AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 2nd January, 2004, 03:10 AM
purplemohawkman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2003
Location: Dallas area
Posts: 326
Send a message via AIM to purplemohawkman Send a message via Yahoo to purplemohawkman

corsair xms 3200 memory

any one know how high xms3200 will handle on the FSB??
__________________
-barton xp3000 @ 2.62ghz (12x218.35) 2.0vcore
-abit NF7-S v2 W/ matched Corsair XMS twinx 2x256mb pc3200LLPT ram
-cooling (Innova X-flow block, Innova dual 120 rad + Thermochill triple 120 rad, Eheim 1048 w/ tankomatic Reservoir)
-160gig WD sata, 80gig WD SE, 60g maxtor,
-x800pro w/ Graph-O-Matic Rev2 H20 block
-logitec z5300 5.1
-Chieftec Matrix full tower w/ Antec True430
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 2nd January, 2004, 03:17 AM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Beech Island,SC
Posts: 222

I have 2-256meg sticks Corsair XMS PC3200c2 v1.1, I think they are winbond bh-6 chips. Run them at 235fsb at 2.93v, mem timing 2-2-2-11 with a nf2 mobo. They max out at 238 fsb. These have been 2 very good sticks.

Just looked at your sig an seen mem you have is 3200LL. I had 4-256meg sticks of it but sold them. Not as good as the plain 3200c2 to me. Mine would max out around 220fsb.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 2nd January, 2004, 03:30 AM
purplemohawkman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2003
Location: Dallas area
Posts: 326
Send a message via AIM to purplemohawkman Send a message via Yahoo to purplemohawkman

right now im running @ 223x11.5 but was running @225x11.5 and when i tried 230x11 she wouldnt boot. any reason y c2 is better than the LL??? thought it was the other way around.
__________________
-barton xp3000 @ 2.62ghz (12x218.35) 2.0vcore
-abit NF7-S v2 W/ matched Corsair XMS twinx 2x256mb pc3200LLPT ram
-cooling (Innova X-flow block, Innova dual 120 rad + Thermochill triple 120 rad, Eheim 1048 w/ tankomatic Reservoir)
-160gig WD sata, 80gig WD SE, 60g maxtor,
-x800pro w/ Graph-O-Matic Rev2 H20 block
-logitec z5300 5.1
-Chieftec Matrix full tower w/ Antec True430
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 2nd January, 2004, 04:19 AM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

Quote:
Originally Posted by purplemohawkman
right now im running @ 223x11.5 but was running @225x11.5 and when i tried 230x11 she wouldnt boot. any reason y c2 is better than the LL??? thought it was the other way around.
As I understand it, this is the deal:

LL is low latency, as you apparently already know. What this means is that the memory has a very low turn-around time on page misses. It is not uncommon to be able to run this type of memory at 2-2-2-5 timings at 200 Mhz. However, the tradeoff is that as you increase the clock speed you won't be able to keep these aggressive timings. Worse, as you increase the clock, you may actually end up with worse timings than with memory that is rated for slower settings.

The C2 memory, on the other hand, is rated at 2-3-3-8 or something like that, at 200 Mhz. However, you will note that WinXP is currently running them at 2-2-2-11 at 235 Mhz. Probably, even at 200 Mhz, he wouldn't be able to run them at less than about 2-2-2-7.

So, which memory is better for you? Well, that depends on what you are doing. If you are doing a lot of stuff that is really random in the way it accesses memory (like office apps or games), then the LL stuff is the better choice, even though you can't get as high a bus clock. Reason being, although you can't get the memory to run a blazingly fast bus clock, you CAN get to random addresses VERY quickly, which means that page misses in the DRAM don't cost you as much. On the other hand, if you are doing a lot of video encoding or something that is very sequential in the way it accesses memory, then the C2 stuff is the better way to go, because you very rarely have DRAM page misses, and so can take full advantage of the higher bus speed.

I believe ARS Technica did a good writeup on this a while back, as have some other web sites. Corsair or OCZ might also have something on their site.

