AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #21 (permalink)  
Old 6th December, 2003, 11:45 PM
chile's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2003
Posts: 160

whatever,
what r your bios settings to give me a better idea of where to begin...i have my ram set to spd and auto...cpu's at 200x10 but i'm getting constant bsods...upped vdimm and vcore with the same results...can't even get to run stock defaults now w/out bsods...hmmm. thanks..
__________________
MSI K8T Neo FIS2R / A64 2800+ (200x9) / TT TR2M6 / 512x1 Buffalo PC3700 / PColor 9800SE / Antec TP430W

My Heatware
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old 7th December, 2003, 12:09 AM
whatever's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: moon
Posts: 1,132

Quote:
Originally Posted by chile
whatever,
what r your bios settings to give me a better idea of where to begin...i have my ram set to spd and auto...cpu's at 200x10 but i'm getting constant bsods...upped vdimm and vcore with the same results...can't even get to run stock defaults now w/out bsods...hmmm. thanks..
hmm.. [scratching my head]
I had same problem as well starting the second day from overclocking. First day, it worked fantastic, board un-modded nor the CPU. Games ran fine first day. Starting second day, the system failed unexplainably. Very weird. This is with the Tbred XP1700. There still maybe some interaction problems between the type of CPU and the board. We are trying to oc the 133fsb rated CPU to run at 200 or well beyond.. After spending time with this board, that's my conclusion so far. It is possible maybe the BIOS version isnt' co-operating with the chip at these FSBs.. I could be wrong of course..

So I performed the L12 mod for my xp1700 to a 200mhzFSB default. Result, it turned out better. I don't get BSODs anymore, and able to maintain 220~ 230mhzFSB like I ever reached first day. It is better, but still not fully stable. Still struggling at high FSBs i.e. freezes in games sometimes, but I don't get anymore BSODs..

I set to USER defined in the bios. DRAM set to 200mhz. CPU-Z shows that I'm running 1:1 sync with the FSB.

Try to relax the ram timing in your system such as disabling the 1T Command. Set the FastCPU Command to Normal or Fast. Fast is okay for me. Never set it to Ultra. That's for low FSBs.
The BIOS maybe buggy, like we are having. Try the L12 mod to see if that improves any. Also, try your Barton chip to see if that helps any. I have tried it but my Barton is very dud and has limited clockspeed and locked multi. Haven't had much time to play with that chip much. So try all these to see if it'll help.

Once your system fails, you might not be able to boot again. I've noticed this bug as well. You'll have to reset the CMOS everything when that happens. Start upping the FSB slowly starting from 170 to 190 then to 200 etc. Adjust the voltages accordingly for a given set speed. I have noticed that before I L12 modded, this process didn't always work. Once failed, I had trouble getting to any high FSBs after resetting the CMOS and slowly building up.. i.e. BSOD


Funny thing is... once I manage to run it at high FSBs 220~ 230FSB, it runs games and 3dmark without failing compare to my Abit NF7 where it fails as low as 205FSB with the Tbred chip. I still have no definite answer which is better due to bugs in the KT6 Delta.
__________________
sig
HTPC
Conroe E6600 + stock cooler @ 3.2ghz
ATi X1950XTX 512 CrossFire
Triple WD Raptor 10k HDDs@ raid 0
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PHD7UY
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PH9UK
BetterCable SilverSerpent SVGA & DVI-D
Sony BWU-100A Blu-Ray PC Drive

p4 - superPi - 31 sec.
pM - superPi - 28 sec.
conroe - superPi - 14 sec.

Last edited by whatever; 7th December, 2003 at 12:19 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old 7th December, 2003, 08:50 AM
chile's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2003
Posts: 160

i wound up reformatting my hd and am running stock right now...i'll try everything you wrote out soon. thanks. btw, this is a temp set up til my new case gets here so i'm in no hurry....
__________________
MSI K8T Neo FIS2R / A64 2800+ (200x9) / TT TR2M6 / 512x1 Buffalo PC3700 / PColor 9800SE / Antec TP430W

My Heatware
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old 7th December, 2003, 10:56 PM
Drisler's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2003
Location: Somewhere I Belong
Posts: 190
Send a message via MSN to Drisler Send a message via Yahoo to Drisler

Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~
How many boards did they sample to reach this conclusion? Should be easy enough for owners to check. Finally, if that's all there is to it, why don't other boards emulate?
Actually, i checked mine yesterday. It reads 2.66v
__________________
DFI LanParty-UT, Vapochill LS
Athlon64 CH/CG 3400+ ( 2.86GHz, 1.76V )
(512x2) OCZ EB PC3700, 3-2-2-10-1T ( 260MHz, 3.3V )
X800pVIVO > XT
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old 8th December, 2003, 07:50 AM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Finland
Posts: 109

