AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #21 (permalink)  
Old 13th July, 2003, 07:21 PM
Lazgoat's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,868

whatever, its time you got a Digital camera, I'm dying to see what your system looks like! Please?
Beg, borrow or steal!

Laz.
__________________
DFI SLi-D, Opteron 144 @ 2.8Ghz, 4x512MB PDP XBLK, 160GB WD Caviar SE, Benq 1620DW DVD-RW, X1800XT 256MB,Custom WC.


AOA Team fah

Last edited by Daniel ~; 17th July, 2003 at 07:20 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old 13th July, 2003, 08:10 PM
muzz's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Posts: 1,018

Quote:
Originally Posted by whatever
as mentioned before, it's at 0C water temp.

thanks for the compliment.
Nice clock whatever !

800 you really need to read up boy, my 1700+ is what I would call " Reasonable-not great" and it does over 2900 mhz.......
My 1800+ does about 2800 mhz.

So I think you should look around, as these chips can do it with good cooling.

BTW my 1700+ did 2500mhz ON AIR!! With a weak SK-6/Delta screamer.
__________________
All MODS are done AT YOUR OWN RISK.........plan accordingly..

Fat, Drunk and Stupid is no way to go through life.........

I have a pool and a pond........ pond would be good for you though.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old 13th July, 2003, 08:26 PM
whatever's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: moon
Posts: 1,132

thanks for the replies guys..

Lazgoat, yeah i need to get a digital camera.. i'll try to steal if i can my setup right now looks kinda... bizarre... haha if you see my setup right now, you would say... "what the... hell is that?!?" lol


muzz, thanks... you have a great overclock you have there as well!
__________________
sig
HTPC
Conroe E6600 + stock cooler @ 3.2ghz
ATi X1950XTX 512 CrossFire
Triple WD Raptor 10k HDDs@ raid 0
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PHD7UY
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PH9UK
BetterCable SilverSerpent SVGA & DVI-D
Sony BWU-100A Blu-Ray PC Drive

p4 - superPi - 31 sec.
pM - superPi - 28 sec.
conroe - superPi - 14 sec.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old 13th July, 2003, 08:34 PM
whatever's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: moon
Posts: 1,132

here's pifastV41..


http://portfolio.iu.edu/skrska/2.76g...ast_screen.png




http://portfolio.iu.edu/skrska/2.76ghz_pifast_54.32.png
__________________
sig
HTPC
Conroe E6600 + stock cooler @ 3.2ghz
ATi X1950XTX 512 CrossFire
Triple WD Raptor 10k HDDs@ raid 0
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PHD7UY
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PH9UK
BetterCable SilverSerpent SVGA & DVI-D
Sony BWU-100A Blu-Ray PC Drive

p4 - superPi - 31 sec.
pM - superPi - 28 sec.
conroe - superPi - 14 sec.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old 13th July, 2003, 09:06 PM
Mad old tory's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Cheltenham
Posts: 175
Send a message via ICQ to Mad old tory

/me is very jealous
__________________
XP2400@2060
ECS K7S6A
512mb pc2100-think its generic
MSI Geforce 4MX440
Soundblaster Audigy
Noname 350w PSU
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old 14th July, 2003, 01:05 AM
chris4521's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 143
Send a message via ICQ to chris4521 Send a message via AIM to chris4521

im at 2.57 with a water setup :>
hoping to acheive similar
results with a waterchiller that im making ;>
__________________
DFI NF2 Infinity Ultra
DLT3C 0310 1700+
Swiftech MCP600/MCW5000/MCR50/120mm Rad
1x 256mb geil ultra platinum DDR (pc3500)
Albatron GFFX 5600 Turbo (400/900)
40gb 7200 ata133
48xcdrom, 4x2x24x cdrw :<
Sony trinitron multiscan 20sfII
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old 14th July, 2003, 05:06 AM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: las vegas-nv-usa
Posts: 213

Hey, 800MHzOC. What part of reality don't you understand. Many here run their 1700's at 2350 - 2500 MHz with air cooling. I have at least 5 or 6 over 2350 MHz right now. They run 24/7 that way, under full load.

