AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home

Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 19th October, 2003, 08:02 PM

Epox 8RDA3+: What a long, strange trip it's been ...

My relationship with the 8RDA3+ began approximately four months ago when I purchased this mobo from Newegg. Since I had been using Epox boards exclusively since 1998--and since I had read rave reviews about its near mystical powers of extracting every once of potential from CPUs and memory sticks--it was only natural for me to make the 8RDA3+ the center of my latest system.
Along with the board, I purchased a 3000+ Barton, three sticks of OCZ rev 2 Performance Series RAM, an Antec 430 W PS and decided to utilize my ATI 8500 All-In-Wonder graphics card and Audigy Platinum sound card (both of which performed faultlessly with a previous Epox-equipped computer).
After the assembly of all of these components, the troubles began (as I have enumerated on several occasions in this and other forums). First, the computer wouldn’t boot up unless I hit the reset button immediately after pushing the power button (if I didn’t hit the reset button within 3 seconds, the computer’s speaker would admit this screaming sound only an ambulance driver could appreciate). Next, I found that I couldn’t install Windows XP unless I lowered the CPU’s FSB to 100 and loaded fail-safe defaults in the BIOS. Still, I had to format the hard drive and reinstall XP about six times before I finally got a workable operating system.