AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #41 (permalink)  
Old 15th June, 2004, 11:49 PM
Razorfish's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,878
Send a message via MSN to Razorfish

I cant lower it ive tried twice now, hey and everythings slowed down abit (load times etc), my computer is crazy, i think it may be software proplems, im going to run Norton utitities tommorrow. ive been having problems with my graphics drivers and i think these something wrong somewere along the line....i hate windows!

oh btw 170 x 11 at 1.75 seemed okay but ill have to do some more tests like burn in wizard on sisoft sandra
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #42 (permalink)  
Old 15th June, 2004, 11:54 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

Previously, if you had a lot of crashes whilst windows was booting some of the system files may now be damaged. You may have to reinstall.

When installing run the system at stock speeds for safety. After that you can o/c at known stable settings without any worries.

You could see if you can get a higher FSB at 1.8v, I think even a locked chip should go higher than 11 x 170.
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #43 (permalink)  
Old 16th June, 2004, 12:02 AM
Razorfish's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,878
Send a message via MSN to Razorfish

I think so to, eventually im just gonna upgrade to an xp3200, but i wanted to get as much practice in on what was supposed to be a overclockers dream. Hehe
Oh BTW, re-installing windows, Do i just reformat the hard drive using Western D'd data life guard, and install windows. And what do you do about registering windows after instalation, do microsoft not mine us installing windows over and over?
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #44 (permalink)  
Old 16th June, 2004, 12:08 AM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

Don't reformat the disk with WD's data life guard. Just use the windows install format function.

You can activate windows as many times as you like, but you might have to do it over the phone. It's no big deal.

There's a 30 day grace period before you have to activate.
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #45 (permalink)  
Old 16th June, 2004, 12:10 AM
Razorfish's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,878
Send a message via MSN to Razorfish

Hey danrok you ever see the pictures of my system i put up a while back???
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #46 (permalink)  
Old 16th June, 2004, 12:10 AM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

I would get a mobile cpu before upgrading RAM. Better RAM will cost, but won't give a big performance increase over what you have now.
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #47 (permalink)  
Old 16th June, 2004, 12:24 AM
Razorfish's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,878
Send a message via MSN to Razorfish

Are the mobiles as good as there made out to be, i know they run cooler and have unlocked multipliers.
Jeres some pictures of my rig
Attached Thumbnails
3D Mark 2003 (i know)-cpu3.jpg   3D Mark 2003 (i know)-cpu4.jpg   3D Mark 2003 (i know)-cpu1.jpg  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #48 (permalink)  
Old 16th June, 2004, 10:16 AM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

The mobiles are the best XP chips to get, but they are a bit thin on the ground in the UK right now. The only ones I can see are here:
http://www.overclockers.co.uk/acatal...__Mobile_.html

But, those have the 133mhz bus which is not so good. I guess you could always get a locked XP3200 which would be fast enough anyhow.

That's a nice looking set-up you have there!
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #49 (permalink)  
Old 16th June, 2004, 02:50 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

All of the mobiles run 133 FSB, but they will quite readilly hit the 220 MHz range on my NF7. Even the POS AQYHA steppings.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #50 (permalink)  
Old 16th June, 2004, 05:41 PM
Razorfish's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,878
Send a message via MSN to Razorfish

Hey gizmo, can i ask a question, you know your AOA staff, does that mean you get up in a morning and get paid to sit infront of your computer???
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #51 (permalink)  
Old 16th June, 2004, 07:10 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo



Unfortunately, no. In point of fact, all of the work done here is on a volunteer basis. I happen to be fortunate enough to have a job where I can check in from time to time during the day without getting fired (as long as I get my regular work done).

If you feel that AOA offers you a valuable service, you can purchase a member subscription to AOA from Daniel ~. I believe it is like $40/year. You should be able to find details here.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #52 (permalink)  
Old 16th June, 2004, 11:57 PM
Razorfish's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,878
Send a message via MSN to Razorfish

So by paying the 40$ you become staff? i reckon im gonna pay anyway you guys guys have saved me that much on returns postage and pakaging on items i couldnt get working.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #53 (permalink)  
Old 17th June, 2004, 12:36 AM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

Errr.......no.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #54 (permalink)  
Old 17th June, 2004, 12:38 AM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

Membership in Staff is by invitation, and requires that you have some expertise that the other members of Staff feel is beneficial to the development of AOA as a whole. Staff has as its singular mission the futher development and improvement of AOA.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #55 (permalink)  
Old 17th June, 2004, 10:42 AM
Razorfish's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,878
Send a message via MSN to Razorfish

Well i better learn loads more about overclocking, hey i do have one thing to offer, if any one has any problems with PCBs or need a crash course in soldering, send them my way. I was telling daniel about my work with prototype PCBs especial using surface mount components, which are used for about 90% of the components on a motherboard. hehe. so any problems feel free to ask.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #56 (permalink)  
Old 17th June, 2004, 02:36 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

Yeah, I've done more than a little soldering on surface mount PWBs myself. A surface mount rework station sure makes things a lot simpler. It's also about the only way to replace quad flat packs unless you have got extremely stead hands. It IS the only way I know of to replace ICs that have 'J' leads on them.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #57 (permalink)  
Old 17th June, 2004, 02:51 PM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

Quote:
Originally Posted by Razorfish
Well i better learn loads more about overclocking,
What's overclocking?!?!
Staff member,
Rob
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #58 (permalink)  
Old 17th June, 2004, 03:11 PM
tlemaste's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2002
Location: West Corners, NY
Posts: 79
Send a message via Yahoo to tlemaste

Quote:
Originally Posted by robbie
What's overclocking?!?!
Staff member,
Rob
Isn't that like: Daylight Savings Time? You know: that thingy the government did to make the cows get up early and give more milk and the chickens lay more eggs......
__________________
Tom
------------------
Gigabyte GA-MA790X-UD4P
Phenom II - X4 w/stock hs/f
Rosewill Gamers Case
2x - OCZ Flex-ex 2Gb 1200 DDR2
2x - OCZ 1Gb 800 DDR2
Pioneer 22x dvd burner
2x - WD 1Tb 7200 Rpm HD
WD 600GB 7200 Rpm HD
WD 340GB 7200 Rpm HD
WD 300GB 7200 Rpm HD
WD external 1Tb 7200 Rpm HD
evga NVidia GTX 460 SE
on-board Gbe Lan
Samsung SyncMaster SA300
ACER AK2016W
Thermaltake 800 watt psu
Win 7 Pro
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #59 (permalink)  
Old 17th June, 2004, 03:53 PM
Cerium's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 180

Yea excepr you over clock it so that your arnt late instead of one hour you go forward and extra 15 minutes.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #60 (permalink)  
Old 17th June, 2004, 05:03 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

DST is what happens when the government gets involved in overclocking.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
3D Mark 2003 Razorfish Benchmarking 208 2nd March, 2007 05:45 PM
Mark 05 Strongwolf Random Nonsense! 3 1st August, 2006 01:33 PM
3D Mark 2003 scores here danrok Benchmarking 118 30th June, 2004 03:59 PM
3D Mark 2003 Razorfish Benchmarking 10 14th June, 2004 11:57 PM
3D Mark 03 OUT!!! bradmax57 EPoX MotherBoards 16 12th February, 2003 10:12 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:03 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0