AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 8th May, 2004, 12:15 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 4

KT333+ Barton?

will my EPOX 8K3A+( KT333 chipset) unlock the barton? im looking at the XP 2800+ to go in my system since my XP2400 died
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 8th May, 2004, 12:39 AM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

I honestly don't know if it will unlock old Bartons or not, but I can guarantee that it won't unlock any of the new ones. They are all hard locked at the factory now.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 8th May, 2004, 01:02 AM
whatever's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: moon
Posts: 1,132

amen...



also Mark, why don't you look for mobile barton and see if the lastest BIOS version for the 8K3A will work with that CPU.
__________________
sig
HTPC
Conroe E6600 + stock cooler @ 3.2ghz
ATi X1950XTX 512 CrossFire
Triple WD Raptor 10k HDDs@ raid 0
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PHD7UY
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PH9UK
BetterCable SilverSerpent SVGA & DVI-D
Sony BWU-100A Blu-Ray PC Drive

p4 - superPi - 31 sec.
pM - superPi - 28 sec.
conroe - superPi - 14 sec.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 8th May, 2004, 01:30 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 4

are these mobile bartons unlocked?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 8th May, 2004, 02:40 AM
whatever's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: moon
Posts: 1,132

Oui
__________________
sig
HTPC
Conroe E6600 + stock cooler @ 3.2ghz
ATi X1950XTX 512 CrossFire
Triple WD Raptor 10k HDDs@ raid 0
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PHD7UY
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PH9UK
BetterCable SilverSerpent SVGA & DVI-D
Sony BWU-100A Blu-Ray PC Drive

p4 - superPi - 31 sec.
pM - superPi - 28 sec.
conroe - superPi - 14 sec.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 8th May, 2004, 04:19 AM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Finland
Posts: 109

Quote:
Originally Posted by mark076
will my EPOX 8K3A+( KT333 chipset) unlock the barton? im looking at the XP 2800+ to go in my system since my XP2400 died
KT333 doesnt unlock Tbred´s or Barton´s without wire trick.
__________________
EpoX 8K3A+ (rev1.0)
XP-M 2400+ @ 2545MHz @ 1.95V
Corsair XMS PC3500C2 512Mb+Kingston HyperX PC3000 512Mb @ 212MHz 3.16V
Asus FX5900 @ 560MHz/990MHz.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 9th May, 2004, 07:05 AM
Repo Man's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Location: Chico, CA
Posts: 513
Send a message via ICQ to Repo Man Send a message via AIM to Repo Man

I have an 2500+ mobile in my 8K3A+. It works fine, and I can change the multiplier.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 11th May, 2004, 03:47 PM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Finland
Posts: 109

Ok i got CPU today and tried to run Pifast33 with it.
AXMD2400FJQ4C
AQYHA 0409SPMW

2028MHz@1.4V 20´C "water"
2243MHz@1.55V
2360MHz@1.63V
2452MHz@1.73V
2538MHz@1.82V
2618MHz@1.92V
2676MHz@2.02V
2682MHz@2.14V
I cooled water to +11´C and Pifast ran 2723MHz@2.14V,but then i hit the wall.
Dunno though would this run better on different mobo since my Duron ran 2600MHz@1.92V on 8KRA2+ and on this 8K3A+ it runs ~2540MHz@1.92V with same water temp.
Edit: typos
__________________
EpoX 8K3A+ (rev1.0)
XP-M 2400+ @ 2545MHz @ 1.95V
Corsair XMS PC3500C2 512Mb+Kingston HyperX PC3000 512Mb @ 212MHz 3.16V
Asus FX5900 @ 560MHz/990MHz.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 11th May, 2004, 04:15 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

The only way your mobo would come into play is if it is having problems keeping the VCore voltage stable or if you are hitting the limits of your FSB, I would think.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 11th May, 2004, 05:02 PM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Finland
Posts: 109

Quote:
Originally Posted by gizmo
The only way your mobo would come into play is if it is having problems keeping the VCore voltage stable or if you are hitting the limits of your FSB, I would think.
FSB isnt problem.
I first ran 12.5x218MHz and tried 13x210MHz which was too much.
Here is again picture of my multiplier jumpper thingy.
Attached Thumbnails
KT333+ Barton?-epox_8k3a_manual_multi_mod2.jpg  
__________________
EpoX 8K3A+ (rev1.0)
XP-M 2400+ @ 2545MHz @ 1.95V
Corsair XMS PC3500C2 512Mb+Kingston HyperX PC3000 512Mb @ 212MHz 3.16V
Asus FX5900 @ 560MHz/990MHz.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 11th May, 2004, 05:43 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

I just realized, you never got the official AOA welcome, so before we do anything else:

Wecome to AOA! We hope you find the forums to be of use!