Are you related to that Iraqi guy? "There are no American troops within 30 miles of Bagdad?"
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old 14th July, 2003, 12:00 PM
bigjohnson's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2002
Posts: 396

Quote:
Originally Posted by whatever
as mentioned before, it's at 0C water temp.

thanks for the compliment.
Great job! I would like to see a picture of your cooling set-up. I'm wondering what this chip could do for me.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old 14th July, 2003, 01:09 PM
dod's Avatar
dod dod is offline
AOA Staff (should be working)
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Inverness
Posts: 4,014
Send a message via ICQ to dod Send a message via Yahoo to dod

great work Hurry up with the camera
__________________
AOA Team fah
Asus P5Q pro, E8400, 4X2Gb XMS2 6400, 8800GT OC and a heap more HDD space
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old 14th July, 2003, 05:24 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Cumbria, UK
Posts: 44

Some people are just soooo jealous lol

well done m8



andyw
__________________
Epox 8RDA+ 1.1 Rev C1 400FSB Ultra Edition
Athlon XP 2400+ at 11x211 (Now stable at cpu 1.9v)
2 x 512MB TwinMos PC2700 syncd 10,3,3,2.5 Aggressive
Connect3D Radeon 9500pro 128MB 334/304
80GB Maxtor Plus 9
120GB Hitachi Deskstar
Toshiba SDR5002 DVD Writer
LiteonDVD 163
XP Pro SP1


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #31 (permalink)  
Old 14th July, 2003, 07:15 PM
Postaldave's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Location: 3 hours from LA.. its hot here
Posts: 591
Send a message via ICQ to Postaldave Send a message via AIM to Postaldave

man i really gotta see a picture of your setup..... that is just to kewl..... 40 gallons holy crap on me..... please please please get some pics up... hell i'll even upload em to my site so everyone can see em....

gg

postal


and as for thsi 800 mhz dweeb...stfu buddy.... go back to overclockers..... that's where all you noobs belong
__________________
WoW Server: Uther
Postal - 60 Undead Rogue
Evad - 60 Tauren Druid
Phaustus - 60 Troll Shaman
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #32 (permalink)  
Old 14th July, 2003, 10:28 PM
Hygge's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2002
Location: Denmark
Posts: 20
Send a message via ICQ to Hygge

hmm...Maybe I should put my watercooled TB1700+ in my spare Vapochill, and see up I can make it to.
Btw. Whatever & Muzz , very impressing OC'z
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #33 (permalink)  
Old 15th July, 2003, 04:10 PM
Mad old tory's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Cheltenham
Posts: 175
Send a message via ICQ to Mad old tory

You have a spare Vapochill Get using it quick!!
__________________
XP2400@2060
ECS K7S6A
512mb pc2100-think its generic
MSI Geforce 4MX440
Soundblaster Audigy
Noname 350w PSU
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #34 (permalink)  
Old 15th July, 2003, 07:37 PM
ral ral is offline
Member
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Philippines
Posts: 351

envy... envy...
__________________
ASUS A7V600 (Bios Rev. 1.008)
AMD Athlon XP1800+ DLT3C JIUHB 0309 TPMW @ 2100MHz (10.5x200) @ 1.50v vcore
2x256MB Twinmoss PC2700 (CL2.5) @ 400MHz (CL2-3-3-7 2T) @ 2.55v vdimm
ALX-800 w/ 80mm HAC-V81 fan
MSI Star Force GeForce FX 5700 128TD 425MHz/555MHz @ 475MHz/650MHz
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #35 (permalink)  
Old 16th July, 2003, 03:36 PM
mino's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2003
Location: Slovakia, little country uder Tatras
Posts: 6

Thumbs up

Huha , nice shot with such a simple cooling !

However, 1.98Vcore is prety much for this a core thus I will operate it at about 2.5G @ 1.75Vcore..

In present load I don't believe your darling could survive for more than 3 month.

BTW i suppose it's an DLT3C, isn't it?

Edit: Of course it is! I'm becomming blind :-))))
__________________
Thoroughbred 1700+/17*133/1,64Vcore | CP5-7JDIB | QDI Kudoz7A | 256M Apacer DDR266 CL2 | ManLi R8500 black64 | Samsung 957MB | IBM 9G UW-SCSI @ Adaptec 2940UW | Maxtor 30G | MSI 48/40/12

Last edited by mino; 16th July, 2003 at 06:43 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #36 (permalink)  
Old 17th July, 2003, 05:04 PM
Jethro's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2003
Posts: 51

nice speeds DOod!!! these chips rock! im at 2.575 with 2.0 vcore

waterblock gets warm now finally at 2.0vcore but everything is mucho stable all 3d games and Folding client no problems


ive got 2 ideas for water chilling one is to stick my 22x5.5 inch rad in the freezer by drilling 2 holes in the side for the water lines to pass thru or just drop the rad in this big cooler i got with some water and ice =)


do u have problems with condensation using the freezer method dood?
__________________
Epox8k3a TB 1700+ @ 2.45 1.85vcore 1/2 MAze3 cooled ~2x256 Samsung DDR @ 204
Chieftec ALuminum 601 //Sparkle 350
Netgear cable router RP614/3com905cTX~lan//SB AUdigy mp3+
WD special 80's x2 and 1x 20 // Sony 48x24x48
Hitachi7515~19inch .22dp ~ BB ATI 9600pro 540/351
Thrustmaster Fox 2 pro usb// Nostromo n50// IBM opti mouse
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #37 (permalink)  
Old 17th July, 2003, 05:53 PM
whatever's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: moon
Posts: 1,132

Quote:
Originally Posted by mino
Huha , nice shot with such a simple cooling !

