AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 11th April, 2004, 11:31 PM
whatever's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: moon
Posts: 1,132

CPC, i knew it's important but man!.. it's Critical : In regards to: nForce2 memory

well, let me make it nice n short since i don't like to post too long.. to prevent from readers go *sleepy*. if any questions, plzz feel free.


CPC (Command Per Clock), one of the critical settings in memory department of your nForce2 board, which can be Enabled or Disabled.

I knew CPC improves performance greatly but it is indeed reassuring... I have also mentioned it in my DFI LP b review for the aoa forum some weeks ago..


a barton CPU
2x256mb CorsairXMS 3500
DFI NF2 LanParty b
Radeon9800pro Default clock


Exact same system, cpu, vid card, ram, software, similar total clocks, and the rest of bios setting except different FSBs and CPC On/Off for performance rate comparison.

Video card: R9800pro @ Default Clocks of 378 / 337



Scenario #1:

2.65ghz 252 FSB CPC: ON - 3Dmark '01 = 20,155

http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k1=7739042



Scenario #2:

2.65ghz 252 FSB CPC: Disabled - 3Dmark '01 = 19,635

http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k1=7742360



Comparisons between the Scenario #1 and Scenario #2.


http://portfolio.iu.edu/skrska/CPC_D...s._Enabled.png


20155 vs. 19635


The setting CPC ON totally crushed the one without the CPC in Lobby tests, as high as 10 FPS difference.

The score difference is 520 points. Point increase will fluctuate by little i.e. 20 points or so naturally with the electronics.



Lots more bench comparisons to come. To show you what sort of FSBs you need with CPC Disabled in order to compete with the system equipped with CPC On.
__________________
sig
HTPC
Conroe E6600 + stock cooler @ 3.2ghz
ATi X1950XTX 512 CrossFire
Triple WD Raptor 10k HDDs@ raid 0
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PHD7UY
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PH9UK
BetterCable SilverSerpent SVGA & DVI-D
Sony BWU-100A Blu-Ray PC Drive

p4 - superPi - 31 sec.
pM - superPi - 28 sec.
conroe - superPi - 14 sec.

Last edited by whatever; 11th April, 2004 at 11:57 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 12th April, 2004, 12:24 AM
whatever's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: moon
Posts: 1,132

I will be gradually lowering the FSBs with CPC On and show you how it compares to the 252FSB CPC Disabled 3dmark.



Match 1:

2.65ghz 252 FSB CPC: Disabled - 3Dmark '01 = 19,635

2.65ghz 241 FSB CPC: Enabled - 3Dmark '01 = 20,015

http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k1=7742438

Totally crushed the CPC Off 252fsb setting.
Attached Thumbnails
CPC, i knew it's important but man!.. it's Critical : In regards to: nForce2 memory-image001.png  
__________________
sig
HTPC
Conroe E6600 + stock cooler @ 3.2ghz
ATi X1950XTX 512 CrossFire
Triple WD Raptor 10k HDDs@ raid 0
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PHD7UY
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PH9UK
BetterCable SilverSerpent SVGA & DVI-D
Sony BWU-100A Blu-Ray PC Drive

p4 - superPi - 31 sec.
pM - superPi - 28 sec.
conroe - superPi - 14 sec.

Last edited by whatever; 12th April, 2004 at 12:55 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 12th April, 2004, 12:35 AM
whatever's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: moon
Posts: 1,132

Need more?

okay!! 231 fsb sound good? here!!



Match 2:

2.65ghz 252 FSB CPC: Disabled - 3Dmark '01 = 19,635


2.65ghz 231 FSB CPC: Enabled - 3Dmark '01 = 19,883

http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k1=7742457


Still crushed the 252fsb with CPC Disabled.
Attached Thumbnails
CPC, i knew it's important but man!.. it's Critical : In regards to: nForce2 memory-image001.png  
__________________
sig
HTPC
Conroe E6600 + stock cooler @ 3.2ghz
ATi X1950XTX 512 CrossFire
Triple WD Raptor 10k HDDs@ raid 0
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PHD7UY
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PH9UK
BetterCable SilverSerpent SVGA & DVI-D
Sony BWU-100A Blu-Ray PC Drive

p4 - superPi - 31 sec.
pM - superPi - 28 sec.
conroe - superPi - 14 sec.

