AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 23rd October, 2003, 01:06 AM
whatever's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: moon
Posts: 1,132

xp1700 - 2.82Ghz

2,802mhz

my same ol' xp1700 @ 2802mhz


This is just for overclocking result, not for stress testing. Just good for light applications and screenshots.

if you previously seen my old topic "xp1700@ 2790mhz" few months ago, this is the same system same cpu. The motherboard is Abit NF7-s v2. I was lazy to check out the rest of higher vcores for this waterchilled setup. Water temp at -10C as usual. Same deep freezer.


and no, there is no pelt, no vapo. It's been waterchilled for months.


http://portfolio.iu.edu/skrska/2.8ghz.png
__________________
sig
HTPC
Conroe E6600 + stock cooler @ 3.2ghz
ATi X1950XTX 512 CrossFire
Triple WD Raptor 10k HDDs@ raid 0
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PHD7UY
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PH9UK
BetterCable SilverSerpent SVGA & DVI-D
Sony BWU-100A Blu-Ray PC Drive

p4 - superPi - 31 sec.
pM - superPi - 28 sec.
conroe - superPi - 14 sec.

Last edited by whatever; 23rd October, 2003 at 01:33 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 23rd October, 2003, 01:41 AM
whatever's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: moon
Posts: 1,132

2,819mhz



http://portfolio.iu.edu/skrska/2.82ghz.png
__________________
sig
HTPC
Conroe E6600 + stock cooler @ 3.2ghz
ATi X1950XTX 512 CrossFire
Triple WD Raptor 10k HDDs@ raid 0
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PHD7UY
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PH9UK
BetterCable SilverSerpent SVGA & DVI-D
Sony BWU-100A Blu-Ray PC Drive

p4 - superPi - 31 sec.
pM - superPi - 28 sec.
conroe - superPi - 14 sec.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 23rd October, 2003, 02:56 AM
Staz's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Lafayette LA
Posts: 3,241
Send a message via Yahoo to Staz

WoW

I'm jelous. I was thinking of tossing the water cooler and going with high performance HSF and a quiet 92mm Fan. But this makes me want to invest in a better radiator and slap in that 226w pelt that is sitting in my closet gathering dust.
__________________
How come whenever I have a 50/50 chance I'm wrong 80% of the time?

What goes in a computer? Click me to find out.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 23rd October, 2003, 03:08 AM
whatever's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: moon
Posts: 1,132

Quote:
Originally Posted by Staz
WoW

I'm jelous. I was thinking of tossing the water cooler and going with high performance HSF and a quiet 92mm Fan. But this makes me want to invest in a better radiator and slap in that 226w pelt that is sitting in my closet gathering dust.
Yeah it's nice to see high clock numbers out of a waterchilled setup. I should've done this before. what was i waiting for.. It's cold enough that the cpu agreed to take the high vcore of 2.1+.. and as high as 2.2. As in general the cpus like certain temperatures to take X amount of voltages and tops out, but I've broken that barrier which allows me to get into the higher vcore. Once I get the cpu even colder I should be able to lower the Vcore down a bit and maintain same clocks or higher. In addition if I add a 226watt pelt to this setup, I'm looking at estimated boost of 100~ 150mhz plus or minus. That's the rough estimate. It could also go higher.
__________________
sig
HTPC
Conroe E6600 + stock cooler @ 3.2ghz
ATi X1950XTX 512 CrossFire
Triple WD Raptor 10k HDDs@ raid 0
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PHD7UY
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PH9UK
BetterCable SilverSerpent SVGA & DVI-D
Sony BWU-100A Blu-Ray PC Drive

p4 - superPi - 31 sec.
pM - superPi - 28 sec.
conroe - superPi - 14 sec.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 23rd October, 2003, 04:20 AM
Staz's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Lafayette LA
Posts: 3,241
Send a message via Yahoo to Staz

If you go with a 226w TEC you should look for a MeanWell SP-500-15 PSU. They are rated at 500w @15v and are adjustible +/- 15% voltage through an externally accessible pot. This PSU also has two terminals for on/off so that a simple relay will work it.

I picked mine up on EBay for $50. look under HAM radio equipment. Most people use these to power CB and other electronic devices ment for 13.8v of an auto electrical system.

My 1700+ XPMW won't get past 1.9V. After that adding more voltage doesn't help with the OC, it only adds heat.

So you think if I cool it more it will accept more voltage and go higher???

Also what bios are you running?

Can I update my bios without a FDD or do I have to steal my wifesFDD?

