AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 9th August, 2003, 12:39 PM
bradmax57's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: La Toon
Posts: 3,784

Do all rev 2.0 Abit Nf7s have ultra 400 chip

Does anyone know if the above is true? Ive seen some boxes without rev 2.0 on the box, but on back has ulra 400 mentioned, and some boxes with rev 2.0 printed but no mention about ulra 400 on the back?
__________________
Asus Rampage II Gene - Intel i7 920 D0 - 6 x 2gb Patriot Viper 1600 DDR3 - Nvidia 285 GTX - OCZ Modstream 600W - 1 x samsung 1tb SATA HDD's - 2 x Pioneer 216D SATA DVD-RW - Antec P180 Mini
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 9th August, 2003, 06:33 PM
Soul99's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: UK Portsmouth
Posts: 306
Send a message via ICQ to Soul99

i bought one last week and it did.
__________________
XP 2500 @ 2400mhz 1.76v Idle -5c, Load 9 c | Abit NF7-s V2.0 @ 218 FSB
Adata PC3200 2 x 512meg @ 218 mhz | R9700 Pro @ 415Mhz core, 355Mhz mem
Cooling is custom built TEC /Water/ Freon setup | Vapo Mk1 performance est.
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 10th August, 2003, 03:06 AM
bradmax57's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: La Toon
Posts: 3,784

Ive bought 3 in the past week 2 did 1 didnt
__________________
Asus Rampage II Gene - Intel i7 920 D0 - 6 x 2gb Patriot Viper 1600 DDR3 - Nvidia 285 GTX - OCZ Modstream 600W - 1 x samsung 1tb SATA HDD's - 2 x Pioneer 216D SATA DVD-RW - Antec P180 Mini
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 10th August, 2003, 04:41 AM
Member
 
Join Date: August 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 37

How can u determine rather it has NF2 Ultra 400 chipset or not?
__________________
System 1:
XP2100+@133x13
Epox 8K3A VER1.1 (BIOS: 2B01)
Apacer 512MB (Samsung chips)PC2700 DDR SDRAM (2.5-3-3-6)
GlobalWin CakII-38
Abit GeForce4 440MX 64MbDDR AGP4x
Creative SB Live value

System 2:
XP1700+ DLT3C 0310 200x12 (2400MHz) @1.75V
Asus V9900 GF5800FX AGP8x oc (505MHz/1010Mhz)
tt Volcano11 @3700rpm
Hynix 2 x 256MB DDR SDRAM @400 (2-3-3-5)
Creative Audigy oem
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 10th August, 2003, 10:26 AM
bradmax57's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: La Toon
Posts: 3,784

Quote:
Originally Posted by AMD FANZ
How can u determine rather it has NF2 Ultra 400 chipset or not?
Take the fan off the northbridge and looka t the chip
__________________
Asus Rampage II Gene - Intel i7 920 D0 - 6 x 2gb Patriot Viper 1600 DDR3 - Nvidia 285 GTX - OCZ Modstream 600W - 1 x samsung 1tb SATA HDD's - 2 x Pioneer 216D SATA DVD-RW - Antec P180 Mini
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 10th August, 2003, 01:48 PM
Soul99's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: UK Portsmouth
Posts: 306
Send a message via ICQ to Soul99

To tell the two apart.

The old N-force 2 chipset core had a large round silver/chrome bit in the middle, the new 400 core is just a larger black square.
__________________
XP 2500 @ 2400mhz 1.76v Idle -5c, Load 9 c | Abit NF7-s V2.0 @ 218 FSB
Adata PC3200 2 x 512meg @ 218 mhz | R9700 Pro @ 415Mhz core, 355Mhz mem
Cooling is custom built TEC /Water/ Freon setup | Vapo Mk1 performance est.
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 10th August, 2003, 03:18 PM
bradmax57's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: La Toon
Posts: 3,784

Quote:
Originally Posted by Soul99
To tell the two apart.

