AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 29th November, 2003, 05:04 AM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2003
Posts: 5

HELP - Continuous beeping sound while booting

I think my mobo is about to karput.... but before i trash it out... is there anybody in this forum can help me before my mobo goes into its final journey...

Mobo = EPOX 8kta3+

While in memory test, it gives a continuous beeping sound till after i got a message that my computer cannot start up because one of the file is corrupt or missing.... this file....

ntoskrnl.*

it means that i cannot get into my windows XP

i only got this message everytime the beeping sound appear but if while booting, there is no sound, i can boot windows XP normally (success rate 1 out of 10 now!!! - very frustrating...)

Actions already taken:

1. Swap power supply
2. Change keyboard and mouse to USB - suspected that the continuous beeping sound due to faulty PS/2 port
3. Re-format hard drive and reinstall window (this is done as like i say before, when no beeping sound, i can enter window normally - the success rate is 1 out of 10 trials normally)
4. Swp SDRAM from other computer.

Read it somewhere that most mobo manuacturer has characteristic beeping (alarm) sound that can somehow pin point the cause... well anybody here can explain me the alarm?

System

Thunderbird O/C from 1.0 to 1.4
SDRAM 512 MB - One stick
Elsa gladiac 64 MB
IBM - 7200 rpm 40 GB harddisk

HELP please... anybody!!!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 29th November, 2003, 02:31 PM
Allan's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 7,914

Heya, welcome to AOA Forums!

Does it help to clock the CPU back to 1 GHz? Try that first, and see what happends.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 29th November, 2003, 03:44 PM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

Quote:
Originally Posted by vediaz
....my computer cannot start up because one of the file is corrupt or missing.... this file....

ntoskrnl.*...
Welcome to AOA, vediaz.
I saw the exact same error.. There are a few different causes, but in my neighbor's case, it was bad memory. Before I told him, he tried a repair of XP, and the problem kept popping up... I swapped the memory for him, but again, the problem popped up... so I told him to start over and reinstall windows again.

At this point, you have 2 problems.. The corruption of data itself and whatever caused it. You have to find the cause first, fix it, then fix the data... Start with memtest to see if memory is ok. ONly after isolating the cause, fix the data (reinstall XP).
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 29th November, 2003, 07:59 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

Beep alarms are used in situations where the display is unlikely to be functioning correctly, i.e. memory fault or display hardware fault.

The LED post code display is a better solution for fault finding assuming your board has this feature.
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 5th December, 2003, 05:52 AM
s2candyman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2003
Location: portland,OR
Posts: 16

its your mem
try useing diff bank if that dosnt work try diff stick
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 13th December, 2003, 09:42 AM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2003
Posts: 5

Hi guys and gals...

thanks for all your reply.... sorry for late reply... been out of office for a while..

anyway.... did all the said suggestions already... downclock to normal 1 Ghz... different bank... different memory stick... even tried 100 MHz memory stick.. all of them... but still in vain.. but strangely... the mobo LED gave FF signal, which mean that the mobo boots up normally... strange...

the only thing left is.. reinstall XP - (damn!) is it really necessary? do you mean clean install or just reinstall should be suffice?

thinking of a new mobo now... about time i think...

ok... will try to clean reinstall tonight... then we will see..

thanks everybody...
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 13th December, 2003, 10:11 AM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2003
Posts: 5

wait... wait... reinstall window... did that already right...

a new mobo... cpu and ddr ram then... arghhhhhh!!!! money.. money.. money...

anyway.. epox - thanks for you 3.5 years of service......
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 13th December, 2003, 05:08 PM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

Quote:
Originally Posted by vediaz
anyway.. epox - thanks for you 3.5 years of service......
Your still going to stick with Epox right?!?! I'm mean 3.5 years of service you know you have a proven product that will last.
Rob
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 14th December, 2003, 11:28 AM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2003
Posts: 5

Quote:
Originally Posted by robbie
Your still going to stick with Epox right?!?! I'm mean 3.5 years of service you know you have a proven product that will last.
Rob
well mate..... it's all depending on my day to day capex budget!!! pretty tight though...
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 18th December, 2003, 07:01 AM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2003
Posts: 5

Quote:
Originally Posted by vediaz
well mate..... it's all depending on my day to day capex budget!!! pretty tight though...
guys....

yesterday tried to do some final testing....

test my ram at my friend's computer... my ram worked fine... then i tried his ram at my computer.. then got post code C3

what is it? memory right? anybody?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 19th December, 2003, 06:39 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2003
Posts: 2

OK, so im a newbie OCer and ive started getting beeping from my motherboard and the computer not booting up...anyone know what the hell is happening and how to revert to the original/optimum settings?

Is there a link on the epox site to show how to jumper to clear the cmos?

Zeph
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 19th December, 2003, 06:49 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

See this thread for resetting cmos memory...
Help! I just did a stupid thing!
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
9NDA3+ and Continuous Non Boot...Help! falcx EPoX MotherBoards 2 29th September, 2005 08:26 AM
continuous connection loss WonderBread Mobile Devices and Networking 4 9th May, 2005 02:54 AM
Building pc, but just getting continuous long beebs...help!!!! Terra CRASHED! 7 19th August, 2004 07:35 AM
Continuous Singletone Beeping... RussianMissile1 CRASHED! 4 21st July, 2004 03:36 AM
3 second beep ( continuous) 8K3A POST Doppelganger EPoX MotherBoards 2 31st August, 2002 06:05 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:41 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0