AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home

Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 12th November, 2003, 09:47 PM

Athlon XP 2500+ Barton and A7N8X DX

just today i received my Athlon XP 2500+ Barton and A7N8X DX mobo. i chose the 2500 because i had heard it is good for overclocking.

now i am a total newbie to overclocking and i dont want to fry my new processor so i just wanted to get some opinions before i did anything.

i have seen several people posting on various message boards that they have gotten their 2500 to run rock solid at 3000 and i guess that woudl kind of be my goal.

has anyone done this with this specific cpu/mobo combo? if so can you tell me what settigns you used for it or how you did it?

oh and i also ordered one of these for cooling: http://www.newegg.com/app/viewproduc...82E16835106033

any advice woudl be appreciated
Old 12th November, 2003, 10:08 PM
Member/Contributer

Send a message via Yahoo to Staz

I welcome to the forums.

I wish you would have asked us first before ordering a cooler, there are many out there better than that.

Yes the Barton 2500+ is and excelent overclocker. Unforunately lately people have been getting locked processors. This doesn't mean that you can't overclock, you can. But you won't be able to adjust the multiplier. You'll just have to check to see if it is locked.

A 2500+ CPU runs at 166MHz FSB x 11multiplier = 1.833GHz.

You overclock by adjusting your FSB and you multiplier. If you multipier is locked then you can only adjust your FSB.

Fortunately you choose an excelent MoBo for overclocking. I also hope that you bought quality RAM, as that is what will hold you back.