Ok, now we've got that out of the way.

Back to your board:

Quote:
Originally Posted by WR-HW95
FSB isnt problem.
I first ran 12.5x218MHz and tried 13x210MHz which was too much.
Here is again picture of my multiplier jumpper thingy.
Ewwwww................that looks NASTY! Looks like something <I> would build, actually.

I would tend to lean toward the idea that you're not getting a good stable output from your VCore regulator at the higher voltage settings. There are a lot of reasons that could be the case, starting with your PSU. I'll bet if you cranked your Duron up to those voltages, even at its known-to-run settings, it would become unstable. Either that, or that chip just doesn't like voltage. I've got a 2500+ that will do 2.6 GHz all day long at 1.9 volts, and will not go any higher no matter what you do. Kick the voltage up to 2.1 volts and the chip becomes unstable, even at stock speeds.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 11th May, 2004, 07:21 PM
whatever's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: moon
Posts: 1,132

Quote:
Originally Posted by WR-HW95
Ok i got CPU today and tried to run Pifast33 with it.
AXMD2400FJQ4C
AQYHA 0409SPMW

2028MHz@1.4V 20´C "water"
2243MHz@1.55V
2360MHz@1.63V
2452MHz@1.73V
2538MHz@1.82V
2618MHz@1.92V
2676MHz@2.02V
2682MHz@2.14V
I cooled water to +11´C and Pifast ran 2723MHz@2.14V,but then i hit the wall.
That's a nice chip.

The 8K3As do good job getting to high total clocks. If you had that on DFI Infinity/LP b board, I wouldn't be surprised if you top out at under 2600Mhz@ same water temp regardless of Vcore mod, unless you get a real lucky one.

I would use 8K3A, NF7s, or the like, to test for total clocking purpose.
__________________
sig
HTPC
Conroe E6600 + stock cooler @ 3.2ghz
ATi X1950XTX 512 CrossFire
Triple WD Raptor 10k HDDs@ raid 0
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PHD7UY
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PH9UK
BetterCable SilverSerpent SVGA & DVI-D
Sony BWU-100A Blu-Ray PC Drive

p4 - superPi - 31 sec.
pM - superPi - 28 sec.
conroe - superPi - 14 sec.

Last edited by whatever; 11th May, 2004 at 08:04 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 11th May, 2004, 10:23 PM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Finland
Posts: 109

Quote:
Originally Posted by gizmo
I just realized, you never got the official AOA welcome, so before we do anything else:

Wecome to AOA! We hope you find the forums to be of use!


I would tend to lean toward the idea that you're not getting a good stable output from your VCore regulator at the higher voltage settings. There are a lot of reasons that could be the case, starting with your PSU. I'll bet if you cranked your Duron up to those voltages, even at its known-to-run settings, it would become unstable. Either that, or that chip just doesn't like voltage. I've got a 2500+ that will do 2.6 GHz all day long at 1.9 volts, and will not go any higher no matter what you do. Kick the voltage up to 2.1 volts and the chip becomes unstable, even at stock speeds.
Thanks.
I think its power regulation too (rev1.2 has different type mosfets).
We didnt try this board in dryice tests,because my brothers rev1.2 board runs higher FSB.
Anyway we got little bit over 3GHz with that rev1.2 board and ~2730MHz is highest what i have got with this.
To that core/voltage thing comes, my Duron works some how @ ~2.15V if water temp is bellow +5´C.
But in normal use limit when it starts to do random boots is around 1.98V.
This works with voltage...at least doesnt boot,but i think best with water cooling is under 2.1V.

And one more comparison between this 8K3A+ and 8KRA2+
Max speed which i got from Duron with KRA2+ was 2728MHz@1.98V (bios 2.0V)
With this mobo 2711MHz@~2.13V (bios 2.15V)

8KRA2+ rev1.1 was really good product...it just didnt handle my usage (both messed up in 2 weeks)
__________________
EpoX 8K3A+ (rev1.0)
XP-M 2400+ @ 2545MHz @ 1.95V
Corsair XMS PC3500C2 512Mb+Kingston HyperX PC3000 512Mb @ 212MHz 3.16V
Asus FX5900 @ 560MHz/990MHz.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 13th May, 2004, 05:29 AM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Finland
Posts: 109

