AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 20th May, 2004, 06:24 PM
Lazgoat's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,868

XP-M 2500+ Multipliers

Evening all,

just wondering whether these CPU's work with multi's past 11, or whether its just my setup?
I'm trying this at 225 x 11, but cant get the PC to boot successfully at 11.5 x 215 or 210 x 12.

Any ideas?

Laz.
__________________
DFI SLi-D, Opteron 144 @ 2.8Ghz, 4x512MB PDP XBLK, 160GB WD Caviar SE, Benq 1620DW DVD-RW, X1800XT 256MB,Custom WC.


AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 20th May, 2004, 07:39 PM
XeroHouR's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: March 2004
Location: Osceola/Muncie IN
Posts: 1,264

my 2600 mobile barton doesn't like to go from the "low range" x-12.5 into the high range (13+) without resetting the bios. I usually have to jump it out to reset it, then set the multi first, restart then set the FSB to overclock it. So I'd start it after the jumpout, set the multi to 13, restart, then go into bios and set the FSB to whatever I want. Try that maybe that will help.
__________________
Sony Vaio SZ220
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 20th May, 2004, 10:24 PM
Lazgoat's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,868

Thanks for the tip, I'll give it a shot. I figure I also may need a new BIOS, I'm running a pretty dated one!

Thanks,

Laz.
__________________
DFI SLi-D, Opteron 144 @ 2.8Ghz, 4x512MB PDP XBLK, 160GB WD Caviar SE, Benq 1620DW DVD-RW, X1800XT 256MB,Custom WC.


AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 20th May, 2004, 11:54 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

I've had mine up to 13x205 in my NF7-S, so I know they work.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 22nd May, 2004, 02:24 AM
JMa2969's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2004
Location: Watertown, New York
Posts: 122
Send a message via AIM to JMa2969

Ditto to what Gizmo said. I have had mine at x14 and x15 in testing. Although right now I am running at 200x12(my board seems to love x12). I tried four DFI boards and have found failings in all of them (although I hit 240+ FSB on the DFI and I can only run around 220 FSB on this AN7, the tradeoff is worth it to have a totally stable board even at a lower FSB, which I never achieved with the DFI. The closest i got to a working DFI board only booted properly half the time, I had to hit reset the other half after 10 seconds of running to get it to boot, and as I use programs to turn my comp on I needed a booting board). DOWN WITH DFI!!!!
__________________
Through nature's inflexible grace, I'm learning to live!
AthlonXP-M 2500+ "Barton"
Abit AN7 (Bios 15)
Corsair TwinX 512Mb PC-3200LL RAM 11-3-2-2
2x Hitachi 80Gb 7k250 SATA Drives RAID0 (with WDC 20Gig Backup)
Antec Performance Plus 1080 AMG With 5 fans
Vantec Aeroflow CPU fan (all air here)
MSI GeForce 5900XT-VTD VGA
Creative Audigy MP3+
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 22nd May, 2004, 08:44 AM
XeroHouR's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: March 2004
Location: Osceola/Muncie IN
Posts: 1,264

idk if its my board or my cpu but it feels like the board, i can't go over 2.4 on my dfi but back to the topic, my moble was running at Xx15, 16, all the way up to 22 I think and it was fine as long as i didn't exceed 2.4(so at 22 my fsb was slower than a honda race up hill). I know you have those multis unless u have a recent cpu, u just gotta get at them
__________________
Sony Vaio SZ220
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 23rd May, 2004, 12:06 AM
Lazgoat's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,868

Thanks for the replies! It was simply a case o increasing Vcore to get stability, it works perfectly at 200 x 12.
I flashed to the current BIOS and guess what? In my haste forgot to restore defaults, the flash went ok'ish but the PC became unstable at settings I knew worked. So I reflashed properly and so far so good.
Noticing higher temps with the NF7-S D23 BIOS, seems to be reporting about 5C higher.

Laz.
__________________
DFI SLi-D, Opteron 144 @ 2.8Ghz, 4x512MB PDP XBLK, 160GB WD Caviar SE, Benq 1620DW DVD-RW, X1800XT 256MB,Custom WC.


AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 24th May, 2004, 04:10 AM
whatever's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: moon
Posts: 1,132

Quote:
Originally Posted by JMa2969
Ditto to what Gizmo said. I have had mine at x14 and x15 in testing. Although right now I am running at 200x12(my board seems to love x12). I tried four DFI boards and have found failings in all of them (although I hit 240+ FSB on the DFI and I can only run around 220 FSB on this AN7, the tradeoff is worth it to have a totally stable board even at a lower FSB, which I never achieved with the DFI. The closest i got to a working DFI board only booted properly half the time, I had to hit reset the other half after 10 seconds of running to get it to boot, and as I use programs to turn my comp on I needed a booting board).
Here comes another spamming. I can make a list of whole load of links you spammed about the DFI boards. Should I post them? You also said this junk when the subject had nothing to do with the DFI boards. I take it the "multiplier" = "DFI" ? lol...

Everything is DFI is it? Do you dream about DFI too? When you eat, you think about DFI? Oh my Lord.

Btw, all multipliers including 12x, 12.5x, 13x, 13.5x, 14x and Up all works. How the hell do you think I got to 3000mhz@ 15 x 200 with my DFI board??

This damn spammer needs to be kicked out. I'm getting fed up with this spammer.

Quote:
DOWN WITH DFI!!!

how could it be down with DFI when it is the user error?



oh.. 15x works? ATTENTION: This is with DFI board.
Attached Thumbnails
XP-M 2500+ Multipliers-105_0516.jpg  
__________________
sig
HTPC
Conroe E6600 + stock cooler @ 3.2ghz
ATi X1950XTX 512 CrossFire
Triple WD Raptor 10k HDDs@ raid 0
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PHD7UY
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PH9UK
BetterCable SilverSerpent SVGA & DVI-D
Sony BWU-100A Blu-Ray PC Drive

p4 - superPi - 31 sec.
pM - superPi - 28 sec.
conroe - superPi - 14 sec.

Last edited by whatever; 24th May, 2004 at 04:50 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 24th May, 2004, 08:48 PM
Lazgoat's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,868

whatever, what have you got in your sig!??
I know you've coloured it so we cant see it but have you also got some script running that stops us seeing the source code of the page, and your sig?

Laz.

*Edit*
Nevermind.....CTRL+A reveals everything!
__________________
DFI SLi-D, Opteron 144 @ 2.8Ghz, 4x512MB PDP XBLK, 160GB WD Caviar SE, Benq 1620DW DVD-RW, X1800XT 256MB,Custom WC.


AOA Team fah

Last edited by Lazgoat; 24th May, 2004 at 08:54 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 24th May, 2004, 09:00 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

All I did was highlite it. Shows up great.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 24th May, 2004, 11:03 PM
whatever's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: moon
Posts: 1,132

__________________
sig
HTPC
Conroe E6600 + stock cooler @ 3.2ghz
ATi X1950XTX 512 CrossFire
Triple WD Raptor 10k HDDs@ raid 0
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PHD7UY
50" Panasonic Plasma TH50PH9UK
BetterCable SilverSerpent SVGA & DVI-D
Sony BWU-100A Blu-Ray PC Drive

p4 - superPi - 31 sec.
pM - superPi - 28 sec.
conroe - superPi - 14 sec.

Last edited by whatever; 25th May, 2004 at 05:13 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
multipliers skool h8r Hardware Hacking 13 9th July, 2006 12:48 PM
Multipliers? murdaki11 EPoX MotherBoards 2 17th March, 2003 11:57 AM
2400+ different multipliers vs. different FSB BMORIN EPoX MotherBoards 2 20th January, 2003 07:54 PM
Multipliers and such bigjohnson AMD Motherboards & CPUs 24 30th March, 2002 06:17 AM
Here's another one. (Multipliers and RAM) Malachyte EPoX MotherBoards 11 27th February, 2002 10:19 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:09 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0