Also what is the cooling on your northbridge? I still have stock cooling and I can't get past 213FSB no matter how much voltage I give the northbridge or RAM, or what I relax my RAM settings to.
__________________
How come whenever I have a 50/50 chance I'm wrong 80% of the time?

What goes in a computer? Click me to find out.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 23rd October, 2003, 04:43 AM
whatever's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: moon
Posts: 1,132

Quote:
Originally Posted by Staz
If you go with a 226w TEC you should look for a MeanWell SP-500-15 PSU. They are rated at 500w @15v and are adjustible +/- 15% voltage through an externally accessible pot. This PSU also has two terminals for on/off so that a simple relay will work it.

I picked mine up on EBay for $50. look under HAM radio equipment. Most people use these to power CB and other electronic devices ment for 13.8v of an auto electrical system.

My 1700+ XPMW won't get past 1.9V. After that adding more voltage doesn't help with the OC, it only adds heat.

So you think if I cool it more it will accept more voltage and go higher???

Also what bios are you running?

Can I update my bios without a FDD or do I have to steal my wifesFDD?

Also what is the cooling on your northbridge? I still have stock cooling and I can't get past 213FSB no matter how much voltage I give the northbridge or RAM, or what I relax my RAM settings to.
I had some other model from the MeanWell in mind if I go for the 226w pelt for the cpu but that model you given me here sounds quite nice. 15vdc @ 32A is impressive. Thanks for the info. I'll look into it.


Yes, your CPU is probably maxed out at 1.9v for your current cooling setup. Yes, without CPU getting cooled extra, adding vcores doesn't necessarily help because the heat is keep generating more. As long as you keep the temperatuer the same or lower the cpu will be able to maintain the clock at higher vcore. You'll need to cool it more. Just adding a powerful fan won't help much. What cooling setup are you at now exactly?

Yeah I'm using BIOS 10. I switch back and forth between BIOS 10 or 14.

yes there are ways to flash the BIOS without using the floppy. You'll have to ask others about doing that because I just go with the floppy route.
__________________
sig
HTPC
Conroe E6600 + stock cooler @ 3.2ghz
ATi X1950XTX 512 CrossFire
Triple WD Raptor 10k HDDs@ raid 0
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PHD7UY
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PH9UK
BetterCable SilverSerpent SVGA & DVI-D
Sony BWU-100A Blu-Ray PC Drive

p4 - superPi - 31 sec.
pM - superPi - 28 sec.
conroe - superPi - 14 sec.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 23rd October, 2003, 05:10 AM
Staz's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Lafayette LA
Posts: 3,241
Send a message via Yahoo to Staz

I've got a DangerDen Maze 3 waterblock, supreme Mag 3 pump (350GPM@ 1'head), and a radiator that is way to big. Rad is 8"x11"x2 3/4" 4 pass 3/8" copper core w/aluminium fins that is just way to flow restictive. I have 4x 92mm fans pushing about 45cfm each.

It gets up to about 50c at full load. I'm thinking that a smaller less restrictive rad with 2x 120 fans would cool better by allowing more flow through the block.
__________________
How come whenever I have a 50/50 chance I'm wrong 80% of the time?

What goes in a computer? Click me to find out.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 23rd October, 2003, 06:56 PM
bradmax57's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: La Toon
Posts: 3,784

Well Done I know youve probably said before but whats the stepping? Have you tried the new 19 bios yet?
__________________
Asus Rampage II Gene - Intel i7 920 D0 - 6 x 2gb Patriot Viper 1600 DDR3 - Nvidia 285 GTX - OCZ Modstream 600W - 1 x samsung 1tb SATA HDD's - 2 x Pioneer 216D SATA DVD-RW - Antec P180 Mini
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 23rd October, 2003, 07:00 PM
bradmax57's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: La Toon
Posts: 3,784

Quote:
Originally Posted by Staz
Can I update my bios without a FDD or do I have to steal my wifesFDD?
Have you tried abits flash menu? Ive used it everytime so far without any probs, make sure your not oc'd when flashing though I found that out the hardway on another board
__________________
Asus Rampage II Gene - Intel i7 920 D0 - 6 x 2gb Patriot Viper 1600 DDR3 - Nvidia 285 GTX - OCZ Modstream 600W - 1 x samsung 1tb SATA HDD's - 2 x Pioneer 216D SATA DVD-RW - Antec P180 Mini
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 23rd October, 2003, 10:24 PM
whatever's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: moon
Posts: 1,132

Quote:
Originally Posted by Staz
I've got a DangerDen Maze 3 waterblock, supreme Mag 3 pump (350GPM@ 1'head), and a radiator that is way to big. Rad is 8"x11"x2 3/4" 4 pass 3/8" copper core w/aluminium fins that is just way to flow restictive. I have 4x 92mm fans pushing about 45cfm each.

