AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 30th August, 2003, 09:41 PM
Member
 
Join Date: August 2003
Posts: 27

Cpu Burn-in

How long does it take for a new cpu to be burn-in and ready to overclock??? I have a 1700xp Dlt3c 0310xpmw for about 3 months now and its doing just fine at 12x200fsb at 1.8vcore. My cuz just build an exact same pc, same mobo, cpu-same exact stepping, ram, 3d card and he's having problems running 12x200fsb??????? Windows just wont boot, but its rock stable at 11x200 with 1.65vcore.......2.2ghz was also my setup for almost 3 months and i just went 12x200fsb and its stable......So , is this burn-in problem my cuz is facing????????
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 30th August, 2003, 11:02 PM
funnyperson1's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Location: Blacksburg, VA aka Vtech
Posts: 592
Send a message via AIM to funnyperson1

Your cousin probably just doesnt have a chip as good as yours. 2.4ghz is in no way guaranteed from a dlt3c.
__________________
Biostar TForce550
A64 X2 3600+ (65nm)@2.9 (1.4V)
TR Ultra 90
2GB Crucial Ballistix 6400@ DDR2 1000 C5
Geforce 7900GS
2x160gig hdd with WinXP, Vista, and Ubuntu
member of FOLDING@HOME team 32
Latitude D620 with XP, Ubuntu Gutsy Gibbon
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 31st August, 2003, 12:29 AM
mental's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2003
Location: Phila Pa
Posts: 116
Send a message via MSN to mental

From what i know cpus dont burn in i always just pop it in an crank it up if any one thinks theres a burn in time please explane it ill listen.Ive never got one run higer after running prime after 12 hours or keeping my system booted 24 /7 So is this a mith or fact does any one know?Thanks....................><><><><><><><><><" :":":":":":}{}}{+_+_+_
__________________
Abit nf7 2.0 rev205x11.5@2362mgz1.74 vcore Bios 18
XP 1700+ TBred-B Core DLT3C JIUHB 0319 500wattPSU
%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%
ASUS p4c800 283FSB p4 2.4 @ 3.4gighz 1.65vcore
2x512 OCZ 4000 2.5/4/4/7 2.85 volts 4/5 ratio

Last edited by mental; 31st August, 2003 at 12:37 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 31st August, 2003, 04:41 AM
funnyperson1's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Location: Blacksburg, VA aka Vtech
Posts: 592
Send a message via AIM to funnyperson1

Burn in time is one of the most debated things in overclocking. Some people will tell you its an old wives tale, some will swear by it. No one really knows the truth. I personally start pushing my chip when I get it.
__________________
Biostar TForce550
A64 X2 3600+ (65nm)@2.9 (1.4V)
TR Ultra 90
2GB Crucial Ballistix 6400@ DDR2 1000 C5
Geforce 7900GS
2x160gig hdd with WinXP, Vista, and Ubuntu
member of FOLDING@HOME team 32
Latitude D620 with XP, Ubuntu Gutsy Gibbon
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 31st August, 2003, 05:40 AM
timbob2469's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: Pa. USA
Posts: 805

There are no moving parts to break or burn in on a cpu or memory, but, it seems to help.
On the other hand, I went from a board that would barely let me go 5% higher with a t-bird 1.4 GHz in Dec.2002 to 8RDA+ . I have bought new: 3 pairs of ram modules, 3 cpu's , 4 psu's, 2 video cards, went from stereo to 5.1 surround sound, ps/2 to USB to USB wireless/deskless kb and mouse, kvm switch, cdrw to dvd w/rw, 17" crt to 17" lcd...................My wallet is so broken in I just flick it open in the direction of the order form and the correct card flies out. I'm having fun though. I told my wife, "just be glad I don't collect cars."
Bob
__________________
EP-8RDA+ v1.0 3827 bios
XP1700+ JIUHB 175 x 12.5=2187MHz. 1.75v
2 x 512MB Crucial pc3200 10, 2, 2, 2.0
THERMALRIGHT SLK900u 92mm Zalman fan, Enlight 420 watt, AIW 9000 Pro 64mb DDR agp4x, voltage mod 1.85v
Home made NB cooler
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 31st August, 2003, 07:39 AM
Member
 
