AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 14th January, 2004, 12:51 PM
Member
 
Join Date: February 2003
Posts: 2

Abit KT7 RAID and Sound Blaster Problem

Hi there.

I'm having problems getting my SB Live to work with my KT7 RAID. The sound card has worked previously, but I had a problem that meant I removed the HighPoint drivers from the system, and I haven't been able to get them working together since. I can get either the RAID or the sound card to work fine, but the system crashes with both.

I've tried different slots, reflashed the BIOS, used fail safe BIOS settings, performance, and custom settings. I've assigned an IRQ to the SBLive and HP RAID in the BIOS, so there are no IRQ conflicts.

I have noticed that the default settings of each do have 2 I/O range conflicts, and have manually assigned values to these that don't generate conflicts, but to no avail. I've also disabled all other on board stuff and taken CDRW out of system to free up more resources.

If anyone can suggest anything I'd be very grateful, I've spent days trying to sort this and had no sucess.

Thanks,

Steve.

The system is

Abit KT7 RAID
BIOS A9 with 2.34 HighPoint BIOS
Duron 700
128 MB PC133
3DfX Banshee in PCI 1
Sound Blaster 5.1 Player in PCI 3
IBM 15GB 75GXP on HTP 370
Yamaha 8824 CDRW on VIA Disk Controller

Windows 98
HighPoint 2.34 drivers
VIA 4 in 1 4.43 (also tried 4.37a)
USB 1.10 Filter
PCI Latency Patch 0.19
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 15th January, 2004, 01:04 PM
bigjohnson's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2002
Posts: 396

I think that even if you get this problem sorted out you will still have some porblems with the SB on this board. I run the Audigy 2 and while mostly stable it does have some problems. I have been living with it.
Are you booting from the raid with only 1 drive? Try it on a regular IDE. Try a AGP video card.
Also consder more ram and WinXP. It appears XP has native drivers for this board so work with them. I have heard that Turtle Beach audio cards work with this board.
Oh, check out Paul's FAQ if it is still up.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 15th January, 2004, 02:00 PM
Allan's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 7,914

Have you tried a format? I'm not saying you should, but I'm curious if you did. If you did, it could be a hardware problem. If you didn't it is likely a software problem.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Creative Labs X-fi Sound Blaster Fellfromgrace Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 6 15th August, 2005 02:25 PM
Problem setting up RAID-0 on Abit NF7-S Rev 2.0 Invalid General Hardware Discussion 5 6th January, 2004 05:35 PM
need sound blaster audigy drivers! fireball_87 Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 1 26th March, 2002 07:11 PM
just got a sound blaster audgy fireball_87 Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 17 30th October, 2001 02:30 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:51 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0