Later,
Gizmo
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 2nd January, 2004, 10:36 PM
MercutioUK's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Sheffield, UK
Posts: 170

Quote:
Originally Posted by gizmo
As I understand it, this is the deal:

LL is low latency, as you apparently already know. What this means is that the memory has a very low turn-around time on page misses. It is not uncommon to be able to run this type of memory at 2-2-2-5 timings at 200 Mhz. However, the tradeoff is that as you increase the clock speed you won't be able to keep these aggressive timings. Worse, as you increase the clock, you may actually end up with worse timings than with memory that is rated for slower settings.

The C2 memory, on the other hand, is rated at 2-3-3-8 or something like that, at 200 Mhz. However, you will note that WinXP is currently running them at 2-2-2-11 at 235 Mhz. Probably, even at 200 Mhz, he wouldn't be able to run them at less than about 2-2-2-7.

So, which memory is better for you? Well, that depends on what you are doing. If you are doing a lot of stuff that is really random in the way it accesses memory (like office apps or games), then the LL stuff is the better choice, even though you can't get as high a bus clock. Reason being, although you can't get the memory to run a blazingly fast bus clock, you CAN get to random addresses VERY quickly, which means that page misses in the DRAM don't cost you as much. On the other hand, if you are doing a lot of video encoding or something that is very sequential in the way it accesses memory, then the C2 stuff is the better way to go, because you very rarely have DRAM page misses, and so can take full advantage of the higher bus speed.

I believe ARS Technica did a good writeup on this a while back, as have some other web sites. Corsair or OCZ might also have something on their site.

Later,
Gizmo
Gizmo, if I understand you correctly the LL "works" better in spec but as you up the FSB it whacks the timings the stick are running to, to do this better performance at spec. The Cas2 is less finely tuned but because of this isnt so fussed about the bus speed?
Glad I spotted this cos if I saw some come along I might have traded from 2x512 3200 Cas2 (platinums with the silver coloured sinks) to the LL stuff. Sounds like you've done your research on these, glad I stuck with what ive got.
__________________
Never buy a dwarf with learning difficulties,
It's not big, and it's not clever.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 2nd January, 2004, 10:52 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

Quote:
Originally Posted by MercutioUK
Gizmo, if I understand you correctly the LL "works" better in spec but as you up the FSB it whacks the timings the stick are running to, to do this better performance at spec. The Cas2 is less finely tuned but because of this isnt so fussed about the bus speed?
Glad I spotted this cos if I saw some come along I might have traded from 2x512 3200 Cas2 (platinums with the silver coloured sinks) to the LL stuff. Sounds like you've done your research on these, glad I stuck with what ive got.
That is my understanding. I did some research on this a while back and decided that I wanted to go with the 3200LL at the time. As I said, it depends on what you are trying to do. For what I have planned, the 3200LL will (theoretically) give me better performance. Compiling large programs would seem to be more in line with what the 3200LL gives you the benefits for. Since I don't do a lot of video and audio stuff, this makes more sense for me. However, at that time we didn't have the 4000 stuff available, much less the 4400. I will have to revisit this when I get to the point of buying some better RAM (right now I'm running a 256MB Corsair Value Memory stick at 2.5-3-3-8 at 200 Mhz). Ultimately, I want to have 2 512 MB 3200LL sticks (unless I decide that 4400 is better), but right now I'm still trying to get my WC system sorted.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 3rd January, 2004, 02:36 AM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

I am currently getting 195mhz with timings of cas2,3,2,6 on one corsair XMS3200 512mb.

System is not stable at 200mhz with these timings. Should I stick with it at 195mhz or try different timings and go for 200+?
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 3rd January, 2004, 04:08 AM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Beech Island,SC
Posts: 222

I have tested a lot of ram over the last year. To get some good sticks. The Corsair 3200LL is good memoery just didn't run high fsb which I wanted. Even though the 3200LL is bh-5 memory it just didn't like high fsb on my systems. I have 4-256meg sticks Corsair XMS PC3500c2, 2-256meg sticks Corsair XMS PC3200c2, 2-256meg sticks Twinmos PC3200 with the winbond bh-5 chips, 2-256meg sticks Kingston HyperX PC3200 nonA version an they all run about the same to 238fsb with 2.93v at 2-2-2-11 on my NF7-S v2.0. The Twinmos maxs at 240fsb which is my best 2 sticks.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 3rd January, 2004, 08:19 PM
MercutioUK's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Sheffield, UK
Posts: 170

