AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 26th August, 2003, 05:56 PM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2003
Posts: 15

Wierd Power on Problem

I'll try and keep this as simple as I can..

I have an Enermax Case/PS.. 8RDA+ and I'm wondering if the PS has some sort of reset delay or what. When ever the PC is unpluged, or the power supply is turned off, the only way to get the PC to boot is to pull the ATX connector off the MB and replace it,or at least jiggle it a bit until the connection is made .... very strange.

Any ideas are greatly appreciated.

Tooler
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 26th August, 2003, 08:34 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

Try VERY slightly bending the on board connector for a tighter fit? Also make sure the wire is fully inserted in to the case to MB contention.
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 26th August, 2003, 09:24 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

What power supply is in the case? Can you give the model number at all?
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 26th August, 2003, 09:48 PM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2003
Posts: 15

Quote:
Originally Posted by Áedán
What power supply is in the case? Can you give the model number at all?
I've tried it with the Enermax that came with the case(not sure of the model #), and also with a new Antec 400w ... same thing. Funny thing is that once it boots up, I can shutdown 500 times, and it will always reboot.. come back in a day,a week,whatever,and it's fine....it's only when the PS is turned off, or the unit is unplugged. ???

Daniel... I've tried what you suggested, no luck.. as a matter of fact the power doesn't grab until I'm actualy pulling the connector away
from the MB...the lights,and fans will activate for a split second, then go off, then I can hit the power button, and it goes...


Thanks Guys... Tooler
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 26th August, 2003, 09:53 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

When you just turn the PC off,the PSU continues providing standby power to the motherboard. This allows things like keyboard power on, wake on lan etc to work!

When you unplug the PSU, this standby power ceases. It almost sounds like the PSU can't supply enough standby power to charge up the parts on the board, which is strange for two PSUs.
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 27th August, 2003, 04:21 AM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2003
Posts: 15

Quote:
Originally Posted by Áedán
When you just turn the PC off,the PSU continues providing standby power to the motherboard. This allows things like keyboard power on, wake on lan etc to work!

When you unplug the PSU, this standby power ceases. It almost sounds like the PSU can't supply enough standby power to charge up the parts on the board, which is strange for two PSUs.
OK I think it's solved.. but I wish someone would tell me when this started : I hold the power button in for 5 seconds...release...then re-hit the power button, and it's up.... works every time????

I have been running PC's since '83,and I have never seen a PSU/MB/Case do this...or am I just a dolt?..

Maybe skip that last ?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 27th August, 2003, 05:06 AM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Posts: 19

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tooler
OK I think it's solved.. but I wish someone would tell me when this started : I hold the power button in for 5 seconds...release...then re-hit the power button, and it's up.... works every time????

I have been running PC's since '83,and I have never seen a PSU/MB/Case do this...or am I just a dolt?..

Maybe skip that last ?
I have the same thing happen to me
__________________
*1700+ JIUHB @ 2000 (200 FSB)
*Epox 8RDA+ MB v1.1 A3 (VDD Mod 1.87V)
*512MB Corsair PC3200 RAM (2x256)
*Radeon 8500LE 230/230 (Hacked to 9100 275/275)
*46GB Maxtor HD
*LiteON 16XDVD and 48XCD-RW@52X
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 27th August, 2003, 07:29 AM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

It "seems" to have somehow gotten this backward with the 5 second hold for shut down, any chance you've gotten a crossed a wire?
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 27th August, 2003, 07:58 AM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~
any chance you've gotten a crossed a wire?
Nah, the power switch is not polarity sensitive, so it'll work just as well connected either way around!

-----

On an aside, can you take a picture of the connections for the front panel LEDs/switches? I can't promise it'll be of any use, but it seems very strange that some people have this issue and others don't. It'd be nice to know why this happens. It'd be even better if we (AOA) could figure out why it happens.
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 27th August, 2003, 08:51 AM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

Well scratch that one! ":O}
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 28th August, 2003, 04:55 AM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2003
Posts: 15

Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~
Well scratch that one! ":O}

Just weird ... anyway, thanks for the help guys.

You really can teach an old dog new tricks
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 28th August, 2003, 04:59 AM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

We old dogs have to pack together! ":O}
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wierd laptop problem. alexkerhead Mobile Devices and Networking 7 22nd June, 2005 04:04 AM
Wierd Wireless Problem fantomfreq Mobile Devices and Networking 11 12th May, 2005 02:33 AM
Wierd Gaming Problem stormlifter 64 Bit computing 13 24th February, 2005 10:45 AM
Wierd problem with 8RDA @200FSB Ian AMD Motherboards & CPUs 7 9th August, 2003 08:27 PM
wierd 2600+ problem dafadau EPoX MotherBoards 12 24th March, 2003 03:15 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:53 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0