AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home

Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 26th August, 2003, 01:53 PM

Building a machine !

Hi I'm new to the AOA, so first of all i'd like to say HELLO .. looks like a great community you guys and gals got going here !

Now i'm a fairly ammature computer geezar, i can fit a HDD, Take a CD Rom drive, but have always kept to the software side ... Now im going to build my own machine to save on costs... I have afew questions

What is this mother board like ? - and are motherboards easy to fit into a case, fairly straight forward ? .. i presume they got instructions how to fit it in the manual ? - never looked into it before !

Epox 8RDA3G SKT A Nforce DDR400 8x AGP SATA ATX Dual Lan/Sound/firewire/USB 2.0 - £80

Will this motherboard already have BIOS on ? .. i've heard that some motherboards don't come with a BIOS on , or is that BS !

My bugjet is £100 on a mobo.. i could spend over like £50 extra. but its gotta be a pretty mental MOBO !

Next, hopeing that the CPU is ok with this MOBO !
I'm looking at a:

AMD ATHLON XP2700+ 333MHz FSB Boxed Inc Heatsink & Fan with 3year Warranty for £104 ...

Is this nice to overclock and use ... ?

Hope people can give me some advice, as this is my first ever machine i'm building !

Cheerz people
Matthew
UK, Cornwall
Old 26th August, 2003, 02:09 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by mattdoe
Hi I'm new to the AOA, so first of all i'd like to say HELLO .. looks like a great community you guys and gals got going here !

Now i'm a fairly ammature computer geezar, i can fit a HDD, Take a CD Rom drive, but have always kept to the software side ... Now im going to build my own machine to save on costs... I have afew questions