Quote:
Originally Posted by WinXP
I have tested a lot of ram over the last year. To get some good sticks. The Corsair 3200LL is good memoery just didn't run high fsb which I wanted. Even though the 3200LL is bh-5 memory it just didn't like high fsb on my systems. I have 4-256meg sticks Corsair XMS PC3500c2, 2-256meg sticks Corsair XMS PC3200c2, 2-256meg sticks Twinmos PC3200 with the winbond bh-5 chips, 2-256meg sticks Kingston HyperX PC3200 nonA version an they all run about the same to 238fsb with 2.93v at 2-2-2-11 on my NF7-S v2.0. The Twinmos maxs at 240fsb which is my best 2 sticks.
Is that twinmos the standard stuff or twister? And whats the timings? Will it do 2-2-2-11? I just got the one stick (256MB) for a second box but might get another and push it if its good stuff
__________________
Never buy a dwarf with learning difficulties,
It's not big, and it's not clever.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 4th January, 2004, 02:25 AM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Beech Island,SC
Posts: 222

The twinmos I have has the winbond bh-5 chips. They don't make it anymore with the bh-5 chips. Twinmos now has the ch-5 chips, these run a loser timming to get a high fsb. The bh-5 will run a tighter timing at high fsb. The only way to get these mem sticks anymore is buy them from a person selling theres. But most people hang on to them.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 4th January, 2004, 09:38 AM
MercutioUK's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Sheffield, UK
Posts: 170

Quote:
Originally Posted by WinXP
The twinmos I have has the winbond bh-5 chips. They don't make it anymore with the bh-5 chips. Twinmos now has the ch-5 chips, these run a loser timming to get a high fsb. The bh-5 will run a tighter timing at high fsb. The only way to get these mem sticks anymore is buy them from a person selling theres. But most people hang on to them.
There much difference tween twinmos bh-5`s and winbond`s own sticks with bh-5?
__________________
Never buy a dwarf with learning difficulties,
It's not big, and it's not clever.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 7th January, 2004, 08:52 AM
tjf_diesel's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2004
Location: Dallas, Tx
Posts: 36

If it helps I got my Corsair TWINX512-3200LLPT to 225 FSB. I haven't tried past that, yet......
__________________


Primary- P4c 2.8- Epox 4PCA3+ ATI Radeon 9700 Pro
Corsair HydroCool 200 Corsair and Koolance PC2-601 Case
1024MB DDR400 XMS3200LL WD 36.7gb 10,000rpm RAPTOR HD -
WD 200gb 7,200rpm HD- Win XP
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 7th January, 2004, 04:32 PM
purplemohawkman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2003
Location: Dallas area
Posts: 326
Send a message via AIM to purplemohawkman Send a message via Yahoo to purplemohawkman

thats about the same w/ mine too
__________________
-barton xp3000 @ 2.62ghz (12x218.35) 2.0vcore
-abit NF7-S v2 W/ matched Corsair XMS twinx 2x256mb pc3200LLPT ram
-cooling (Innova X-flow block, Innova dual 120 rad + Thermochill triple 120 rad, Eheim 1048 w/ tankomatic Reservoir)
-160gig WD sata, 80gig WD SE, 60g maxtor,
-x800pro w/ Graph-O-Matic Rev2 H20 block
-logitec z5300 5.1
-Chieftec Matrix full tower w/ Antec True430
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
8rda+, Xp2600, Corsair Xms 3200 Neiko1 EPoX MotherBoards 8 13th July, 2003 09:52 AM
Best settings for Corsair XMS 3200 CL2 Jay T EPoX MotherBoards 12 13th December, 2002 03:39 PM
Poor performance with Corsair XMS 3200 C2 Danno EPoX MotherBoards 7 23rd October, 2002 01:22 AM
8k5a3+ with corsair 3200 MercutioUK EPoX MotherBoards 16 9th October, 2002 07:44 AM
8k3a+ and Corsair 3200. dod AMD Motherboards & CPUs 19 13th September, 2002 06:45 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:34 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0