AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #61 (permalink)  
Old 13th June, 2004, 04:54 AM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

Hummmmm.......... first this,
Quote:
Originally Posted by whatever
and nope..... I don't even have to get in the ring. My overclocking knowledge and experience is far beyond. Maybe you don't know much about me. You have no idea what I've gone through in the past. I'll let some low rookie-level overclocker to get in that ring. I don't fit there. I fit in the higher class overclocking, aka, xtreme overclocking in the Top 20 class.
Then this,
Quote:
Originally Posted by whatever
I'm not a kind of guy who show off and tell everyone "I'M THE BEST!!! I BEAT YOU ALLLL HAHAHAHA I'M GONNA SLAM YOU DOWN" dead wrong... I keep quiet... I'm hell a lot better than that. Some newb here think I'm a flammer and not an xtreme clockers, well you thought wrong, sir.
Really?
Rob
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #62 (permalink)  
Old 14th June, 2004, 12:30 AM
Lazgoat's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,868

Something is/was up with whatever, got issues of some sort!

Laz.
__________________
DFI SLi-D, Opteron 144 @ 2.8Ghz, 4x512MB PDP XBLK, 160GB WD Caviar SE, Benq 1620DW DVD-RW, X1800XT 256MB,Custom WC.


AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #63 (permalink)  
Old 14th June, 2004, 01:48 AM
RussianMissile1's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2003
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,229
Send a message via AIM to RussianMissile1

oh man... i look in here to see which chip i should buy, and all i see is people hate'n on each other.

please grow up, arguing about petty things is for kids.


i'm a little dissapointed.
__________________
<-- My Cat PWNZ J00!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #64 (permalink)  
Old 17th August, 2004, 06:18 AM
Member
 
Join Date: August 2004
Posts: 2

Arguments aside (please dont flame me!). I have the XP 2600+ Mobile.
Stepping is EVERYTHING> not the stock rated speed. In my case I have the following cpu.....
AXP-2600+ Mobile
AXMG2600FQQ4C
Y911762A40541
IQYHA (stepping)
0401XPMW

I have passed prime running for hours at
12x200=2.4gig 1.575 (lowest selectable vcore) which board overvolts to 1.6~
MAX temp is 45c after looping prime for hours set to high cpu heat stress I.E. data fits in l2 setting. Case temp is normally 84F. Its also stable at 2.5gig but for saftey I like to drop ONE notch below max stable setting. I can post cpu-id or anything else requested as proof. Some stepping go far-othes cant do much of anything. (TIP) I got mine at newegg about 2 weeks ago so its the currently shipped stepping they have.

System
Asus A7n8x deluxe/revision 1.04/1008 bios
AXP 2600 M
Vantec Aeroflow cpu cooler
Buffallo mem (samsung chipped) ddr400 512mb
Sapphire Radeon 9800 (NOT se)
Vantec ION 400watt (500watt max) psu
Nec ND2510A duel layer dvd burner ATA33
Pioneer DVD slot drive ATA66
WD 160gig 8mb cache ata hdd
Cheap case with window and light fans -LOL.

Cant think of any more pertinent info.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #65 (permalink)  
Old 17th August, 2004, 06:20 AM
Member
 
Join Date: August 2004
Posts: 2

I just noticed how old this thread is -Sorry guys.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #66 (permalink)  
Old 17th August, 2004, 05:59 PM
XeroHouR's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: March 2004
Location: Osceola/Muncie IN
Posts: 1,264

eh its ok, no ones beating a dead horse here any more, but I agree, steppings are definatly huge.
__________________
Sony Vaio SZ220
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #67 (permalink)  
Old 18th August, 2004, 03:26 PM
Logan's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2004
Posts: 1,235

Yeah, I don't want to raise up a bad thread...but I've got a 2600+ mobile that's going to be shipped soon...should I reconsider?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #68 (permalink)  
Old 20th August, 2004, 07:14 PM
lbj777's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2004
Posts: 16

I would hope not, I just got my 2600+ today along with my Epox 8RDA3+ board from NewEgg and it is the same as what Xtreeme has:
AXP-2600+ Mobile
AXMG2600FQQ4C
Y911762A40541
IQYHA (stepping)
0401XPMW

