AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 2nd November, 2003, 10:57 AM
MercutioUK's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Sheffield, UK
Posts: 170

The wire method

I get scared when I see folks talking about silver paint and superglue, heres the wire method. I know most will know the site or the method but I always forget where it is


http://www.ocinside.de/go_e.html?/ht...md_pinmod.html
__________________
Never buy a dwarf with learning difficulties,
It's not big, and it's not clever.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 3rd November, 2003, 09:27 AM
dod's Avatar
dod dod is offline
AOA Staff (should be working)
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Inverness
Posts: 4,014
Send a message via ICQ to dod Send a message via Yahoo to dod

Quote:
Originally Posted by MercutioUK
I get scared when I see folks talking about silver paint and superglue, heres the wire method. I know most will know the site or the method but I always forget where it is


http://www.ocinside.de/go_e.html?/ht...md_pinmod.html
added to favourites. Nice find
__________________
AOA Team fah
Asus P5Q pro, E8400, 4X2Gb XMS2 6400, 8800GT OC and a heap more HDD space
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 3rd November, 2003, 10:49 AM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

As did I!!! Very cool!!
Rob
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 3rd November, 2003, 11:28 AM
The Doors's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: Naples (Italy)
Posts: 119

Thumbs up

Thanx mate

Adriano
__________________
Barton 2500+ @ 2.4Ghz 1.9v - ThermalRight SLK900U/Sunon 49Cfm 92mm - AS5
Epox 8RDA3+ (NB IceBerged - SB ChipSinked) - 1024Mb Mushkin BH-5 @ 230Mhz 2-2-11 2.85v
Maxtor 80Gb 7200Rpm 8Mb - Radeon 9550 128Mb (GPU@450 - Mem@220Mhz)
MountainMods U2-UFO Case - Codegen 450W PS
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 3rd November, 2003, 10:10 PM
purplemohawkman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2003
Location: Dallas area
Posts: 326
Send a message via AIM to purplemohawkman Send a message via Yahoo to purplemohawkman

this mod is great for getting a new cpu w/ 166fsb or 200fsb to work in a mobo that only supports 133fsb just up the multiplier w/ tho mod which causes the cpu no need a lower fsb, for example, i have a xp2700 thats running in a k7t266 board that only supports a 133 but the 2700 is a 166 chip so i cranked the multiplier to 16.5 which allows it to only need a 133 fsb to get the 2.17ghz clock speed.
__________________
-barton xp3000 @ 2.62ghz (12x218.35) 2.0vcore
-abit NF7-S v2 W/ matched Corsair XMS twinx 2x256mb pc3200LLPT ram
-cooling (Innova X-flow block, Innova dual 120 rad + Thermochill triple 120 rad, Eheim 1048 w/ tankomatic Reservoir)
-160gig WD sata, 80gig WD SE, 60g maxtor,
-x800pro w/ Graph-O-Matic Rev2 H20 block
-logitec z5300 5.1
-Chieftec Matrix full tower w/ Antec True430
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 4th November, 2003, 07:13 PM
dabaerman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Auburn, WA
Posts: 2,101

my question, is it faster @ 166x?=2.2 or 133x?=2.2?
__________________
Folding 24/7 with AMD QuadCore CPU's & nVidia Cuda Powered GPU's

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 4th November, 2003, 07:33 PM
dabaerman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Auburn, WA
Posts: 2,101

another? what does 'Applebred' relate to? is AMD
making cpu's for Apple?
__________________
Folding 24/7 with AMD QuadCore CPU's & nVidia Cuda Powered GPU's

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 4th November, 2003, 08:06 PM
purplemohawkman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2003
Location: Dallas area
Posts: 326
Send a message via AIM to purplemohawkman Send a message via Yahoo to purplemohawkman

Quote:
Originally Posted by dabaerman
another? what does 'Applebred' relate to? is AMD
making cpu's for Apple?
not real sure what an applebred is, but if its an amd for apple, that would just about be the only reason to buy a MAC lol
__________________
-barton xp3000 @ 2.62ghz (12x218.35) 2.0vcore
-abit NF7-S v2 W/ matched Corsair XMS twinx 2x256mb pc3200LLPT ram
-cooling (Innova X-flow block, Innova dual 120 rad + Thermochill triple 120 rad, Eheim 1048 w/ tankomatic Reservoir)
-160gig WD sata, 80gig WD SE, 60g maxtor,
-x800pro w/ Graph-O-Matic Rev2 H20 block
-logitec z5300 5.1
-Chieftec Matrix full tower w/ Antec True430
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 4th November, 2003, 08:25 PM
purplemohawkman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2003
Location: Dallas area
Posts: 326
Send a message via AIM to purplemohawkman Send a message via Yahoo to purplemohawkman