It gets up to about 50c at full load. I'm thinking that a smaller less restrictive rad with 2x 120 fans would cool better by allowing more flow through the block.
I see. All the radiators do is to keep the temperature from overheating as we know. Like you've said though water flow restricition you're getting from the rad is also critical. Warm/Lightly warm water + very low flow rate will definitely hurt the cpu cooling. Yes, get the flow up, and having the water as cool as possible is going to be a challenge. I have dual pumps and at minimal flow restriction in my setup.


Oh I forgot to answer your question about the NB cooling. I've been just using standard factory stock NB cooling for the version 2.0 A1 chipset NF7 boards. I used to supercool the NB on version 1.1 and 1.2(A2 & A3 chipsets).
__________________
sig
HTPC
Conroe E6600 + stock cooler @ 3.2ghz
ATi X1950XTX 512 CrossFire
Triple WD Raptor 10k HDDs@ raid 0
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PHD7UY
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PH9UK
BetterCable SilverSerpent SVGA & DVI-D
Sony BWU-100A Blu-Ray PC Drive

p4 - superPi - 31 sec.
pM - superPi - 28 sec.
conroe - superPi - 14 sec.

Last edited by whatever; 23rd October, 2003 at 10:50 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 23rd October, 2003, 10:25 PM
whatever's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: moon
Posts: 1,132

Quote:
Originally Posted by bradmax57
Well Done I know youve probably said before but whats the stepping? Have you tried the new 19 bios yet?
thanks.. the stepping is xp1700 dlt3c XPMW 0310 i bought several months ago.
__________________
sig
HTPC
Conroe E6600 + stock cooler @ 3.2ghz
ATi X1950XTX 512 CrossFire
Triple WD Raptor 10k HDDs@ raid 0
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PHD7UY
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PH9UK
BetterCable SilverSerpent SVGA & DVI-D
Sony BWU-100A Blu-Ray PC Drive

p4 - superPi - 31 sec.
pM - superPi - 28 sec.
conroe - superPi - 14 sec.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 23rd October, 2003, 10:26 PM
mental's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2003
Location: Phila Pa
Posts: 116
Send a message via MSN to mental

GJ Whatever!!!!!!!!!
__________________
Abit nf7 2.0 rev205x11.5@2362mgz1.74 vcore Bios 18
XP 1700+ TBred-B Core DLT3C JIUHB 0319 500wattPSU
%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%
ASUS p4c800 283FSB p4 2.4 @ 3.4gighz 1.65vcore
2x512 OCZ 4000 2.5/4/4/7 2.85 volts 4/5 ratio
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 23rd October, 2003, 10:38 PM
whatever's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: moon
Posts: 1,132

thanks mental..
__________________
sig
HTPC
Conroe E6600 + stock cooler @ 3.2ghz
ATi X1950XTX 512 CrossFire
Triple WD Raptor 10k HDDs@ raid 0
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PHD7UY
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PH9UK
BetterCable SilverSerpent SVGA & DVI-D
Sony BWU-100A Blu-Ray PC Drive

p4 - superPi - 31 sec.
pM - superPi - 28 sec.
conroe - superPi - 14 sec.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 24th October, 2003, 12:04 AM
Lazgoat's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,868

Thats one special core you got there whatever!

Do you or anyone here have extra cooling on the NF7-S v2 Southbridge? I've noticed mine gets HOT, but nothing nasty has happened yet.

Laz.
__________________
DFI SLi-D, Opteron 144 @ 2.8Ghz, 4x512MB PDP XBLK, 160GB WD Caviar SE, Benq 1620DW DVD-RW, X1800XT 256MB,Custom WC.


AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 24th October, 2003, 12:58 AM
whatever's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: moon
Posts: 1,132

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lazgoat
Thats one special core you got there whatever!

Do you or anyone here have extra cooling on the NF7-S v2 Southbridge? I've noticed mine gets HOT, but nothing nasty has happened yet.

Laz.
not really... because as mentioned in the previous thread before, this chip tops out at 2.5ghz @ 1.95v with SLK-800 + Delta or Tornado, and not fully stable at priming. 1.85v @ 2.41ghz. This is just one of the ordinary known xp1700 dlt3c xpmw/upmw class chips. I've seen quite a chips that go higher.