Ok did little bit Pifast33 with this CPU.
I did 7:30 in SuperPi 8M, but partition messed up when i shut down windows.
It was weird though that i ran up to 227MHz FSB in windows and dropped to 222MHz when i shut it down and it still messed up.
So anyway that picture corrupted, but i beat my KT600+Duron(XP) record by 5 secs.
And in pifast 0.23secs better time than with KT600+Duron(XP).
Attached Thumbnails
KT333+ Barton?-pifast_kt333_226-9x12_24-41s.jpg   KT333+ Barton?-pifast_kt600_11.5x237-3_24-64.jpg  
__________________
EpoX 8K3A+ (rev1.0)
XP-M 2400+ @ 2545MHz @ 1.95V
Corsair XMS PC3500C2 512Mb+Kingston HyperX PC3000 512Mb @ 212MHz 3.16V
Asus FX5900 @ 560MHz/990MHz.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 15th May, 2004, 04:47 PM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Finland
Posts: 109

I´ll get another mobile XP next week.
If i have any luck it should be IQYHA stepping 1.45V 2400+.
I read some crazy stuff about 1 of those otherday,but havent seen any proof yet.
__________________
EpoX 8K3A+ (rev1.0)
XP-M 2400+ @ 2545MHz @ 1.95V
Corsair XMS PC3500C2 512Mb+Kingston HyperX PC3000 512Mb @ 212MHz 3.16V
Asus FX5900 @ 560MHz/990MHz.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 18th May, 2004, 01:18 AM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Finland
Posts: 109

I got 2400+ IQYHA 0406 UPMW.
It was bad cpu (already running "old" one).

1.4V@2065MHz
1.5V@2218MHz
1.6V@2323MHz
1.68V@2407MHz
1.87V@2522MHz
1.92V@2528MHz
1.97V@2541MHz
2.02V@2548MHz
With higher Vcore puter booted at desktop.
Those are about 25MHz over stable speed if it goes like with this 1.35V cpu.
I decided that i wont buy more Socket A CPU´s, next will be S939 when time comes (means money )
__________________
EpoX 8K3A+ (rev1.0)
XP-M 2400+ @ 2545MHz @ 1.95V
Corsair XMS PC3500C2 512Mb+Kingston HyperX PC3000 512Mb @ 212MHz 3.16V
Asus FX5900 @ 560MHz/990MHz.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 18th May, 2004, 12:20 PM
Sideburns's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2002
Location: UK, North East
Posts: 280

Glad to see people still overclocking strong on the 8k3a's
__________________
"Pain is only relative to the comfort you live in"

Athlon 64 3700+, Shuttle sn95, 1gb, nvidia 7600gt

----old-----
xp1700+ @ xp2600 (12.5*166 / 1.6v), epox 8k3a+, TwinMos + Geil 1.5gb ram, Ati radeon 8500 128mb
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 22nd May, 2004, 08:26 PM
nfrenay's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Brazil
Posts: 573
Send a message via ICQ to nfrenay

I think the 8k3a+ was one of the best boards Epox ever made...

Still love mine.

I just wish they made a BIOS with more options.

The weather is starting to get cold now, I'll probably do some no-limits overclocking here just for fun!

I just wish I had a better processor (and memory). My CPU doesn't overclock well.

My "record" for a SuperPi 1M (not being 100% stable) is 46 seconds.
Athlon XP 1700+ JIUGB 0251 @ 2393Mhz(208x12), 2.2v
Epox 8k3a+ (KT333) - BIOS 2B01
KHX PC2700(512mb, 2-2-2-6 1T, 3.0v)
Home made Watercooler

And I even hit 230MHz FSB once, just for testing... But I wouldn't dare running 230 everyday on a KT333...
__________________
- EPoX 8K3A+ rev 1.2 (BIOS 3414)
- XP 1700+ "JIUGB" @ 1979MHz @ 1.65V
- Home-made WaterCooler
- 512Mb Kingston Hyper-X PC2700 @ 2-2-6-2-1 @ 198MHz @ 2.67V
- MSI GF4 Ti4400 VIVO
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Barton & KT333 Rainbow EPoX MotherBoards 1 1st June, 2003 06:58 PM
KT333, Highest FSB? Supradog AMD Motherboards & CPUs 9 26th March, 2003 09:16 AM
EP-8K9A or KT333 ? nucro EPoX MotherBoards 5 15th February, 2003 07:34 PM
Kt333 demonX AMD Motherboards & CPUs 3 11th March, 2002 01:30 AM
KT333 dead evilernie EPoX MotherBoards 12 8th February, 2002 01:16 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:43 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0