AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 22nd February, 2004, 10:34 AM
dod's Avatar
dod dod is offline
AOA Staff (should be working)
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Inverness
Posts: 4,014
Send a message via ICQ to dod Send a message via Yahoo to dod

Mobile 2500 the new 1700?

I've been watching a few guys get very promising overclocks out of the Mobile XP2500's. Unlocked as well

http://www.theinquirer.net/?article=14245
__________________
AOA Team fah
Asus P5Q pro, E8400, 4X2Gb XMS2 6400, 8800GT OC and a heap more HDD space
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 22nd February, 2004, 12:02 PM
purplemohawkman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2003
Location: Dallas area
Posts: 326
Send a message via AIM to purplemohawkman Send a message via Yahoo to purplemohawkman

so what do you got to do to make it run in a big rig
__________________
-barton xp3000 @ 2.62ghz (12x218.35) 2.0vcore
-abit NF7-S v2 W/ matched Corsair XMS twinx 2x256mb pc3200LLPT ram
-cooling (Innova X-flow block, Innova dual 120 rad + Thermochill triple 120 rad, Eheim 1048 w/ tankomatic Reservoir)
-160gig WD sata, 80gig WD SE, 60g maxtor,
-x800pro w/ Graph-O-Matic Rev2 H20 block
-logitec z5300 5.1
-Chieftec Matrix full tower w/ Antec True430
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 22nd February, 2004, 02:46 PM
MiGGinZ's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2002
Location: Harrogate
Posts: 513

nothing, got me an ABIT AN7 and a 2500 XP-M on saturday.

still playing with it but had it as far as 2.8ghz at POST and 2.66ghz in windows.

currently at 2.5ghz @ 1.8v till it gets frozen.

fully unlocked and everything.
__________________
One revived 8K3A+ thx holst.

ABIT AN7 2500xp-m @ 2.8ghz (H20-220 WC) , 1GB Twinmos PC3200, Radeon 9800pro(XT flashed)


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 22nd February, 2004, 04:03 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

Are you having any problems with your FSB on your AN7? I am having to do some extraordinary things to get my FSB over about 210 Mhz.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 22nd February, 2004, 04:07 PM
MiGGinZ's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2002
Location: Harrogate
Posts: 513

not pushed it yet but had it to 215mhz
__________________
One revived 8K3A+ thx holst.

ABIT AN7 2500xp-m @ 2.8ghz (H20-220 WC) , 1GB Twinmos PC3200, Radeon 9800pro(XT flashed)


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 22nd February, 2004, 04:09 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

I've actually had mine to 221 and stable in memtest86. When I boot into Windows, however, any extended network activity locks me up tight. Best I've been able to figure, the south bridge is overheating, so I've been building a water cooling rig for it. Hopefully I'll be able to find out if I've solved my problem or not in two or three hours.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 22nd February, 2004, 05:45 PM
MiGGinZ's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2002
Location: Harrogate
Posts: 513

after an hour of Enemy territory the SB is warm to the touch.
__________________
One revived 8K3A+ thx holst.

ABIT AN7 2500xp-m @ 2.8ghz (H20-220 WC) , 1GB Twinmos PC3200, Radeon 9800pro(XT flashed)


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 22nd February, 2004, 06:16 PM
whatever's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: moon
Posts: 1,132

dod, the mobile xp2400+ cpus also seem to be very promising. The overclock results are very good as well. Seems to outdo xp1700 dlt3c chips even.


Yeah, some of the recently built Abit NF7/s and AN7's are tough to get to high FSBs stable.
__________________
sig
HTPC
Conroe E6600 + stock cooler @ 3.2ghz
ATi X1950XTX 512 CrossFire
Triple WD Raptor 10k HDDs@ raid 0
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PHD7UY
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PH9UK
BetterCable SilverSerpent SVGA & DVI-D
Sony BWU-100A Blu-Ray PC Drive

p4 - superPi - 31 sec.
pM - superPi - 28 sec.
conroe - superPi - 14 sec.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 22nd February, 2004, 07:27 PM
Member
 
Join Date: February 2004
Posts: 4

Quote:
Originally Posted by dod
I've been watching a few guys get very promising overclocks out of the Mobile XP2500's. Unlocked as well

http://www.theinquirer.net/?article=14245
My Barton 2400+ mobile



http://webpages.charter.net/mlanter/260FSB.jpg
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 22nd February, 2004, 08:06 PM
whatever's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: moon
Posts: 1,132

Nice nice.. I see some xtremesys competitors here eh?
__________________
sig
HTPC
Conroe E6600 + stock cooler @ 3.2ghz
ATi X1950XTX 512 CrossFire
Triple WD Raptor 10k HDDs@ raid 0
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PHD7UY
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PH9UK
BetterCable SilverSerpent SVGA & DVI-D
Sony BWU-100A Blu-Ray PC Drive

p4 - superPi - 31 sec.
pM - superPi - 28 sec.
conroe - superPi - 14 sec.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 22nd February, 2004, 09:13 PM
dod's Avatar
dod dod is offline
AOA Staff (should be working)
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Inverness
Posts: 4,014
Send a message via ICQ to dod Send a message via Yahoo to dod

[QUOTE=fish59]My Barton 2400+ mobile

Welcome to AOA Fish 59. Very nice results WHy did my plastic just run for cover again
__________________
AOA Team fah
Asus P5Q pro, E8400, 4X2Gb XMS2 6400, 8800GT OC and a heap more HDD space
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 22nd February, 2004, 09:20 PM
MiGGinZ's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2002
Location: Harrogate
Posts: 513

so hard not to buy these things when you hear your credit card calling you.
__________________
One revived 8K3A+ thx holst.