I'm only waiting on my memory (2x256) ocz dual channnel platinum pc-3200 (which is hopefully coming today) so I can put it all together to see what I can get. I also know I'll need everyone's help though.
__________________
Epox 8RDA3+ Rev. 3.2
2600+ Barton XP-M (IQYHA Stepping) @2250 (10x225) at 1.75 Vcore
Patriot Dual Channel 512MB DDR PC-3200+XBL (2x256MB) Tcas 2.5, Trp 3, Trcd 3, Tras 7 @2.9 Vdimm
Aero 7 Lite HSF
Radeon 8500LE
40GB Diamond Maxtor
Tagan 480W PSU
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #69 (permalink)  
Old 20th August, 2004, 08:45 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

I got a pair of them from NewEgg a couple of weeks ago. Both IQYHA, one was 0353 and the other was 0359. Haven't been able to really crank them yet, but I'm getting 2.544 GHz out of the week 53 chip at 1.75v and 50C load with my RBX waterblock. It'll POST at 2.654 GHz and get into Windows, but as soon as I run BurnK7 or Folding it crashes.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #70 (permalink)  
Old 1st September, 2004, 06:28 PM
Evc's Avatar
Evc Evc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 211
Send a message via AIM to Evc

Dont mean to revive an "old" topic but I got a 2500+ M a month ago, and Ive got it running at 2400MHz at 1.725V
__________________
CPU:Intel Core2Duo E6600 @ 3.1GHz / MoBo:Gigabyte N650SLI-DS4 / RAM:2GB PC2-5300 / Graphics:BFG GeForce 780GT OC SLI / / Storage 1&2:Twin 250GB WD SATA2 16MB Cache / Storage 3:WD 160GB 7200RPM / Storage 4: WD 320GB SATA2 16MB Cache + 400GB and 250GB IDE in USB / DVD-Writer:Samsung SATA Lightscribe Multi-drive
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #71 (permalink)  
Old 1st September, 2004, 06:51 PM
Maelstrom2160's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: ENGLAND
Posts: 230

I've got a 2600+m iqyha coming my way in a few days, hopefully it'll outperfom my 2600+ kv3d by 100 or 200Mhz, the extra cache should help a little anyhow. Ended up picking it up for 120euro shipped from ye olde deutchland, which aint bad for a definate iqyha over here, i read somewhere that we werent supoosed to get that stepping over here in europe?
__________________

2600+ (IQYHA 0433), DFI infinity rev.A
2*256MB XMS3500 bh-5, R9800pro
CoolerMaster atc-200, Enermax 350watt psu
Maxtor 40GB 2MB fireball3 HD, Toshiba sd-r 1202 cd-r/dvd rom combo drive
Creative Audigy2 connected upto modded seperates
LG 915ft plus 19" monitor@1600-1200 @85hz
Logitech duel optical mouse USB, Win XP pro SP2
DD maze3/swiftech mcw20a/asetek gpu/l30/escort rad (all 1/2")

Last edited by Maelstrom2160; 3rd September, 2004 at 09:57 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #72 (permalink)  
Old 1st September, 2004, 11:19 PM
Lazgoat's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,868

Quote:
Originally Posted by Maelstrom2160
I've got a 2600+m iqyha coming my way in a few days, hopefully it'll outperfom my 2600+ kv3d by 100 or 200Mhz, the extra cashe should help a little anyhow. Ended up picking it up for 120euro shipped from ye olde deutchland, which aint bad for a definate iqyha over here, i read somewhere that we werent supoosed to get that stepping over here in europe?
Thats weired, CPU City will sell you a guaranteed IQYHA and list its complete stepping when they have them in stock......like now,......like they always have. And at £67 each its probably better value than your Dutch one. Plus they only use next day delivery so there is hardly any waiting.
As far as online retailers go CPU City are small and hence streets ahead of the competition when it comes to customer care.
I buy all my CPU's from there now, there is nothing like guaranteed stepping, budget price, next day delivery, great RMA's.......check their forums for current overclocks on thier current batches too!

Laz.
__________________
DFI SLi-D, Opteron 144 @ 2.8Ghz, 4x512MB PDP XBLK, 160GB WD Caviar SE, Benq 1620DW DVD-RW, X1800XT 256MB,Custom WC.


AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #73 (permalink)  
Old 1st September, 2004, 11:45 PM
XeroHouR's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: March 2004
Location: Osceola/Muncie IN
Posts: 1,264

woooo!
__________________
Sony Vaio SZ220
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #74 (permalink)  
Old 3rd September, 2004, 03:03 AM
lordbane's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2004
Posts: 9

My 2500-M goes to 2600 on air @ 1.85v, stable in Prime95. I'm very pleased.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #75 (permalink)  
Old 3rd September, 2004, 05:36 AM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

And well you should be! Great O/C Lordbane!
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #76 (permalink)  
Old 3rd September, 2004, 10:26 AM
Evc's Avatar
Evc Evc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 211
Send a message via AIM to Evc

Quote:
Originally Posted by lordbane
My 2500-M goes to 2600 on air @ 1.85v, stable in Prime95. I'm very pleased.
I'll have to give that a shot. I just want to see how high this chip cna go
__________________
CPU:Intel Core2Duo E6600 @ 3.1GHz / MoBo:Gigabyte N650SLI-DS4 / RAM:2GB PC2-5300 / Graphics:BFG GeForce 780GT OC SLI / / Storage 1&2:Twin 250GB WD SATA2 16MB Cache / Storage 3:WD 160GB 7200RPM / Storage 4: WD 320GB SATA2 16MB Cache + 400GB and 250GB IDE in USB / DVD-Writer:Samsung SATA Lightscribe Multi-drive
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #77 (permalink)  
Old 3rd September, 2004, 02:16 PM
lordbane's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2004
Posts: 9

I was VERY pleased with the CPU's result. Just make sure you you have a really decent cooler and a lot of air flow if you're not using water. She'll post into Windows at 2.7GHz @ 1.95v but it heats up too fast and it fails Prime (and gets flaky after a short while).

I monkeyed around with my board and worked out the tightesr timings on the FSB with the best multiplier to get me to as close to the chip's best stable speed (245 x 10.5 = ~2578MHz). It involved a lot of patience, some research and a bit of moxy to document and figure out exactly where I could hit and still have everything solid in Prime95.

She'll work at 250 x 10.5 CPC off in Prime95 (1.9v), but the extra MHz and FSB don't entirely make up for the extra heat and the performance loss from turning off CPC.

Considering that I got it for about $130 CAD and it scores as well in most benchmarks as a P4 3.4-3.6GHz (about $400 CAD), it's well worth a shot for anyone. Those are great little chips. I might get another one and build a second rig out of my old motherboard for the folks.
__________________
AMD XP 2500-M @ 2578MHz (245 x 10.5) @ 1.85v
TT Extreme Volcano 12 w/ UFO mod
DFI NFII Ultra Infinity 6-19-04 BIOS @ 1.8v
2x512MB OCZ PC4200EL DDR (10-4-4-3-2.5-11-14 CPC ON) @ 3.0v
MSI GeForce 6800GT video @ 395/1110
2x160GB Maxtor SATA w/ 8MB RAID 0 + 120GB Maxtor ATA133 w/ 8MB
LG-4120B DVD+RW/-RW 12X/8X (Dual Layer)
SB Audigy 2 ZS Platinum
Intel PRO/100+ NIC
21" Optiquest Q115
Logitech MX510 mouse / Logitech Wingman3D / EluminX keyboard
X-Dreamer II case + 500w PSU
Windows XP SP2
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #78 (permalink)  
Old 3rd September, 2004, 05:40 PM
Maelstrom2160's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: ENGLAND
Posts: 230

Quote:
Originally Posted by lordbane
Considering that I got it for about $130 CAD and it scores as well in most benchmarks as a P4 3.4-3.6GHz (about $400 CAD), it's well worth a shot for anyone. Those are great little chips. I might get another one and build a second rig out of my old motherboard for the folks.
thats what its all about in the end getting as much performance as posible for least amount of money

laz
already bound myself into a agreement with the bloke, cpu city is out of stock now anyhow. In the future if they can secure good steppings on the lastest gen of cpu i'll probably shop with them, their delivery prices seem damn reasonable compared to most online computer shops.

