AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 26th March, 2004, 05:29 PM
mixx666's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: nottingham
Posts: 298

Mobile Athlon 2600XP@2600mhz on air

Just got my new setup running with a DFI Ultra and the new 2600mobile Athlon (IQYHA) 0401 CPU, and it’s running right now prime stable @1.85v=2600mhz. This is the new Chip to get so look out for it. I was lucky to get mine from a contact in the US, so keep your eyes peeled for these chips here. I will get some screen shots up to show you what this bad boy can do

p.s this is all running on air
__________________
Asus P5B-Delux
Intel Core 2 Duo E6400@3500Mhz
Skyth Ninja + 120mm Delta Fan
2GB Corsair Dominator
2 x 500GB Hitachi
Creative LAbs X-FI
Logitech Z-5500
Antec P182 Special Edition
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 26th March, 2004, 06:03 PM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

Nice chip...
Ever consider folding?
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 26th March, 2004, 06:19 PM
Lazgoat's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,868

Wow, thats great. I've been reading the CPU City forms and following successes of some folks there with the Mobile Bartons. Most seem to be getting 2.3-2.4Ghz with a few exceptional CPU's getting to 2.5 and 2.6Ghz.
I'm trying desparately to resiste the urge to get one!

Laz.

May I ask what your CPU cost?
__________________
DFI SLi-D, Opteron 144 @ 2.8Ghz, 4x512MB PDP XBLK, 160GB WD Caviar SE, Benq 1620DW DVD-RW, X1800XT 256MB,Custom WC.


AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 27th March, 2004, 12:58 AM
nki69c's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2004
Location: Where all the vegietables grow in California
Posts: 136

I have seen the 2600M going for about $105, which means for those of you with British accents it will come out to about 57 pounds, and suprise, suprise you can only find it OEM. Check ebay though I have seen some that haven't risen to $100 yet, but they still have over a day left.
__________________
2600+Mobile@12x200, NF7-S v.2, 2x256MB PC3200, Sapphire 9800XT
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 27th March, 2004, 01:22 AM
mixx666's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: nottingham
Posts: 298

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lazgoat
Wow, thats great. I've been reading the CPU City forms and following successes of some folks there with the Mobile Bartons. Most seem to be getting 2.3-2.4Ghz with a few exceptional CPU's getting to 2.5 and 2.6Ghz.
I'm trying desparately to resiste the urge to get one!

Laz.

May I ask what your CPU cost?

Do not resist get one you will love it.

My friend Dressuk has a contact in the US who sold us two out of his three chips, Dress uk's chip is a little better than mine, he has had his running near 3000mhz on water. They cost us £70 each with P&P, thats a bargain in my book
__________________
Asus P5B-Delux
Intel Core 2 Duo E6400@3500Mhz
Skyth Ninja + 120mm Delta Fan
2GB Corsair Dominator
2 x 500GB Hitachi
Creative LAbs X-FI
Logitech Z-5500
Antec P182 Special Edition
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 27th March, 2004, 01:28 AM
mixx666's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: nottingham
Posts: 298

Not really considered it SteveI, unless it's for a good cause
__________________
Asus P5B-Delux
Intel Core 2 Duo E6400@3500Mhz
Skyth Ninja + 120mm Delta Fan
2GB Corsair Dominator
2 x 500GB Hitachi
Creative LAbs X-FI
Logitech Z-5500
Antec P182 Special Edition

Last edited by mixx666; 27th March, 2004 at 01:42 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 27th March, 2004, 01:44 AM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

Folding is a VERY good cause. Folding@Home is used to help determine the characteristics of proteins used in amino acids. Understanding these characteristics (folding the proteins) can lead to a better understand of human diseases and genetic disorders.

Not to take anything away from Seti (I run one machine for it also), but Folding@Home has the potential to make life better for all humanity, and the payoff is nearly certain. The payoff for Seti, while certainly possessing the ability to alter the future of humanity, is by no means guaranteed.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 27th March, 2004, 11:06 PM
whatever's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: moon
Posts: 1,132

There's old saying "Fold Fold Fold!!"


Lazgoat told me that.. nice quote.
__________________
sig
HTPC
Conroe E6600 + stock cooler @ 3.2ghz
ATi X1950XTX 512 CrossFire
Triple WD Raptor 10k HDDs@ raid 0
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PHD7UY
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PH9UK
BetterCable SilverSerpent SVGA & DVI-D
Sony BWU-100A Blu-Ray PC Drive

p4 - superPi - 31 sec.
pM - superPi - 28 sec.
conroe - superPi - 14 sec.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 27th March, 2004, 11:26 PM
Lazgoat's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,868

mixx666, I'm thinking very hard about getting one, but I'm not sure I'd see much a diference compared to my XP1700+. Weiredly, I was messing around with different multipliers and FSB setting today and managed to settle at 220 x 10. I was very surprised and cant really believe it! My CPU does 2.2ghz at 1.6V so I wonder what 1.75v will lead too...?

whatever, does that mean you are finally Folding?

