AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 23rd September, 2003, 06:45 AM
captkirk's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: Carol Stream, Il
Posts: 85

USB Problem On NF7-S rev2.0

I hope someone can help me out with a problem I'm having with a NF7-S rev2.0 that I just bought. I have two USB devices, a Lexmark Z45 printer, and a HP 2200C scanner. The problem is that after plugging these two devices into the USB ports on the motherboard, the computer won't recognise them, I'm using XP Pro with SP1 installed. I've tried all day, doing everything I can think of, to try and get these two devices working and nothing has worked. A couple of hours ago, all of a sudden, the computer found the scanner and I installed the device, then 40 minutes later the scanner disappeared from the Device Manager in my Hardware settings and also from the first screen after you click on the "My Computer" icon. Can anyone help me out with a solution. I also had some problems with the Bios when I first booted up the computer, the m-board wouldn't recognise my AMD 2700+. I replaced an 8RDA+ by the way. Do you think this NF7-S is just defective and I should RMA it.


captkirk
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 23rd September, 2003, 09:39 AM
Allan's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 7,914

Try installing some other nForce2 drivers, I've had a similar problem and that helped.

It MAY be that your USB ports are defective, but I doubt that is the case. It is more likely a software problem of a sort.

Try plugging in one device at a time, see if they will work seperately.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 24th September, 2003, 05:42 AM
captkirk's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: Carol Stream, Il
Posts: 85

Thanks for the reply, Allen. I have tried plugging in the devices one at a time, the computer will pick up the scanner, but then in a little while, it disappears again.

I have installed the Nvidia Unified Driver 2.0 package, what other Nvidia Nforce2 drivers are there?



captkirk
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 24th September, 2003, 08:16 AM
Lazgoat's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,868

Just a thought, have you tried using a combination of USB ports? ie The scanner in the main USB header and the printer in the USB bracket?

Laz.
__________________
DFI SLi-D, Opteron 144 @ 2.8Ghz, 4x512MB PDP XBLK, 160GB WD Caviar SE, Benq 1620DW DVD-RW, X1800XT 256MB,Custom WC.


AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 24th September, 2003, 05:37 PM
Soul99's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: UK Portsmouth
Posts: 306
Send a message via ICQ to Soul99

Installation Notes

Windows XP users must install Service Pack 1 prior to attempting to install this package. Failure to do so will result in the inability to support USB 2.0.


this is on the driver downlaod page on nvidia's web site, did you do this?
__________________
XP 2500 @ 2400mhz 1.76v Idle -5c, Load 9 c | Abit NF7-s V2.0 @ 218 FSB
Adata PC3200 2 x 512meg @ 218 mhz | R9700 Pro @ 415Mhz core, 355Mhz mem
Cooling is custom built TEC /Water/ Freon setup | Vapo Mk1 performance est.
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 27th September, 2003, 03:46 AM
captkirk's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: Carol Stream, Il
Posts: 85

The XP Pro installation disk that I have, comes with the SP 1 included on it. So when I did a clean install of XP Pro on my computer, the SP 1 was also installed. I still can't get my USB working.


captkirk
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 30th September, 2003, 11:34 AM
Kameleon's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2003
Posts: 44

There's a note in the NF7-S manual that asks you to install the USB2 drivers included on the CD...
__________________
AMD Athlon XP 2400+ @ 2400MHz (12*200) w/ Zalman CNPS7000A-Cu HSF || Epox 8RDA+ || 512MB Corsair PC2700LL @ 402MHz DDR, CL2-2-2-11 || 2*120GB WD1200JB || ATI Radeon 9800 Pro @ 450/740 || Lian-Li PC65 w/ 4*80mm fans and top 120mm blowhole, all on a Vantec Nexus rheobus || Windows 2000 forever.

Sleep is for n00bs, and people with too much blood in their caffeine.

"It's not a window. It's a maintenance viewing portal"
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem: 2Χ512 dims on 8rda3+Rev2.1 radiologos EPoX MotherBoards 6 25th June, 2005 05:35 PM
8rda+ rev2 SPDIF out problem still exist? j13 EPoX MotherBoards 19 29th September, 2003 08:47 AM
8kha+ rev2 IDE Problem werty EPoX MotherBoards 1 21st September, 2003 01:11 AM
Abit NF7-s rev2.0 + Barton problem JiMk AMD Motherboards & CPUs 5 12th September, 2003 10:29 PM
NF7-S Rev2 + Sata raid & TV Card problem Mickey Padge AMD Motherboards & CPUs 2 19th June, 2003 04:09 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:31 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0