Last edited by whatever; 12th April, 2004 at 12:56 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 12th April, 2004, 12:46 AM
whatever's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: moon
Posts: 1,132

compared setting: 2.65ghz 221 FSB CPC: Enabled


Match 3:

2.65ghz 252 FSB CPC: Disabled - 3Dmark '01 = 19,635


2.65ghz 221 FSB CPC: Enabled - 3Dmark '01 = 19,719 http://www.alizee-forum.com/images/smiles/icon_eek.gif

http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k1=7742478


Still beats it.
Attached Thumbnails
CPC, i knew it's important but man!.. it's Critical : In regards to: nForce2 memory-19719-2.65gz-221fsb-cpc-enabled.png  
__________________
sig
HTPC
Conroe E6600 + stock cooler @ 3.2ghz
ATi X1950XTX 512 CrossFire
Triple WD Raptor 10k HDDs@ raid 0
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PHD7UY
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PH9UK
BetterCable SilverSerpent SVGA & DVI-D
Sony BWU-100A Blu-Ray PC Drive

p4 - superPi - 31 sec.
pM - superPi - 28 sec.
conroe - superPi - 14 sec.

Last edited by whatever; 12th April, 2004 at 12:57 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 12th April, 2004, 12:48 AM
whatever's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: moon
Posts: 1,132

Test Question #1: What FSBs w/ CPC Enabled I need in order to be on par with the 252FSB CPC Disabled in 3Dmark?


Multiple Choice:

a) 219 FSB
b) 218 FSB
c) 150 FSB (he..he..)
d) 217 FSB
e) None of the above



Your answer:______
__________________
sig
HTPC
Conroe E6600 + stock cooler @ 3.2ghz
ATi X1950XTX 512 CrossFire
Triple WD Raptor 10k HDDs@ raid 0
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PHD7UY
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PH9UK
BetterCable SilverSerpent SVGA & DVI-D
Sony BWU-100A Blu-Ray PC Drive

p4 - superPi - 31 sec.
pM - superPi - 28 sec.
conroe - superPi - 14 sec.

Last edited by whatever; 12th April, 2004 at 01:04 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 12th April, 2004, 02:09 AM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

This is really interesting, because the function appears to be non-linear. I'll guess 217
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 12th April, 2004, 02:52 AM
whatever's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: moon
Posts: 1,132

Quote:
Originally Posted by gizmo
This is really interesting, because the function appears to be non-linear. I'll guess 217
pretty close!!

the answer is: A


Match 4:

2.65ghz 252 FSB CPC: Disabled - 3Dmark '01 = 19,635


2.63gz 219 FSB CPC: Enabled - 3Dmark '01 = 19,640 http://www.alizee-forum.com/images/smiles/icon_eek.gif

http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k1=7742585


close enough to be on par. the total clocks with the 219fsb setting is also 22mhz lower...
Attached Thumbnails
CPC, i knew it's important but man!.. it's Critical : In regards to: nForce2 memory-19640-2.63gz-219fsb-cpc-enabled.png  
__________________
sig
HTPC
Conroe E6600 + stock cooler @ 3.2ghz
ATi X1950XTX 512 CrossFire
Triple WD Raptor 10k HDDs@ raid 0
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PHD7UY
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PH9UK
BetterCable SilverSerpent SVGA & DVI-D
Sony BWU-100A Blu-Ray PC Drive

p4 - superPi - 31 sec.
pM - superPi - 28 sec.
conroe - superPi - 14 sec.

Last edited by whatever; 12th April, 2004 at 02:59 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 12th April, 2004, 06:11 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

You made front page again whatever! http://www.aoaforums.com/
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 13th April, 2004, 01:33 AM
whatever's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: moon
Posts: 1,132

thankx Daniel.
__________________
sig
HTPC
Conroe E6600 + stock cooler @ 3.2ghz
ATi X1950XTX 512 CrossFire
Triple WD Raptor 10k HDDs@ raid 0
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PHD7UY
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PH9UK
BetterCable SilverSerpent SVGA & DVI-D
Sony BWU-100A Blu-Ray PC Drive

p4 - superPi - 31 sec.
pM - superPi - 28 sec.
conroe - superPi - 14 sec.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 13th April, 2004, 01:51 AM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

So, how do I adjust this magical setting on my NF7-S?
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 13th April, 2004, 02:19 AM
whatever's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: moon
Posts: 1,132

NF7/s comes already enabled. There's no option to disable it. The NF7 users have better bench scores than the DFI users who tend to jack up the FSB and sacrifice the other settings like the CPC.