The old N-force 2 chipset core had a large round silver/chrome bit in the middle, the new 400 core is just a larger black square.
One of mine has Ultra actually on the chip the other one doesnt
__________________
Asus Rampage II Gene - Intel i7 920 D0 - 6 x 2gb Patriot Viper 1600 DDR3 - Nvidia 285 GTX - OCZ Modstream 600W - 1 x samsung 1tb SATA HDD's - 2 x Pioneer 216D SATA DVD-RW - Antec P180 Mini
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 10th August, 2003, 05:47 PM
bradmax57's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: La Toon
Posts: 3,784

Running sweet at 2.4ghz!
Attached Thumbnails
Do all rev 2.0 Abit Nf7s have ultra 400 chip-2.4ghz.jpg  
__________________
Asus Rampage II Gene - Intel i7 920 D0 - 6 x 2gb Patriot Viper 1600 DDR3 - Nvidia 285 GTX - OCZ Modstream 600W - 1 x samsung 1tb SATA HDD's - 2 x Pioneer 216D SATA DVD-RW - Antec P180 Mini
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 10th August, 2003, 11:57 PM
Lazgoat's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,868

What board is that in bradmax57? Abit or Epox? What was your RMA turnaround like? Its good to know for future reference
__________________
DFI SLi-D, Opteron 144 @ 2.8Ghz, 4x512MB PDP XBLK, 160GB WD Caviar SE, Benq 1620DW DVD-RW, X1800XT 256MB,Custom WC.


AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 11th August, 2003, 12:43 AM
Member
 
Join Date: March 2003
Posts: 120

all rev 2 are meant to be 200fsb compatable. the only 200fsb nf2 chip is the ultra....so yes they should all be the newer crush chip.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 11th August, 2003, 07:04 AM
whatever's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: moon
Posts: 1,132

Quote:
Originally Posted by Soul99
To tell the two apart.

The old N-force 2 chipset core had a large round silver/chrome bit in the middle, the new 400 core is just a larger black square.
that is correct. Nforce2 A2 and A3 NorthBridge steppings have round silver/chrome core shown in the middle.

the Ultra nforce2 ddr400 Northbridge, like you have said, has just plain blck square shown. The stepping is A1.

That's how you segregate the difference between rev1.0, 1.1, 1.2, and 2.0 boards.
__________________
sig
HTPC
Conroe E6600 + stock cooler @ 3.2ghz
ATi X1950XTX 512 CrossFire
Triple WD Raptor 10k HDDs@ raid 0
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PHD7UY
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PH9UK
BetterCable SilverSerpent SVGA & DVI-D
Sony BWU-100A Blu-Ray PC Drive

p4 - superPi - 31 sec.
pM - superPi - 28 sec.
conroe - superPi - 14 sec.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 11th August, 2003, 08:31 AM
bradmax57's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: La Toon
Posts: 3,784

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lazgoat
What board is that in bradmax57? Abit or Epox? What was your RMA turnaround like? Its good to know for future reference
Abit, not sure about RMA as I had to go and buy a board elsewhere, the place Ive rma'd to has a policy only to refund and not to replace, so hopefully I wont end up with two boards!!
__________________
Asus Rampage II Gene - Intel i7 920 D0 - 6 x 2gb Patriot Viper 1600 DDR3 - Nvidia 285 GTX - OCZ Modstream 600W - 1 x samsung 1tb SATA HDD's - 2 x Pioneer 216D SATA DVD-RW - Antec P180 Mini
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Desperatly in need of an ABIT NF7-S Bios Chip offie AMD Motherboards & CPUs 3 3rd June, 2006 11:38 AM
ABIT AN8 Ultra POST code 0.4. mobius_13 AMD Motherboards & CPUs 5 12th November, 2005 08:03 PM
New ABit NF7s Bios v2.x only? bradmax57 AMD Motherboards & CPUs 11 26th October, 2003 02:04 AM
8K3A bios chip flashable to 8RDA+ chip? Garrett EPoX MotherBoards 1 16th June, 2003 09:42 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:20 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0