Yes, I have done cooling on the SB on one of my Abit NF7 rev2.0 boards. Yes, SB heats up as well. This does need to be taken into consideration when overclocking. Some NF7 v2.0 boards do need cooling on the SB to do high FSBs while some other NF7 v2.0 boards DON'T need cooling on the SB. It depends on the board. I had to apply cooling on the SB to get 220+mhz FSB DC to run 3Ds. Without it, craps out instantly. The other NF7 v2.0 boards didnt' need a jack.
__________________
sig
HTPC
Conroe E6600 + stock cooler @ 3.2ghz
ATi X1950XTX 512 CrossFire
Triple WD Raptor 10k HDDs@ raid 0
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PHD7UY
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PH9UK
BetterCable SilverSerpent SVGA & DVI-D
Sony BWU-100A Blu-Ray PC Drive

p4 - superPi - 31 sec.
pM - superPi - 28 sec.
conroe - superPi - 14 sec.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 24th October, 2003, 08:00 AM
bradmax57's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: La Toon
Posts: 3,784

Quote:
Originally Posted by whatever
thanks.. the stepping is xp1700 dlt3c XPMW 0310 i bought several months ago.
time to get back into watercooling I think I have a DLT3C XPMW 0323, itll do over 2.4ghz on air so who knows, congrats again!
__________________
Asus Rampage II Gene - Intel i7 920 D0 - 6 x 2gb Patriot Viper 1600 DDR3 - Nvidia 285 GTX - OCZ Modstream 600W - 1 x samsung 1tb SATA HDD's - 2 x Pioneer 216D SATA DVD-RW - Antec P180 Mini
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 26th October, 2003, 04:53 PM
whatever's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: moon
Posts: 1,132

2792mhz

- prime stable




http://portfolio.iu.edu/skrska/2792mhz_Prime_stable.png
__________________
sig
HTPC
Conroe E6600 + stock cooler @ 3.2ghz
ATi X1950XTX 512 CrossFire
Triple WD Raptor 10k HDDs@ raid 0
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PHD7UY
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PH9UK
BetterCable SilverSerpent SVGA & DVI-D
Sony BWU-100A Blu-Ray PC Drive

p4 - superPi - 31 sec.
pM - superPi - 28 sec.
conroe - superPi - 14 sec.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 26th October, 2003, 09:38 PM
Drisler's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2003
Location: Somewhere I Belong
Posts: 190
Send a message via MSN to Drisler Send a message via Yahoo to Drisler

Looks great..

Good Job whatever.
3Ghz potential?
__________________
DFI LanParty-UT, Vapochill LS
Athlon64 CH/CG 3400+ ( 2.86GHz, 1.76V )
(512x2) OCZ EB PC3700, 3-2-2-10-1T ( 260MHz, 3.3V )
X800pVIVO > XT
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 26th October, 2003, 09:49 PM
whatever's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: moon
Posts: 1,132

hey Drisler.. thanks. Yes I think so. A well equipped 226w pelt + chilled liquid of -10c could get me 2.95ghz~ 3ghz.. but with my current chilled water itself I'm pretty much maxed out at 2.82'ish ghz..
__________________
sig
HTPC
Conroe E6600 + stock cooler @ 3.2ghz
ATi X1950XTX 512 CrossFire
Triple WD Raptor 10k HDDs@ raid 0
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PHD7UY
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PH9UK
BetterCable SilverSerpent SVGA & DVI-D
Sony BWU-100A Blu-Ray PC Drive

p4 - superPi - 31 sec.
pM - superPi - 28 sec.
conroe - superPi - 14 sec.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 1st November, 2003, 08:12 AM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Finland
Posts: 109

Thats pretty good chip.
I tested my bro´s XP1700+ few weeks ago and got it running Pifast33 2525MHz@1.73V and 2680MHz@2.1V with +8´C water.
That CPU went over 3GHz with dryice.
My Duron1400 did Pifast33 2710MHz@2.12V with 0´C water,but this CPU doesnt like high voltage. With 2.17V it doesnt load to windows.
__________________
EpoX 8K3A+ (rev1.0)
XP-M 2400+ @ 2545MHz @ 1.95V
Corsair XMS PC3500C2 512Mb+Kingston HyperX PC3000 512Mb @ 212MHz 3.16V
Asus FX5900 @ 560MHz/990MHz.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
xp1700 purplemohawkman AMD Motherboards & CPUs 2 14th December, 2003 03:26 PM
xp1700 -- 2745mhz whatever AMD Motherboards & CPUs 126 4th November, 2003 06:47 PM
xp1700 undervolting Poor_Guy AMD Motherboards & CPUs 0 8th May, 2003 03:30 AM
XP1700+ Max Temp SiGmA_X Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 6 4th July, 2002 03:05 AM
voltage for XP1700+ ? buzz991 AMD Motherboards & CPUs 1 6th February, 2002 07:57 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:13 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0