Abit's will come very close to the performance of DFI with CPC. The DFI will edge out slightly in both desktop and 3D apps due to fine-tuned memory subsystem in the DFI's board.
__________________
sig
HTPC
Conroe E6600 + stock cooler @ 3.2ghz
ATi X1950XTX 512 CrossFire
Triple WD Raptor 10k HDDs@ raid 0
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PHD7UY
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PH9UK
BetterCable SilverSerpent SVGA & DVI-D
Sony BWU-100A Blu-Ray PC Drive

p4 - superPi - 31 sec.
pM - superPi - 28 sec.
conroe - superPi - 14 sec.

Last edited by whatever; 13th April, 2004 at 02:59 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 13th April, 2004, 06:31 AM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

Hmmm...........there seem to be some people having some real problems getting decent performance out of the NF7-S when running dual 512MB sticks of memory. Not a lot of them, but enough to be interesting. And there has been some talk about it having something to do with CPC.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 13th April, 2004, 06:56 AM
whatever's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: moon
Posts: 1,132

Yes you're right. I too, been seeing quite a bit of users w/ 2x512mb sticks having difficulties going over 200FSBs. In some case, below 200FSB. It seems not so much the specific brand names of the sticks, but likely the type and amount of memory is causing the probs... I did hear some report from people, including Mr.Icee has mentioned that the late releases of Abit NF7 v2.0 and AN7's are geared up/tuned for the CH-5 memory sticks, not the BH-5.

Having 1GB is also quite a load to get it cranked up there.

Yes, CPC puts a lot of strain on the memory. it acts similar to having difficulties FSB oc'ing when the DC or Fast CPU Decode is enabled.
__________________
sig
HTPC
Conroe E6600 + stock cooler @ 3.2ghz
ATi X1950XTX 512 CrossFire
Triple WD Raptor 10k HDDs@ raid 0
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PHD7UY
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PH9UK
BetterCable SilverSerpent SVGA & DVI-D
Sony BWU-100A Blu-Ray PC Drive

p4 - superPi - 31 sec.
pM - superPi - 28 sec.
conroe - superPi - 14 sec.

Last edited by whatever; 13th April, 2004 at 07:01 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 13th April, 2004, 07:26 AM
mookydooky's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Everywhere you want to be.
Posts: 7,903
Send a message via MSN to mookydooky

Quote:
Originally Posted by gizmo
Hmmm...........there seem to be some people having some real problems getting decent performance out of the NF7-S when running dual 512MB sticks of memory. Not a lot of them, but enough to be interesting. And there has been some talk about it having something to do with CPC.
I'm one of them. With one stick, either one can do 2-2-2-11 at 200. With both sticks, I can't get stable over 168. I've been leaving it at 166 and 2.5-5-5-8. The overall advantage of having a 1G at 166 is better than one stick at higher FSB and better timings. That particular machine does a lot of database stuff and the extra memory holds back swapfile access which improves overall performance. I'd love to get it go faster, but nothing I try seems to work. BTW, I've tried it with a 8 month old board, and a 2 day old board. Same results.
__________________
Need a laugh? Take a peek at
AOA's Mookydooky's "Just for laughs!" Joke Topic


AOA Team fah

我喜欢大屁股, 我不能骗你..... 他们弟兄不能否认......
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 13th April, 2004, 02:55 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

Have you tried any of the hacked bioses, like the tictac sub-zero one?
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 13th April, 2004, 08:40 PM
mookydooky's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Everywhere you want to be.
Posts: 7,903
Send a message via MSN to mookydooky

Quote:
Originally Posted by gizmo
Have you tried any of the hacked bioses, like the tictac sub-zero one?
I'm a bit loathed to do anything that will compromise stability on this machine. Although the database is backed-up daily, several hours of work could easily be lost from a crash.
__________________
Need a laugh? Take a peek at
AOA's Mookydooky's "Just for laughs!" Joke Topic


AOA Team fah

我喜欢大屁股, 我不能骗你..... 他们弟兄不能否认......
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 13th April, 2004, 09:06 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

I understand completely. That's why I haven't tried any of them, either.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Asynchronous memory on Nforce2 Keno5net AMD Motherboards & CPUs 3 4th August, 2004 02:41 PM
nForce2 and Memory - odd observations SteveI AMD Motherboards & CPUs 9 15th November, 2003 06:48 PM
what memory are you using on nforce2 mobo? luv2surfnet AMD Motherboards & CPUs 26 16th June, 2003 02:15 PM
How to change IRQ and Memory resources on nForce2 ? Alexandrus AMD Motherboards & CPUs 4 30th March, 2003 06:18 PM
64 vs 128 bit memory on a nForce2 MB videobruce AMD Motherboards & CPUs 7 14th February, 2003 02:25 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:24 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0