Laz.
__________________
DFI SLi-D, Opteron 144 @ 2.8Ghz, 4x512MB PDP XBLK, 160GB WD Caviar SE, Benq 1620DW DVD-RW, X1800XT 256MB,Custom WC.


AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 28th March, 2004, 05:11 AM
mixx666's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: nottingham
Posts: 298

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lazgoat
mixx666, I'm thinking very hard about getting one, but I'm not sure I'd see much a diference compared to my XP1700+. Weiredly, I was messing around with different multipliers and FSB setting today and managed to settle at 220 x 10. I was very surprised and cant really believe it! My CPU does 2.2ghz at 1.6V so I wonder what 1.75v will lead too...?

whatever, does that mean you are finally Folding?

Laz.

Your 1700XP is better than my old chip i could only get 2200mhz when i ran it at 1.8v. As for my new cpu, think about it 2600mhz stable at only 1.85v, thats very good in my book. I will start pushing it more tomorrow when i have some time. 3000+mhz on chilled water thats posible, def worth looking into if you can get your hands on one of these CPU's

p.s has anybody ran the X2 The Threat benchmark demo? it looks really inpresive
__________________
Asus P5B-Delux
Intel Core 2 Duo E6400@3500Mhz
Skyth Ninja + 120mm Delta Fan
2GB Corsair Dominator
2 x 500GB Hitachi
Creative LAbs X-FI
Logitech Z-5500
Antec P182 Special Edition

Last edited by mixx666; 28th March, 2004 at 02:33 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 28th March, 2004, 11:16 AM
Lazgoat's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,868

Unfortunately CPU City dont have the IQxx steppings anymore (and as you probably know no other retailers will tell you the stepping), just the AQxx, but they seem good for 2.3-2.4Ghz on air so I'm still thinking about it!

Laz.
__________________
DFI SLi-D, Opteron 144 @ 2.8Ghz, 4x512MB PDP XBLK, 160GB WD Caviar SE, Benq 1620DW DVD-RW, X1800XT 256MB,Custom WC.


AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 28th March, 2004, 12:08 PM
Allan's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 7,914

Seems like an interesting chip! 2600MHz on air sounds very good, but there is no better stress tester than Folding running with SSE instructions!

It would be great to have both whatever and mixx666 folding for us with all their GHz! And yes, the cause is VERY good, you may even help save someone you know from serious diseases. Check out the folding section for more info.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 1st April, 2004, 04:59 AM
perc
Guest
 
Posts: n/a

i got the same 0401UPMW 2600 molbile from new egg about a month ago and its running stable at 2600mhz 1.7v! i have booted into windows at 2700mhz but on air its just too hard to keep cool at voltages over 1.9v so i had to settle for 2600mhz. another thing i notced about this molbile chip. seems that anything over 220 fsb and it falls flat on its face? wierd cause same system everything just differnt cpu (2500 barton) i can run 250fsb? i think its got to do with the molbiles 266 fsb? im going to try the L12 mod and see if it helps me any? i have heard that the L12 will help out alot? but still 2600mhz at 440fsb isnt anything to sneeze at!!

later perc,
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 1st April, 2004, 05:51 AM
Redrum's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Pa.
Posts: 104

I got the same chip from Newegg on 2/26/04 running prime stable at 2700 Mhz on air. Its got more in it and you can feel it. Screen Shot Here.
__________________
DFI NF2 Ultra Infinity
2600 Mobile Barton IQYHA 0401
245x11 = 2701 Mhz.
512 Meg (2x256) PC3700 Buffalo BH-5
11-2-2-2-2 9-12 @ 3.2 Volts
36 Gig WD360 Raptor Sata Drive
Antec 430 Watt True Power
ATI 9700 Pro Vid Card 390/342
Blizzard 360 Case With Lots of Fans
ThermalRight SLK 900A HS
Vantec 92m Tornado Fan 119 CFM
Command Clock Enabled
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 2nd April, 2004, 03:09 AM
whatever's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: moon
Posts: 1,132

very impressive clocks on air..

you got one of those golden chips.

run some piFast or superPi.
__________________
sig
HTPC
Conroe E6600 + stock cooler @ 3.2ghz
ATi X1950XTX 512 CrossFire
Triple WD Raptor 10k HDDs@ raid 0
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PHD7UY
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PH9UK
BetterCable SilverSerpent SVGA & DVI-D
Sony BWU-100A Blu-Ray PC Drive

p4 - superPi - 31 sec.
pM - superPi - 28 sec.
conroe - superPi - 14 sec.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 2nd April, 2004, 03:21 AM
Redrum's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Pa.
Posts: 104

