AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 27th December, 2001, 05:40 PM
FerrariF50's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 505
Send a message via ICQ to FerrariF50 Send a message via AIM to FerrariF50 Send a message via Yahoo to FerrariF50

Unhappy My Agp slot :(

Hey I was looking at the Soyo Dragon over at newegg.com and I saw something.... How come the Agp slot is long then on the Soyo SY-K7VTA Pro mobo I just got?


The Soyo Dragon:

http://65.119.30.151/productimage/13-139-104-02.JPG
__________________
The arrow icon symbolizes the AMD principle of growth in the right direction.

------------------------------------------------
:My System:

Amd 1.1Ghz ThunderBird

128Mb Ram
Windows Xp Pro
16.6 Gig Ibm drive
5.6Gig Maxtor drive
Hitachi Gd-2500 dvd-rom drive
Sony CRX-140E Cd Writer
TDK 52/24/48 Cd Writer
Ibm/Sony G94 Monitor 19"
Yamaha YST-MS201 speakers
Intel PII450Mhz <-------Server computer
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 27th December, 2001, 05:45 PM
FerrariF50's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 505
Send a message via ICQ to FerrariF50 Send a message via AIM to FerrariF50 Send a message via Yahoo to FerrariF50

My Soyo mobo:
Attached Thumbnails
My Agp slot :(-soyopro.jpg  
__________________
The arrow icon symbolizes the AMD principle of growth in the right direction.

------------------------------------------------
:My System:

Amd 1.1Ghz ThunderBird

128Mb Ram
Windows Xp Pro
16.6 Gig Ibm drive
5.6Gig Maxtor drive
Hitachi Gd-2500 dvd-rom drive
Sony CRX-140E Cd Writer
TDK 52/24/48 Cd Writer
Ibm/Sony G94 Monitor 19"
Yamaha YST-MS201 speakers
Intel PII450Mhz <-------Server computer
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 27th December, 2001, 05:54 PM
Allan's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 7,914

My AGP slot is 'small' as well... its on an Abit BE6-II.

It says about the Dragon on the soyo webpage:
"One Universal AGP Pro slot (support 1x/2x/4x mode)"
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 27th December, 2001, 06:00 PM
FerrariF50's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 505
Send a message via ICQ to FerrariF50 Send a message via AIM to FerrariF50 Send a message via Yahoo to FerrariF50

yeah...And also looking at the front of the box it says it supports 1x 2x 4x Agp mode....So whats the deal here with the longer slot?
__________________
The arrow icon symbolizes the AMD principle of growth in the right direction.

------------------------------------------------
:My System:

Amd 1.1Ghz ThunderBird

128Mb Ram
Windows Xp Pro
16.6 Gig Ibm drive
5.6Gig Maxtor drive
Hitachi Gd-2500 dvd-rom drive
Sony CRX-140E Cd Writer
TDK 52/24/48 Cd Writer
Ibm/Sony G94 Monitor 19"
Yamaha YST-MS201 speakers
Intel PII450Mhz <-------Server computer
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 27th December, 2001, 06:05 PM
Allan's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 7,914

Umm... I'm not sure. Look closely at the picture, some of the part that is longer has something white stuck in it, what is that?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 27th December, 2001, 06:10 PM
FerrariF50's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 505
Send a message via ICQ to FerrariF50 Send a message via AIM to FerrariF50 Send a message via Yahoo to FerrariF50

I dunno what that is.....But it's still longer....And it has that "Pci slot" look to it it has that Devider and mine has no devider at all.....


*Edit*

So on our "Short" Agp slot's when you put in the Video card does that Tab thing on the Video card slide on the outside of the Agp slot or what?

http://www.howstuffworks.com/gif/graphics-card.jpg
__________________
The arrow icon symbolizes the AMD principle of growth in the right direction.

------------------------------------------------
:My System:

Amd 1.1Ghz ThunderBird

128Mb Ram
Windows Xp Pro
16.6 Gig Ibm drive
5.6Gig Maxtor drive
Hitachi Gd-2500 dvd-rom drive
Sony CRX-140E Cd Writer
TDK 52/24/48 Cd Writer
Ibm/Sony G94 Monitor 19"
Yamaha YST-MS201 speakers
Intel PII450Mhz <-------Server computer

Last edited by FerrariF50; 27th December, 2001 at 06:15 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 27th December, 2001, 06:20 PM
Allan's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 7,914

Quote:
Originally posted by FerrariF50
I dunno what that is.....But it's still longer....And it has that "Pci slot" look to it it has that Devider and mine has no devider at all.....

So on our "Short" Agp slot's when you put in the Video card does that Tab thing on the Video card slide on the outside of the Agp slot or what?
Yes, it goes outside the slot on mine.

What divider are you talking about??
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 27th December, 2001, 06:23 PM
FerrariF50's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 505
Send a message via ICQ to FerrariF50 Send a message via AIM to FerrariF50 Send a message via Yahoo to FerrariF50

Quote:
Originally posted by Allan


Yes, it goes outside the slot on mine.

What divider are you talking about??

look on my image of my mobo and look at the white Pci slot...thats the divider i'm talking about...
__________________
The arrow icon symbolizes the AMD principle of growth in the right direction.

