AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home

Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 12th January, 2004, 03:36 AM

How high? (3200+ oc question)

hi all. i just recently ordered a bunch of parts to a computer im building. im going to be using air cooling and i was wondering approximently how high i can oc this bad boy, without any risks of lockups/death. im very new to overclocking, but have been reading up on it. my new computer comes in tomarrow, the specs are - amd 3200+ barton, asus a7n8x mobo (the newer one supporting 400 fsb), 80 gig wd 8mb cache hd, radeon 9800pro, 512 kreton ddr 400 ram and a raidmax 868 case w/ 420 watt psu. i also ordered a thermaltake volcano 7+ cpu fan and some arctic silver 3 ( 5 was out of stock). thanks in advance for any help given! (please keep in mind i dont want to put any risk of it hurting my hardware because im only a student and have been saving for ages to purchase a computer better than my curret (amd 1300+ 256 ddr 2100 10 gig hd geforce 2 mx 400 )
Old 12th January, 2004, 03:49 AM
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion

Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kovac
wondering approximently how high i can oc this bad boy, ithout any risks of lockups/death.
The short answer is:

As fast as it will go

The long answer is: it depends.