AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 1st September, 2003, 09:47 PM
Member
 
Join Date: June 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 62

STRANGE problem

OK.

I run Windows 2000

After playing a long session of Diablo 2 Lord Of Destruction online, I quit out and decide to shutdown my PC.

On selecting the shutdown option and clicking OK, it goes to do the usual shutdown procedure, then the screen goes blank and restarts. It ONLY does this after a long online game.

What could the problem be?

Also, on Windows XP (when i used to use it) I would sometimes get random restarts when I 'believe' Windows used too much memory.

Also after rebooting, my system is v.sluggish. This has happened 3 times in the last couple of days (seeing as I've been playing the game alot) I haven't tested any other game for a long period (2hours+) yet. I might try Yuris Revenge soon to see if its just this game.

Could it be my PSU? Or am I simply running out of RAM and Windows is pulling the plug? (This never used to happen either when I used Windows ME)

I've got 384mb of PC2100 RAM btw.

THanks people.
__________________
"The things you own, end up owning you" - Tyler Durden
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 1st September, 2003, 10:37 PM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

What kinda video card do you have? Could be system is starting to overheat.
Rob
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 1st September, 2003, 10:53 PM
Member
 
Join Date: June 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 62

only a MSI GF4MX440
__________________
"The things you own, end up owning you" - Tyler Durden
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 1st September, 2003, 10:57 PM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

Case temps on idle and case temps after game play?!?!?
Rob
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 1st September, 2003, 11:03 PM
Member
 
Join Date: June 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 62

Quote:
Originally Posted by robbie
Case temps on idle and case temps after game play?!?!?
Rob
29idle case temps, as for after gaming. I'll re-test tommorow.
__________________
"The things you own, end up owning you" - Tyler Durden
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 1st September, 2003, 11:05 PM
Member
 
Join Date: June 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 62

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Running Man
29idle case temps, as for after gaming. I'll re-test tommorow.
tho my case is a Antec Plusview w/ 2 fans (1 intake, 1 rear) and i've got the side panel off.
__________________
"The things you own, end up owning you" - Tyler Durden
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 2nd September, 2003, 02:53 AM
timbob2469's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: Pa. USA
Posts: 805

Patch it?
http://www.fileshack.com/file.x?fid=857
Bob
__________________
EP-8RDA+ v1.0 3827 bios
XP1700+ JIUHB 175 x 12.5=2187MHz. 1.75v
2 x 512MB Crucial pc3200 10, 2, 2, 2.0
THERMALRIGHT SLK900u 92mm Zalman fan, Enlight 420 watt, AIW 9000 Pro 64mb DDR agp4x, voltage mod 1.85v
Home made NB cooler
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 3rd September, 2003, 09:14 PM
Member
 
Join Date: June 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 62

Quote:
Originally Posted by timbob2469
already done that of course!

I've checked the BSOD screen, this is what it had to say...

Driver_Irql_Not_Less_Or_Equal, emulok1f.sys

Address BFDS9EC0 base at BFCEE000 Datestam BB30883A

haven't got a clue what it means :-\
__________________
"The things you own, end up owning you" - Tyler Durden
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 3rd September, 2003, 11:20 PM
flytek's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Location: cape of good dope
Posts: 588

do we need to search your posts for a guess at your specs? sounds like you are too overclocked. add vcore and vdimm and try again.
__________________
bench: a64 abit kv8-max3, no cpu, bh-5
server: epox-nf2, 1700+, ddr266, openbsd
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 3rd September, 2003, 11:22 PM
Member
 
Join Date: June 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 62

Quote:
Originally Posted by flytek
do we need to search your posts for a guess at your specs? sounds like you are too overclocked. add vcore and vdimm and try again.
nah m8, I'm not O/C'ed at all. I'm just running a stock 1700+ XP T'Bred chip, 384mb PC2100 RAM, GF4 MX440 in a old Abit KR7A mobo (updating the lot soon)
__________________
"The things you own, end up owning you" - Tyler Durden
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 3rd September, 2003, 11:27 PM
flytek's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Location: cape of good dope
Posts: 588

could be a tired install or tired memory. try swopping memory around one stick at a time in varoius slots?
__________________
bench: a64 abit kv8-max3, no cpu, bh-5
server: epox-nf2, 1700+, ddr266, openbsd
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 5th September, 2003, 01:03 AM
timbob2469's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: Pa. USA
Posts: 805

Running Man, If I google up your error code,Driver_Irql_Not_Less_Or_Equal
Some suggestions are
1. driver conflict, use an older driver for your soundcard.
2. Disable EAX.
3. bad or incompatible ram.
4. install the latest service pack for w2k.
On another note, I was reading that winxp, w2k, are nt based and use memory differently and won't "run out" of memory. See article:
http://www.techweb.com/winmag/column...er/2000/11.htm

I saw this: "Note that NT, 2K, and XP use a totally different method of handling
these user-controlled elements; your "system resources" are really
limited only by your available pool of memory (real and virtual). By and
large, these OSes simply don't "run out of resources" no matter how many
programs you run." from the Langalist.
Bob
__________________
EP-8RDA+ v1.0 3827 bios
XP1700+ JIUHB 175 x 12.5=2187MHz. 1.75v
2 x 512MB Crucial pc3200 10, 2, 2, 2.0
THERMALRIGHT SLK900u 92mm Zalman fan, Enlight 420 watt, AIW 9000 Pro 64mb DDR agp4x, voltage mod 1.85v
Home made NB cooler
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 5th September, 2003, 09:10 AM
Kaitain's Avatar
Member
Mars Rover Champion, Joust Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: MK10, UK.
Posts: 4,372
Send a message via MSN to Kaitain Send a message via Skype™ to Kaitain

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Running Man
emulok1f.sys
This is your sound card driver - I'd guess you're running a Creative sound card Best get a new driver from them...
__________________
It is by coffee alone I set my mind in motion...
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Very strange problem???? NarkotikBuzz OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 4 28th July, 2006 12:58 AM
New Hdd - Strange problem dod General Hardware Discussion 10 4th November, 2003 07:47 PM
strange problem.. sirtoby EPoX MotherBoards 1 1st April, 2003 05:49 PM
Strange HDD Problem! Muta General Hardware Discussion 13 11th October, 2002 02:11 PM
Strange problem Random Nonsense General Hardware Discussion 5 7th September, 2002 12:05 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:58 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0