AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 1st July, 2003, 01:11 AM
SadisticWarrior's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: USA Fl. & Sober since 4-15-98
Posts: 467

Time to upgrade

Ok I've decided it's time to upgrade and this is what I want;
1) MoBo- MSI K7N2 Delta ILSR (ms-6570) $121.00 Link
2) Processor- Athlon XP3000 "Barton" 400MHz, 2.2 GHz $259.00
3) Ram- Corsair Memory Kit 512x2 PC3200LL cas 2-3-2-6-T1 $187.00 Link

Can anyone think of a reason not to go with this setup? Or something different? If so why?

I will not order till the end of next week at the earliest.


SW
__________________
My Rig, Antec 1040 being Modded,MSI K7N2 Delta2, XP-3200 Barton,Volcano 11 w/SmartFan, 3x512mb PC-3200, 9600 XT,
Creative Labs Inspire 5.1 (5300),Win XP Pro w/sp2

2nd Rig, MSI K7N2 Delta 2, XP-3200 Barton, Global Win CK-38 w/60mm Delta, 9600XT, XP Pro

99% of all computer problems are sitting in front of the monitor But.... so is the Solution!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 1st July, 2003, 02:28 AM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

Looks like a nice selection of new gear, SadisticWarrior! According to Holst, modules with Winbond 3200 BH5 chips are excellent for nForce 2 mainboards. BH5 has been replaced by CH5. Looks like the BH5 chips were more tolerant of overvolting. This is much cheaper than the Corsair "bookmatched" DIMMS.

But if you simply gotta have the best, Corsair usually comes to mind.
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 1st July, 2003, 02:53 AM
SadisticWarrior's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: USA Fl. & Sober since 4-15-98
Posts: 467

Quote:
Originally Posted by cloasters
Looks like a nice selection of new gear, SadisticWarrior! According to Holst, modules with Winbond 3200 BH5 chips are excellent for nForce 2 mainboards. BH5 has been replaced by CH5. Looks like the BH5 chips were more tolerant of overvolting. This is much cheaper than the Corsair "bookmatched" DIMMS.

But if you simply gotta have the best, Corsair usually comes to mind.
I have come across some cash and decided to spend it on my system then move my old MoBo, XP-1600 and ram to my sons box (without telling him) to replace his Athlon 750. I dont think it will take him long to figure out something is different.
Thanks for the input and I'll check out the other ram.

SW
__________________
My Rig, Antec 1040 being Modded,MSI K7N2 Delta2, XP-3200 Barton,Volcano 11 w/SmartFan, 3x512mb PC-3200, 9600 XT,
Creative Labs Inspire 5.1 (5300),Win XP Pro w/sp2

2nd Rig, MSI K7N2 Delta 2, XP-3200 Barton, Global Win CK-38 w/60mm Delta, 9600XT, XP Pro

99% of all computer problems are sitting in front of the monitor But.... so is the Solution!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 1st July, 2003, 11:18 AM
Alexandrus's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Secret Laboratory
Posts: 832

I think the RAM and the mobo are too expensive, and not the best you can buy for that money.
An EPoX 8RDA+(rev. 2.0 if possible) or ABIT NF7-S rev. 2.0 would do better.
As for the RAM, try getting some TwinMOS DDR400 with Winbond BH-5 chips, or any other cheap RAM with BH-5 chips(A-Data, Kingston, Buffalo etc, just make sure they use Winbond BH-5 or CH-5 chips).
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 1st July, 2003, 07:50 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

Your son will love his new XP 1600+ machine. Near enough to twice as fast as a T-Bird 750!
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 1st July, 2003, 07:53 PM
mookydooky's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Everywhere you want to be.
Posts: 7,903
Send a message via MSN to mookydooky

If you're going to get Corsair, get the 3500XMS. The 3200XMS occasionally has issues with nForce2.
__________________
Need a laugh? Take a peek at
AOA's Mookydooky's "Just for laughs!" Joke Topic


AOA Team fah

我喜欢大屁股, 我不能骗你..... 他们弟兄不能否认......
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 1st July, 2003, 08:52 PM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

Quote:
Originally Posted by SadisticWarrior
I have come across some cash and decided to spend it on my system then move my old MoBo, XP-1600 and ram to my sons box (without telling him) to replace his Athlon 750. I dont think it will take him long to figure out something is different.
Thanks for the input and I'll check out the other ram.

SW

So what are you going to do with the old equipment? Might I recomend the classified section?
Rob
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 2nd July, 2003, 12:21 AM
SadisticWarrior's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: USA Fl. & Sober since 4-15-98
Posts: 467

So what are you going to do with the old equipment? Might I recomend the classified section?
Rob

I'm going to put a system together for my two grade school nieces. There parents dont have the money to get them one, so I will.

SW
__________________
My Rig, Antec 1040 being Modded,MSI K7N2 Delta2, XP-3200 Barton,Volcano 11 w/SmartFan, 3x512mb PC-3200, 9600 XT,
Creative Labs Inspire 5.1 (5300),Win XP Pro w/sp2

2nd Rig, MSI K7N2 Delta 2, XP-3200 Barton, Global Win CK-38 w/60mm Delta, 9600XT, XP Pro

99% of all computer problems are sitting in front of the monitor But.... so is the Solution!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 2nd July, 2003, 03:25 AM
ral ral is offline
Member
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Philippines
Posts: 351

Sweet.... Tried a pair of 256MB Corsair XMS256A DDR400 Dimms on my K7N2 Delta-L and they booted fine at 220MHz at 2-3-3-6. But got the Twinmoss Winbond CH-6 instead because they were half the cost (and I am a cheapskate).
__________________
ASUS A7V600 (Bios Rev. 1.008)
AMD Athlon XP1800+ DLT3C JIUHB 0309 TPMW @ 2100MHz (10.5x200) @ 1.50v vcore
2x256MB Twinmoss PC2700 (CL2.5) @ 400MHz (CL2-3-3-7 2T) @ 2.55v vdimm
ALX-800 w/ 80mm HAC-V81 fan
MSI Star Force GeForce FX 5700 128TD 425MHz/555MHz @ 475MHz/650MHz
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 3rd July, 2003, 03:37 AM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

Quote:
Originally Posted by SadisticWarrior
So what are you going to do with the old equipment? Might I recomend the classified section?
Rob

I'm going to put a system together for my two grade school nieces. There parents dont have the money to get them one, so I will.

SW

You DA man, SadisticWarrior!
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 3rd July, 2003, 06:11 AM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

Quote:
Originally Posted by SadisticWarrior
I'm going to put a system together for my two grade school nieces. There parents dont have the money to get them one, so I will.

SW
Sounds like a better use to me. (as long as they FOLD!! )
Rob
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
upgrade time Skiracing108 AMD Motherboards & CPUs 9 17th August, 2005 12:47 AM
upgrade time Furio AMD Motherboards & CPUs 16 6th August, 2005 07:01 PM
time for an upgrade? freestyle1 Intel Motherboards & CPUs 1 18th June, 2005 11:52 AM
Upgrade time smiffy EPoX MotherBoards 2 21st March, 2005 05:57 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:44 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0