AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 16th October, 2003, 02:26 PM
MercutioUK's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Sheffield, UK
Posts: 170

Question AXDA Stepping on 2500+ Barton

Anyone know much on this stepping? Cant remember if its an old one or if this is a newer stepping coming through.

If its an old one does anyone have experiences with this chip?

Ta,
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 16th October, 2003, 05:15 PM
Neoprene's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Location: Glasgow UK
Posts: 261

stepping..

Quote:
Originally Posted by MercutioUK
Anyone know much on this stepping? Cant remember if its an old one or if this is a newer stepping coming through.

If its an old one does anyone have experiences with this chip?

Ta,
Hi,

This is the first part of the stepping code or OPN ..can u give us the rest ? I`ve heard there is a new issue beyond the AQXEA that many of us have , but I havent heard any reports on it`s OC ability yet.
__________________
Abit NF-7S Ver 2.0 Bios 23 , Barton2600 xp-m @2.60ghz(FSB 200@13.0x ) 1.95 VCore ,Asetek KT03 kit , 1GB Winbond PC3200 CAS 2.0, Nvidia FX5900 Ultra @478/908 ,2x80gb Seagate Barracuda V SATA RAID 0 ,Creative Audigy 2,Sandra PR3528,3Dmark v3.04 6106.WinXP Pro Sp1 5.1.2600. Prime95 stable.

New sys AMD SD3700 , 1GB OCZ 4200 Plat Ver 2.0 , DFI Nforce4 SLI-DR, MSI 6800GT, OCZ Modstream 520W , Audigy 2 ZS, all going to be frosted in a Mach2 GT Prommy :-)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 16th October, 2003, 09:55 PM
MercutioUK's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Sheffield, UK
Posts: 170

Quote:
Originally Posted by Neoprene
Hi,

This is the first part of the stepping code or OPN ..can u give us the rest ? I`ve heard there is a new issue beyond the AQXEA that many of us have , but I havent heard any reports on it`s OC ability yet.


Hmmm.. well all ive got is this: AXDA2500DKV4D I guess by that they missed the important bit and got the package setup and the extra info?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 16th October, 2003, 10:47 PM
Neoprene's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Location: Glasgow UK
Posts: 261

stepping..pt 2

This is the first part of the code..we need the rest..lol the vital bit..
__________________
Abit NF-7S Ver 2.0 Bios 23 , Barton2600 xp-m @2.60ghz(FSB 200@13.0x ) 1.95 VCore ,Asetek KT03 kit , 1GB Winbond PC3200 CAS 2.0, Nvidia FX5900 Ultra @478/908 ,2x80gb Seagate Barracuda V SATA RAID 0 ,Creative Audigy 2,Sandra PR3528,3Dmark v3.04 6106.WinXP Pro Sp1 5.1.2600. Prime95 stable.

New sys AMD SD3700 , 1GB OCZ 4200 Plat Ver 2.0 , DFI Nforce4 SLI-DR, MSI 6800GT, OCZ Modstream 520W , Audigy 2 ZS, all going to be frosted in a Mach2 GT Prommy :-)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 16th October, 2003, 11:36 PM
MercutioUK's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Sheffield, UK
Posts: 170

Quote:
Originally Posted by Neoprene
This is the first part of the code..we need the rest..lol the vital bit..
Guess ill have 2 send mail (dont yet have the chip) to ebuyer.com (they in the US now too). Was trying to keep it low key as will be my first "proper" OCing attempt. Asking for the stepping kinda screams my intentions to have a play once I get it

I take it generally tho newer = more potential?

While I have your attention too will a volcano 7+ with AC3 be enough to cool this chip (reasonably well ventilated case) with/without overclocking till I can decide if im taking the water or huge air cooler route?
__________________

Last edited by MercutioUK; 16th October, 2003 at 11:43 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 17th October, 2003, 12:11 AM
Neoprene's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Location: Glasgow UK
Posts: 261

cooling ..

Hi,

I dont know much about the Volcano 7 but should be sufficient at least at stock speed ..but lol the faster you want the chip to go , the better the heatsink has got to be. What RAM have u got ? and your mobo ? From starting off from scratch on here , I`ve learnt that the sum of overclocking is in each individual component , the mobo being one of the most important features. Watch out tho lol ....looks like u got the OC`ing bug !

__________________
Abit NF-7S Ver 2.0 Bios 23 , Barton2600 xp-m @2.60ghz(FSB 200@13.0x ) 1.95 VCore ,Asetek KT03 kit , 1GB Winbond PC3200 CAS 2.0, Nvidia FX5900 Ultra @478/908 ,2x80gb Seagate Barracuda V SATA RAID 0 ,Creative Audigy 2,Sandra PR3528,3Dmark v3.04 6106.WinXP Pro Sp1 5.1.2600. Prime95 stable.

New sys AMD SD3700 , 1GB OCZ 4200 Plat Ver 2.0 , DFI Nforce4 SLI-DR, MSI 6800GT, OCZ Modstream 520W , Audigy 2 ZS, all going to be frosted in a Mach2 GT Prommy :-)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 17th October, 2003, 01:01 AM
MercutioUK's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Sheffield, UK
Posts: 170

Quote:
Originally Posted by Neoprene
Hi,

I dont know much about the Volcano 7 but should be sufficient at least at stock speed ..but lol the faster you want the chip to go , the better the heatsink has got to be. What RAM have u got ? and your mobo ? From starting off from scratch on here , I`ve learnt that the sum of overclocking is in each individual component , the mobo being one of the most important features. Watch out tho lol ....looks like u got the OC`ing bug !


Heh... possibly
Ill be doing chip and board upgrade for a start (NF7-S + the 2500+) already have a pair of corsair 3200 512MB`s (taking me up to a gig) not a matched pair but same spec and from what ive seen the NF7 aint toooo picky. Ive got them on an epox 8K5A at the moment with fairly tight timings (the board rather than the ram seems to be not sooo stable if I go too high)
Once I have that with the volcano short term ill be looking at water cooling. Once i have a newer job mid next year (or if I get my Christmas bonus) I might even go stupid and get a vapochill.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 18th October, 2003, 12:23 PM
MercutioUK's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Sheffield, UK
Posts: 170

Quote:
Originally Posted by MercutioUK
Heh... possibly
Ill be doing chip and board upgrade for a start (NF7-S + the 2500+) already have a pair of corsair 3200 512MB`s (taking me up to a gig) not a matched pair but same spec and from what ive seen the NF7 aint toooo picky. Ive got them on an epox 8K5A at the moment with fairly tight timings (the board rather than the ram seems to be not sooo stable if I go too high)
Once I have that with the volcano short term ill be looking at water cooling. Once i have a newer job mid next year (or if I get my Christmas bonus) I might even go stupid and get a vapochill.
Have now found the AQZFA stepping that another chappy on here got to 3200+ speed while undervolting. I think next week ill be getting this and the NF7-s I been promising myself. Will let you know how I get on.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
R.I.P. Barton 2500+ dabaerman AMD Motherboards & CPUs 31 12th May, 2006 01:35 AM
New Stepping ( for 35W M-2400+ Barton ) serlv AMD Motherboards & CPUs 6 14th June, 2004 02:09 AM
35W, 1.35 V, mobile 2400+ Barton again in stock - wonder what stepping? serlv AMD Motherboards & CPUs 4 10th June, 2004 04:52 PM
barton 2500 stepping jjj240 EPoX MotherBoards 1 15th August, 2003 04:13 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:30 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0