------------------------------------------------
:My System:

Amd 1.1Ghz ThunderBird

128Mb Ram
Windows Xp Pro
16.6 Gig Ibm drive
5.6Gig Maxtor drive
Hitachi Gd-2500 dvd-rom drive
Sony CRX-140E Cd Writer
TDK 52/24/48 Cd Writer
Ibm/Sony G94 Monitor 19"
Yamaha YST-MS201 speakers
Intel PII450Mhz <-------Server computer
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 27th December, 2001, 06:25 PM
Allan's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 7,914

Oh yeah. Perhaps the small part right of the divider is just for the video card 'tab'?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 27th December, 2001, 06:29 PM
FerrariF50's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 505
Send a message via ICQ to FerrariF50 Send a message via AIM to FerrariF50 Send a message via Yahoo to FerrariF50

Must be then... well then I guess everything is normal.. thanks
__________________
The arrow icon symbolizes the AMD principle of growth in the right direction.

------------------------------------------------
:My System:

Amd 1.1Ghz ThunderBird

128Mb Ram
Windows Xp Pro
16.6 Gig Ibm drive
5.6Gig Maxtor drive
Hitachi Gd-2500 dvd-rom drive
Sony CRX-140E Cd Writer
TDK 52/24/48 Cd Writer
Ibm/Sony G94 Monitor 19"
Yamaha YST-MS201 speakers
Intel PII450Mhz <-------Server computer
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 27th December, 2001, 06:31 PM
Allan's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 7,914

I must admit I haven't seen an AGP slot like that before, but I am certain it will still work with your current video card.

Perhaps someone can enlighten us here?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 27th December, 2001, 06:36 PM
FerrariF50's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 505
Send a message via ICQ to FerrariF50 Send a message via AIM to FerrariF50 Send a message via Yahoo to FerrariF50

Well i'm useing my Ati Radeon Pci card now....I don't have any money right now to go and buy a Agp card...As this board set me back about $136.....




crap...I had a Maxrox video card..It was a add-on that I ordered back in 1999...If I can find it I will see how it fits.... "Crosses-fingers"
__________________
The arrow icon symbolizes the AMD principle of growth in the right direction.

------------------------------------------------
:My System:

Amd 1.1Ghz ThunderBird

128Mb Ram
Windows Xp Pro
16.6 Gig Ibm drive
5.6Gig Maxtor drive
Hitachi Gd-2500 dvd-rom drive
Sony CRX-140E Cd Writer
TDK 52/24/48 Cd Writer
Ibm/Sony G94 Monitor 19"
Yamaha YST-MS201 speakers
Intel PII450Mhz <-------Server computer
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 27th December, 2001, 10:05 PM
LutaWicasa's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 508

That is the AGP Pro slot. It has to do with power issues. There are some high-end graphics cards that will pull upwards of 50Watts of power. These would be for extreme professional apps, such as high-end CAD's and other heavy 3D modeling GL intensive grahics progs. Some of these cards can cost upwards of $2400 or more.
The Elsa III Gloria was a low-end example of this type of card, although I don't believe it used the extra part of the AGP Pro slot.
More informed info can be had Here
__________________
My heroes have always killed cowboys.
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 27th December, 2001, 11:24 PM
FerrariF50's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 505
Send a message via ICQ to FerrariF50 Send a message via AIM to FerrariF50 Send a message via Yahoo to FerrariF50

Well The Agp pro slots allmost look the way as those useless Cmr and Amr slots....
__________________
The arrow icon symbolizes the AMD principle of growth in the right direction.

------------------------------------------------
:My System:

Amd 1.1Ghz ThunderBird

128Mb Ram
Windows Xp Pro
16.6 Gig Ibm drive
5.6Gig Maxtor drive
Hitachi Gd-2500 dvd-rom drive
Sony CRX-140E Cd Writer
TDK 52/24/48 Cd Writer
Ibm/Sony G94 Monitor 19"
Yamaha YST-MS201 speakers
Intel PII450Mhz <-------Server computer
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 28th December, 2001, 06:21 AM
William's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Birmingham, AL
Posts: 371
Send a message via ICQ to William Send a message via AIM to William

they are useless unless you have a high end graphics card that needs the extra power. Nothing for even the enthusiast to worry about. Any agp card will work fine in the AGP pro slot.
__________________





Allied Sites Support Team - Content/Design (director)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 29th December, 2001, 01:53 PM
EPoX Tech's Avatar
EPoX Tech
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Seems not to matter
Posts: 4,720

Quote:
Originally posted by William
they are useless unless you have a high end graphics card that needs the extra power. Nothing for even the enthusiast to worry about. Any agp card will work fine in the AGP pro slot.

....Unless on a P4 board where full AGP 2.0 4x specification compliance is necessary.
__________________
If you need EPoX BIOS eeproms in the UK, goto http://www.epox.org.....................
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AGP 2X Slot; What Best to Fill It? Aegis Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 3 24th February, 2005 01:06 AM
Slot A AGP GrahamGarside AMD Motherboards & CPUs 8 13th December, 2004 07:22 AM
64-Bit PCI/PCI-X Slot? nerius 64 Bit computing 2 20th November, 2004 01:45 PM
AGP Slot problem! Invalid CRASHED! 6 18th August, 2003 06:12 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:37 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0