This german who i scored the iqyha off has been securing good stepping units for while now, if cpu city are out theres always him. I want his sources!
__________________

2600+ (IQYHA 0433), DFI infinity rev.A
2*256MB XMS3500 bh-5, R9800pro
CoolerMaster atc-200, Enermax 350watt psu
Maxtor 40GB 2MB fireball3 HD, Toshiba sd-r 1202 cd-r/dvd rom combo drive
Creative Audigy2 connected upto modded seperates
LG 915ft plus 19" monitor@1600-1200 @85hz
Logitech duel optical mouse USB, Win XP pro SP2
DD maze3/swiftech mcw20a/asetek gpu/l30/escort rad (all 1/2")
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #79 (permalink)  
Old 27th November, 2004, 08:35 PM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2004
Posts: 36

Hay guys Im new to OC'ing
And am running a xp 2500 mobil with a thermaltake 11 plus
2 matching sticks of Samsung 512 ram
On a A7N8X-E in a Chin Ming or Antec [same thing] tower with 5 80mm case fans
im running a multi of 11.5 or 12 at 200- trying boath- at about 104 F with a 71 ambiant case temp.
the systen seems to run fine for a wile untill after about 15 min of gaming when the video seems to freeze up for about 1 to 2 min
i havent changed the V-core setting or the video settings at all.
im using a 400 watt poweer supplly with a chaintech 5700 ultra video card
The 3200 barton i had on this systom never froze up so i guess its the processor settings.
Is there a V-core setting that i should use mabey bump up the voltage.
But anny advise would be apreachated.
BadArthur
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #80 (permalink)  
Old 28th November, 2004, 09:15 AM
Maelstrom2160's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: ENGLAND
Posts: 230

Yeah, the'll be aload of settings in ya bios for voltage adjustment, vcores the one ya wanna bump up a bit if ya trying to overclock

Ya wanna download some programs to test stability of you CPU's new performace rating, sandra diagnostics (burn in option) and prime 95 (torture test option) are two good ones. When ya cranking ya FSB up memtest86 is what ya gunna wanna use to test out if ya memory is up to the challenge of you FSB overclock

when im testing for stability i run sandra+prime 95+a mp3 player simutaneously, if (when) ya start getting errors reported back to you (or hard locks), increase your vcore a little more or drop ya multiplier or FSB. Take it up gradually, dont push to hard or ya FSB/CPU wont like it. It'd be a good idea for you to find out how to reset the configeration settings you select in ya bios, so if something goes to crap (ya push to hard) ya not sitting there looking at a blank screen, there should be a referance in you manual for clearing ya cmos, it'll be a contact ya can break on the curcuit (a jumper), alternatively pop out the cell that powers the device that holds the settings (cmos)

once ya find ya OC sweetspot, get some gaming in if ya notice ya performace in game is compromised wether straight away or a a long gaming session after ya heatsink and case has warmed up, knock down ya overclock settings a bit wether it be you CPU or FSB untill you regain a more fluid, less jittery performace

little advice cause like most soon as ya start OC'ing you'll probably wanna milk the system for all its worth, dont go crazy though buying loads of loud fans to try and milk a few more MHZ out ya system, keep in quite and be happy that ya got a little extra performace

extra cooling will get ya a few extra MHZ, but cooling will never EVER defeat jitter
__________________

2600+ (IQYHA 0433), DFI infinity rev.A
2*256MB XMS3500 bh-5, R9800pro
CoolerMaster atc-200, Enermax 350watt psu
Maxtor 40GB 2MB fireball3 HD, Toshiba sd-r 1202 cd-r/dvd rom combo drive
Creative Audigy2 connected upto modded seperates
LG 915ft plus 19" monitor@1600-1200 @85hz
Logitech duel optical mouse USB, Win XP pro SP2
DD maze3/swiftech mcw20a/asetek gpu/l30/escort rad (all 1/2")
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMD Athlon XP-M 2600, magic stepping" mixx666 Online Deals, and Steals 46 10th August, 2006 06:33 PM
Overclocking the Athlon XP 2600+ Barton? Redroar AMD Motherboards & CPUs 15 16th January, 2006 11:17 PM
Speed of AMD Athlon XP 2600+ djXternal AMD Motherboards & CPUs 5 16th April, 2005 01:23 AM
TB 2600 or Barton 2500? dbruynmf EPoX MotherBoards 2 7th October, 2003 11:44 AM
Overclock Athlon 2600 on a 8rga+ mickc1303 EPoX MotherBoards 4 18th July, 2003 09:08 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:14 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0