Join Date: August 2003
Posts: 27

Thanks guys, one more question? What is the max safe vcore u can run a cpu???????? I have excellent air cooling........2 x120m side fans pushing 250cfm combined case temp is always around 20c.........tx again.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 31st August, 2003, 12:06 PM
Neoprene's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Location: Glasgow UK
Posts: 261

Quote:
Originally Posted by Amd369
Thanks guys, one more question? What is the max safe vcore u can run a cpu???????? I have excellent air cooling........2 x120m side fans pushing 250cfm combined case temp is always around 20c.........tx again.
Hi ,

General thought seems to be about 1.9v with decent aircooling , anything more and u should be looking at watercooling or Peltier.
__________________
Abit NF-7S Ver 2.0 Bios 23 , Barton2600 xp-m @2.60ghz(FSB 200@13.0x ) 1.95 VCore ,Asetek KT03 kit , 1GB Winbond PC3200 CAS 2.0, Nvidia FX5900 Ultra @478/908 ,2x80gb Seagate Barracuda V SATA RAID 0 ,Creative Audigy 2,Sandra PR3528,3Dmark v3.04 6106.WinXP Pro Sp1 5.1.2600. Prime95 stable.

New sys AMD SD3700 , 1GB OCZ 4200 Plat Ver 2.0 , DFI Nforce4 SLI-DR, MSI 6800GT, OCZ Modstream 520W , Audigy 2 ZS, all going to be frosted in a Mach2 GT Prommy :-)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 31st August, 2003, 02:38 PM
Member
 
Join Date: August 2003
Posts: 2

how high do u think i can rasie my vCore with my air cooling... 2 125.5cfm fans on side, directly over cpu and vid card, 1 125.5cfm intake in front, 1 55cfm exhaust in back, and another 125cfm on the top of my case directly over the cpu as an exuasht. slk900a and thermaltake cpu fan
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 31st August, 2003, 02:43 PM
funnyperson1's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Location: Blacksburg, VA aka Vtech
Posts: 592
Send a message via AIM to funnyperson1

You can probably go up to 1.9 maybe even 2 if your temp stays below 55C.
__________________
Biostar TForce550
A64 X2 3600+ (65nm)@2.9 (1.4V)
TR Ultra 90
2GB Crucial Ballistix 6400@ DDR2 1000 C5
Geforce 7900GS
2x160gig hdd with WinXP, Vista, and Ubuntu
member of FOLDING@HOME team 32
Latitude D620 with XP, Ubuntu Gutsy Gibbon
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 31st August, 2003, 03:07 PM
Member
 
Join Date: August 2003
Posts: 2

55c idle or full load? right now i idle at 34c at 2.4gigs 1.8v , the max it ever went on full load was 40.5c when i had battlefiel, ut2k3, 3dmark looping, and prime running.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 1st September, 2003, 03:15 AM
funnyperson1's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Location: Blacksburg, VA aka Vtech
Posts: 592
Send a message via AIM to funnyperson1

55C load. thats a good temp you got there.
__________________
Biostar TForce550
A64 X2 3600+ (65nm)@2.9 (1.4V)
TR Ultra 90
2GB Crucial Ballistix 6400@ DDR2 1000 C5
Geforce 7900GS
2x160gig hdd with WinXP, Vista, and Ubuntu
member of FOLDING@HOME team 32
Latitude D620 with XP, Ubuntu Gutsy Gibbon
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cant Burn Cds RussianMissile1 CRASHED! 14 22nd September, 2004 03:31 PM
DVD Burn Failure bigjohnson CRASHED! 5 12th December, 2003 12:47 PM
What methods do you all use for CPU Burn-in? DragonFlight AMD Motherboards & CPUs 11 27th June, 2003 09:02 AM
Burn In Testing RamaLamaDingDong EPoX MotherBoards 1 3rd February, 2002 12:14 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:38 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0