Heres the SuperPi screen shot at 245x11
Attached Thumbnails
Mobile Athlon 2600XP@2600mhz on air-super-pi-36-sec-245x11n.jpg  
__________________
DFI NF2 Ultra Infinity
2600 Mobile Barton IQYHA 0401
245x11 = 2701 Mhz.
512 Meg (2x256) PC3700 Buffalo BH-5
11-2-2-2-2 9-12 @ 3.2 Volts
36 Gig WD360 Raptor Sata Drive
Antec 430 Watt True Power
ATI 9700 Pro Vid Card 390/342
Blizzard 360 Case With Lots of Fans
ThermalRight SLK 900A HS
Vantec 92m Tornado Fan 119 CFM
Command Clock Enabled
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 2nd April, 2004, 03:23 AM
whatever's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: moon
Posts: 1,132

mm~~ nice.
__________________
sig
HTPC
Conroe E6600 + stock cooler @ 3.2ghz
ATi X1950XTX 512 CrossFire
Triple WD Raptor 10k HDDs@ raid 0
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PHD7UY
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PH9UK
BetterCable SilverSerpent SVGA & DVI-D
Sony BWU-100A Blu-Ray PC Drive

p4 - superPi - 31 sec.
pM - superPi - 28 sec.
conroe - superPi - 14 sec.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 2nd April, 2004, 03:40 AM
whatever's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: moon
Posts: 1,132

Quote:
Originally Posted by perc
i got the same 0401UPMW 2600 molbile from new egg about a month ago and its running stable at 2600mhz 1.7v! i have booted into windows at 2700mhz but on air its just too hard to keep cool at voltages over 1.9v.
Hi there perc. I received your mail and saw you got great result with the m2600+@ upto 2.7ghz air! Congrats to you..


Quote:
another thing i notced about this molbile chip. seems that anything over 220 fsb and it falls flat on its face? wierd cause same system everything just differnt cpu (2500 barton) i can run 250fsb? i think its got to do with the molbiles 266 fsb? im going to try the L12 mod and see if it helps me any? i have heard that the L12 will help out alot? but still 2600mhz at 440fsb isnt anything to sneeze at!!
Yes, you're pretty much all correct.

Usually, the motherboard makes a lot of difference in FSB overclocking.. especially the Abit NF7 boards require L12mod when the 133fsb chips are used, that also includes Mobile 133fsb chips. I'm sure you already know about it at the xtremeforum.. The chip itself makes "some" difference in FSB overclocking too. There are many variables that it's difficult to pin-point exactly what holds it back. A long ago, I had a xp2700+(tbred 166fsb chip) and did great with the FSBs.. I was able to run much higher FSBs with my Abit NF7 v1.2 and 2.0. (i had to perform a different L12 mod for this chip of course..)

so yes, try the L12 mod. I think I saw Charlie had his m-barton FSB oc'ing improved quite a bit by L12 modding his Abit NF7 v2.0.
__________________
sig
HTPC
Conroe E6600 + stock cooler @ 3.2ghz
ATi X1950XTX 512 CrossFire
Triple WD Raptor 10k HDDs@ raid 0
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PHD7UY
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PH9UK
BetterCable SilverSerpent SVGA & DVI-D
Sony BWU-100A Blu-Ray PC Drive

p4 - superPi - 31 sec.
pM - superPi - 28 sec.
conroe - superPi - 14 sec.

Last edited by whatever; 2nd April, 2004 at 04:27 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 2nd April, 2004, 04:15 AM
perc
Guest
 
Posts: n/a

whatever


hey thx

yeah i have the nf7 rev 2.0 its about four five months old not one of these newer ones that dont seem to oc as good? i got lucky with this mb cause right out of the box no mods no nothing i was able to boot at 250 and run windows at 246. so i think its safe to say ive had some good luck with this mb? i am going to try the L12 mod on this nf7 and see if i can break my 220 wall im having with this 2600 m ?? just seems wierd that with the same everything just differnt cpu and one does 246 and the other only does 220?? i can only imagine what my 3dmark scores will be if im able to run 2700mhz and 466fsb? i smell 22k np at all!



peace perc,
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 2nd April, 2004, 05:34 PM
mixx666's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: nottingham
Posts: 298

http://homepage.ntlworld.com/m.meliou/255fsb.gif

Here is my FSB settings running at 255 on the DFI board
__________________
Asus P5B-Delux
Intel Core 2 Duo E6400@3500Mhz
Skyth Ninja + 120mm Delta Fan
2GB Corsair Dominator
2 x 500GB Hitachi
Creative LAbs X-FI
Logitech Z-5500
Antec P182 Special Edition
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Athlon 64 MOBILE are they good Jonny_doe General Hardware Discussion 7 9th May, 2005 09:14 PM
Mobile AMD Athlon XP bigjohnson AMD Motherboards & CPUs 11 5th October, 2004 12:30 AM
OC my old mobile Athlon?? LexusDaisy AMD Motherboards & CPUs 10 28th June, 2004 08:45 PM
8K5A+ athlon 2600xp and pc2100 showing as 2700!!! Alsajoso EPoX MotherBoards 3 13th September, 2003 08:31 PM
Athlon 2600XP PaulJG EPoX MotherBoards 3 7th December, 2002 10:27 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:38 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0