compile date 5/13/03). i can now oc the FSB to 400 with no other changes.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:39 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0