However, 1.98Vcore is prety much for this a core thus I will operate it at about 2.5G @ 1.75Vcore..
not quite...
Overclocking is depend on the water source temperature, not necessarily the voltage. Voltage helps, but how well the cpu is being cooled is even more important.

1.98V "isn't" pretty much for this core.

it'll go higher, as long as it is cooled plenty.

but shooting for higher vcore isn't the best way, as mentioned before, water source temperature is more important. Cooler you make it, the better overclocking result you will get. You can use the Vcore to fine tune for X number of mhz @ X level of stability. Depending on how cold your water source is, you don't need extra vcore to get higher mhz. I can use lower vcore by lowering the water temperature little further. Temperature determines the overclockability. Vcore helps, but not as much as the cooling.


Quote:
In present load I don't believe your darling could survive for more than 3 month.
i don't think so.
__________________
sig
HTPC
Conroe E6600 + stock cooler @ 3.2ghz
ATi X1950XTX 512 CrossFire
Triple WD Raptor 10k HDDs@ raid 0
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PHD7UY
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PH9UK
BetterCable SilverSerpent SVGA & DVI-D
Sony BWU-100A Blu-Ray PC Drive

p4 - superPi - 31 sec.
pM - superPi - 28 sec.
conroe - superPi - 14 sec.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #38 (permalink)  
Old 17th July, 2003, 06:00 PM
Jethro's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2003
Posts: 51

again i ask



do u have problems with condensation using the freezer method dood?
__________________
Epox8k3a TB 1700+ @ 2.45 1.85vcore 1/2 MAze3 cooled ~2x256 Samsung DDR @ 204
Chieftec ALuminum 601 //Sparkle 350
Netgear cable router RP614/3com905cTX~lan//SB AUdigy mp3+
WD special 80's x2 and 1x 20 // Sony 48x24x48
Hitachi7515~19inch .22dp ~ BB ATI 9600pro 540/351
Thrustmaster Fox 2 pro usb// Nostromo n50// IBM opti mouse
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #39 (permalink)  
Old 17th July, 2003, 06:02 PM
whatever's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: moon
Posts: 1,132

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jethro
nice speeds DOod!!! these chips rock! im at 2.575 with 2.0 vcore

waterblock gets warm now finally at 2.0vcore but everything is mucho stable all 3d games and Folding client no problems


ive got 2 ideas for water chilling one is to stick my 22x5.5 inch rad in the freezer by drilling 2 holes in the side for the water lines to pass thru or just drop the rad in this big cooler i got with some water and ice =)


do u have problems with condensation using the freezer method dood?
thanks.. yes of course.. I get tremendous amount of condensation. That's why the full strength insulation is required. Time it takes to well insulate the system is longer than anything else. Takes quite a work.
__________________
sig
HTPC
Conroe E6600 + stock cooler @ 3.2ghz
ATi X1950XTX 512 CrossFire
Triple WD Raptor 10k HDDs@ raid 0
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PHD7UY
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PH9UK
BetterCable SilverSerpent SVGA & DVI-D
Sony BWU-100A Blu-Ray PC Drive

p4 - superPi - 31 sec.
pM - superPi - 28 sec.
conroe - superPi - 14 sec.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #40 (permalink)  
Old 17th July, 2003, 06:07 PM
whatever's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: moon
Posts: 1,132

If you don't insulate, it'll virtually be taking shower with it. not only the cpu and socket, but virtually your entire board could get soaked with water(from condensation) because there's huge amount of condensation.
__________________
sig
HTPC
Conroe E6600 + stock cooler @ 3.2ghz
ATi X1950XTX 512 CrossFire
Triple WD Raptor 10k HDDs@ raid 0
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PHD7UY
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PH9UK
BetterCable SilverSerpent SVGA & DVI-D
Sony BWU-100A Blu-Ray PC Drive

p4 - superPi - 31 sec.
pM - superPi - 28 sec.
conroe - superPi - 14 sec.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
xp1700 purplemohawkman AMD Motherboards & CPUs 2 14th December, 2003 03:26 PM
xp1700 - 2.82Ghz whatever AMD Motherboards & CPUs 21 6th November, 2003 09:58 AM
xp1700 undervolting Poor_Guy AMD Motherboards & CPUs 0 8th May, 2003 03:30 AM
XP1700+ Max Temp SiGmA_X Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 6 4th July, 2002 03:05 AM
voltage for XP1700+ ? buzz991 AMD Motherboards & CPUs 1 6th February, 2002 07:57 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:50 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0