ABIT AN7 2500xp-m @ 2.8ghz (H20-220 WC) , 1GB Twinmos PC3200, Radeon 9800pro(XT flashed)


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 22nd February, 2004, 10:16 PM
Member
 
Join Date: February 2004
Posts: 4

Quote:
Originally Posted by whatever
Nice nice.. I see some xtremesys competitors here eh?
Not here to compete.Just helping dod make an informed decision and backing up your statement about 2400's
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 22nd February, 2004, 11:23 PM
dod's Avatar
dod dod is offline
AOA Staff (should be working)
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Inverness
Posts: 4,014
Send a message via ICQ to dod Send a message via Yahoo to dod

Quote:
Originally Posted by fish59
Not here to compete.Just helping dod make an informed decision and backing up your statement about 2400's
Much appreciated . You taught me something new too, I didn't realise there was a 2400 barton, thought they started at 2500. Do they have the 512 L2 cache as well?
__________________
AOA Team fah
Asus P5Q pro, E8400, 4X2Gb XMS2 6400, 8800GT OC and a heap more HDD space
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 22nd February, 2004, 11:41 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

Far as I know, all Bartons have the 512K L2 cache.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 23rd February, 2004, 01:56 AM
MiGGinZ's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2002
Location: Harrogate
Posts: 513

yup, bartons have 512kb, tbreds and thorntons have 256kb.

the 2400 is only available in mobile though, not desktop.
__________________
One revived 8K3A+ thx holst.

ABIT AN7 2500xp-m @ 2.8ghz (H20-220 WC) , 1GB Twinmos PC3200, Radeon 9800pro(XT flashed)


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 23rd February, 2004, 02:41 AM
Neoprene's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Location: Glasgow UK
Posts: 261

mouthwatering ...

Hi all,

God damn you DOD ! I had a quiet weekend in to save cash b4 payday next week..and then I read your post ! CPU city now have 70 odd quid from me ! I suspect we`ll be soon needing an Xp-M overclocking thread , and even better there are xp-m`s up to 2600 I hear..tho no one is sure about their OC ability. My socket 939 despair has now diminished a little ...

__________________
Abit NF-7S Ver 2.0 Bios 23 , Barton2600 xp-m @2.60ghz(FSB 200@13.0x ) 1.95 VCore ,Asetek KT03 kit , 1GB Winbond PC3200 CAS 2.0, Nvidia FX5900 Ultra @478/908 ,2x80gb Seagate Barracuda V SATA RAID 0 ,Creative Audigy 2,Sandra PR3528,3Dmark v3.04 6106.WinXP Pro Sp1 5.1.2600. Prime95 stable.

New sys AMD SD3700 , 1GB OCZ 4200 Plat Ver 2.0 , DFI Nforce4 SLI-DR, MSI 6800GT, OCZ Modstream 520W , Audigy 2 ZS, all going to be frosted in a Mach2 GT Prommy :-)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 23rd February, 2004, 12:01 PM
dod's Avatar
dod dod is offline
AOA Staff (should be working)
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Inverness
Posts: 4,014
Send a message via ICQ to dod Send a message via Yahoo to dod

Quote:
Originally Posted by Neoprene
Hi all,

God damn you DOD !.........
Now you know you'd have had months of anguish if you didn't buy it. Think of all the therapy bills you've saved

Let's know how you get on though.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Asus P5Q pro, E8400, 4X2Gb XMS2 6400, 8800GT OC and a heap more HDD space
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 23rd February, 2004, 08:08 PM
whatever's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: moon
Posts: 1,132

Quote:
Originally Posted by fish59
Not here to compete.Just helping dod make an informed decision and backing up your statement about 2400's
thanks.
__________________
sig
HTPC
Conroe E6600 + stock cooler @ 3.2ghz
ATi X1950XTX 512 CrossFire
Triple WD Raptor 10k HDDs@ raid 0
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PHD7UY
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PH9UK
BetterCable SilverSerpent SVGA & DVI-D
Sony BWU-100A Blu-Ray PC Drive

p4 - superPi - 31 sec.
pM - superPi - 28 sec.
conroe - superPi - 14 sec.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 25th February, 2004, 01:56 AM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

Quote:
Originally Posted by Neoprene
Hi all,

God damn you DOD ! I had a quiet weekend in to save cash b4 payday next week..and then I read your post ! CPU city now have 70 odd quid from me ! I suspect we`ll be soon needing an Xp-M overclocking thread , and even better there are xp-m`s up to 2600 I hear..tho no one is sure about their OC ability. My socket 939 despair has now diminished a little ...

The mobile range goes up to XP3000 with a 333mhz FSB. They're all unlocked.
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
mobile 2500+ cadaveca AMD Motherboards & CPUs 5 24th July, 2004 02:23 AM
Mobile Xp 2500 and the 8RDA3+ a few questions. x2gamer2003 EPoX MotherBoards 0 22nd June, 2004 06:41 PM
Mobile MOD for 1700+ on 8K3A+ FalconCH EPoX MotherBoards 6 22nd May, 2004 08:03 PM
AMD 2500 Mobile Question geekbyte AMD Motherboards & CPUs 6 18th May, 2004 12:36 AM
Will a mobile 2500 work in 8rda3+ rev 2? tdamocles AMD Motherboards & CPUs 2 23rd February, 2004 02:27 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:44 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0