I was going to buy MSI,but 2-phase power regulation made me forget it.
But since Epox KT600 doesnt like me either i think i try Abit next.
__________________
EpoX 8K3A+ (rev1.0)
XP-M 2400+ @ 2545MHz @ 1.95V
Corsair XMS PC3500C2 512Mb+Kingston HyperX PC3000 512Mb @ 212MHz 3.16V
Asus FX5900 @ 560MHz/990MHz.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old 14th December, 2003, 06:22 AM
chile's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2003
Posts: 160

whatever,
i think i may have fried my mobo...the board gets power but won't spin up...lan led's come on but nothing else....any ideas besides bless it and toss it?
__________________
MSI K8T Neo FIS2R / A64 2800+ (200x9) / TT TR2M6 / 512x1 Buffalo PC3700 / PColor 9800SE / Antec TP430W

My Heatware
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old 14th December, 2003, 04:44 PM
whatever's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: moon
Posts: 1,132

Quote:
Originally Posted by chile
whatever,
i think i may have fried my mobo...the board gets power but won't spin up...lan led's come on but nothing else....any ideas besides bless it and toss it?
does the board power on and fans spinning but no video on the monitor? or no fans spinning either? i suppose you've already tried this but did you plug in the ATX 12V square power connector? and resetting CMOS?
__________________
sig
HTPC
Conroe E6600 + stock cooler @ 3.2ghz
ATi X1950XTX 512 CrossFire
Triple WD Raptor 10k HDDs@ raid 0
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PHD7UY
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PH9UK
BetterCable SilverSerpent SVGA & DVI-D
Sony BWU-100A Blu-Ray PC Drive

p4 - superPi - 31 sec.
pM - superPi - 28 sec.
conroe - superPi - 14 sec.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old 14th December, 2003, 07:28 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

This is great news! I've stayed away from Via chipsets for years and years. Looks like the KT-600 is worth real consideration.
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old 14th December, 2003, 08:02 PM
chile's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2003
Posts: 160

nothing...they don't have any delta-lsr's here so i may have to go with the epox kra+2.....
__________________
MSI K8T Neo FIS2R / A64 2800+ (200x9) / TT TR2M6 / 512x1 Buffalo PC3700 / PColor 9800SE / Antec TP430W

My Heatware
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old 15th December, 2003, 12:05 AM
whatever's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: moon
Posts: 1,132

Quote:
Originally Posted by chile
nothing...they don't have any delta-lsr's here so i may have to go with the epox kra+2.....
Sorry to hear about your problems.. hopefully you'll get better luck next time..


Quote:
Originally Posted by cloasters
This is great news! I've stayed away from Via chipsets for years and years. Looks like the KT-600 is worth real consideration.
after some further stability testing in 3D games for days, I must say, this KT600 board is very stable at high FSBs. FSBs from 210~ 220FSB have been no problems running games very intensively at a non-stop pase which is excellent.. I could never do that with the Abit NF7 v2.0 boards.. I still have one.. which is the most incredibly dud board I have ever seen in my life. Turned out that board was not even stable at 180FSB. I had no idea how much lower FSB I needed to use in order to run intensive games stably. Some serious AGP department failure on the board.. because i have tried 3 different video cards, two different memory sticks, different PSUs, different type of AMD Athlon chips and finally turned out that it's the Abit NF7 v2.0 board that was the huge limiting factor. All the same hardware used on the Abit NF7 v2.0 are doing just fine in my MSI KT6 Ultra KT600 board at upto 220 FSB with no failure in intensive games. The graphics was very clean too, no glitches. It's a bit slower than the nforce2 but it just simply wiped the hell out of Abit NF7 v2.0 boards in stability contest.. I am impressed..
__________________
sig
HTPC
Conroe E6600 + stock cooler @ 3.2ghz
ATi X1950XTX 512 CrossFire
Triple WD Raptor 10k HDDs@ raid 0
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PHD7UY
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PH9UK
BetterCable SilverSerpent SVGA & DVI-D
Sony BWU-100A Blu-Ray PC Drive

p4 - superPi - 31 sec.
pM - superPi - 28 sec.
conroe - superPi - 14 sec.

Last edited by whatever; 15th December, 2003 at 12:11 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
holding back water_cooler20 EPoX MotherBoards 15 9th July, 2003 04:01 AM
8RDA...What's holding us back? Lanker EPoX MotherBoards 6 1st January, 2003 07:40 AM
CPU holding me back ? casey EPoX MotherBoards 14 16th May, 2002 01:49 PM
Holding me back? Lionfish AMD Motherboards & CPUs 23 8th November, 2001 08:00 AM
Come-on people, we know your holding back! Daniel ~ Random Nonsense! 2 27th September, 2001 09:09 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:57 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0