and testing the cpu if its faster @133 or @166 is a no go cause that cpu's in my brothers computer and his mobo is old so it doesnt support a 166fsb hence why that little mod works great. as far as over clocking it, i doesnt for **** where i could at least get from 2.17 default to 2.35ghz but he scored about 800 more points than me on 3dmark03 but i think thats all video cause i'm was oc'd to about 2.3ghz and my radion9700@(400/366) gets spanked by his fx5900 i just need to do some tweeks and play w/ my new mobo and i think i can beat his 4747 score but what i may do is try it in my board cause i can change multi's w/out the wire mode, but ill send you and post the results after i get around to testing it, but i got 3 processors (xp1700, xp2700, xp3000 and if my xp2200 hadnt died that would be in there to) i can test, just a matter of taking my other machines apart, and doing it. so probably by the end of the week,
__________________
-barton xp3000 @ 2.62ghz (12x218.35) 2.0vcore
-abit NF7-S v2 W/ matched Corsair XMS twinx 2x256mb pc3200LLPT ram
-cooling (Innova X-flow block, Innova dual 120 rad + Thermochill triple 120 rad, Eheim 1048 w/ tankomatic Reservoir)
-160gig WD sata, 80gig WD SE, 60g maxtor,
-x800pro w/ Graph-O-Matic Rev2 H20 block
-logitec z5300 5.1
-Chieftec Matrix full tower w/ Antec True430
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 5th November, 2003, 01:27 PM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2002
Posts: 9

Quote:
Originally Posted by dabaerman
my question, is it faster @ 166x?=2.2 or 133x?=2.2?
In my case the 2600xp is working rock solid on my Asus A7M266 which had a max cpu spec of 2100xp. It is running at an fsb of 133 and a multiplier of 16.5x and vcore of 1,65. Temps idle at 44C and 55C under load. The 2600 xp is actually recognized as 2700 xp (wire trick) and is running at 2200 Mhz.

Here is my post on Amdmb.com

http://www.amdforums.com/showthread....ghlight=wayned
__________________
Asus A7M266 Bios v1008.02b
AMD 2700XP
PC 2100 DDR 512MB
Zelman Flower CPU Fan
MSI GForce 4 Ti4400
Windows XP Home
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 5th November, 2003, 05:17 PM
The Doors's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: Naples (Italy)
Posts: 119

Quote:
Originally Posted by dabaerman
my question, is it faster @ 166x?=2.2 or 133x?=2.2?
Higher FSB's, using the same mem timings, always provides better results, especially in the bandwidth field.

Adriano
__________________
Barton 2500+ @ 2.4Ghz 1.9v - ThermalRight SLK900U/Sunon 49Cfm 92mm - AS5
Epox 8RDA3+ (NB IceBerged - SB ChipSinked) - 1024Mb Mushkin BH-5 @ 230Mhz 2-2-11 2.85v
Maxtor 80Gb 7200Rpm 8Mb - Radeon 9550 128Mb (GPU@450 - Mem@220Mhz)
MountainMods U2-UFO Case - Codegen 450W PS
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 5th November, 2003, 09:38 PM
purplemohawkman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2003
Location: Dallas area
Posts: 326
Send a message via AIM to purplemohawkman Send a message via Yahoo to purplemohawkman

so it would be better to run a chip @ 166 than @133, like i said im gonna try and test this out, im interested in how much difference it really makes to run different fsb's
__________________
-barton xp3000 @ 2.62ghz (12x218.35) 2.0vcore
-abit NF7-S v2 W/ matched Corsair XMS twinx 2x256mb pc3200LLPT ram
-cooling (Innova X-flow block, Innova dual 120 rad + Thermochill triple 120 rad, Eheim 1048 w/ tankomatic Reservoir)
-160gig WD sata, 80gig WD SE, 60g maxtor,
-x800pro w/ Graph-O-Matic Rev2 H20 block
-logitec z5300 5.1
-Chieftec Matrix full tower w/ Antec True430
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
We are trying out a new method of Advertising! Daniel ~ Random Nonsense! 3 22nd August, 2003 06:07 PM
New wire trick, I call; "2-Big Trouble in Little Wire" Liquid3D AMD Motherboards & CPUs 0 1st April, 2003 12:07 AM
possible to uplock xp2700 with this method stinger AMD Motherboards & CPUs 10 21st November, 2002 04:43 AM
Which method is better to oc? Darkcobra Hardware Hacking 16 30th January, 2002 10:55 PM
Which unlock method Kaiser_Sose EPoX MotherBoards 8 19th January, 2002 07:16 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:14 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0