AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 23rd June, 2004, 02:19 PM
LBJGH's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: North of Toronto
Posts: 459

Stuck at “Verifying DMI Pool Data..” Epox 8KDA3+

I currently have a unique Athlon64 (3100+) on an 8KDA3+.

The board came with bios version 05/05/2004 and identified the CPU as a 2900+ and runs the CPU at the correct 9x200=1800mhz.

With bios 05/05/2004 I found that I could not save any of the CPU tweaking settings, i.e. HT speed, multipliers or DRAM settings.

I used the windows-based flash utility to check for updates and flashed the bios to the latest version, 05/14/2004. The bios flashed successfully but now I can’t get beyond the “Verifying DMI Pool Data..” at startup.

I’ve thought I may have had a bad flash so I used the alt-F2 method and flashed from a floppy disk (again successfully) but I’m still stuck at the “Verifying DMI Pool Data..”

The LED indicates and error 96 which according to the manual may be,

- Build MP table
- Build & update ESCD
- Set CMOS century 20h or 19h
- Load CMOS time into DOS time tick
- Build MSIRQ routing table

I tried setting the bios to “fail-safe” and “optimum”, cleared the CMOS jumper and manually set the PCI irq to reserved and auto. I even added a PCI card thinking that the CMOS would update the ESCD but the system is still fubar’d.

I am now thinking that the new bios doesn’t recognize the 3100+ but I can’t find bios 05/05/2004 anywhere on the net.

Suggestions?

Tx LBJGH
__________________
AMD & ATI Powered!

DFI Lanparty S939 NF3 Ultra-D | AMD X2 4200 @ 2.6GHz | 1gb OCZ pc3200 rev2 TCC5 | ATI X800XT Platinum Edition| 2x120G WD | Plextor 712a | Antec SLK3700AMB| 520w OCZ PowerStream | Zalman 7000Cu

My Heatware 100% Positive
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 23rd June, 2004, 03:23 PM
_MID_Viking's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2004
Location: denmark
Posts: 220
Send a message via MSN to _MID_Viking

if u dont set the time and date in bios u can get some funny problems
__________________
amd 2500 mobil @ 10.5 x 232 1.95v idle temp 39c load temp 47c
DFI lanparty ultra rev b
slk 947u 80mm Tt ultra @3600rpm *max 4600 rpm*
antec trueblue 480w
2x512 mb OCZ 3500 CpC on 11 2 3 2.0
ati 9800 pro 120gb seagate 8 mb buffer

system ordered 1 week agow
DFI SLI D 3500+Venice 2x512mb OCZ 4000 VX GOLD
HIS X850 XT PE OCZ 520w PowerStream
2x250gb Maxtor Diamond 10 2x NEC3520
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 23rd June, 2004, 05:51 PM
LBJGH's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: North of Toronto
Posts: 459

Epox responded that I should disconnect the HD's and try to boot from a floppy as, ...Generally after the Verifying DMI pool data the system is attempting to boot to a drive. Ensure the boot sequence in the BIOS is properly set to match your configuration. Flashing the BIOS may have change what you had set prior.

If you still get the message try remove the hard drive (unplug the data cable) and boot to a bootable floppy disk. This would determine if its a drive issue or not.
__________________
AMD & ATI Powered!

DFI Lanparty S939 NF3 Ultra-D | AMD X2 4200 @ 2.6GHz | 1gb OCZ pc3200 rev2 TCC5 | ATI X800XT Platinum Edition| 2x120G WD | Plextor 712a | Antec SLK3700AMB| 520w OCZ PowerStream | Zalman 7000Cu

My Heatware 100% Positive
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 23rd June, 2004, 06:00 PM
mobius_13's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2004
Location: Hanover, PA, USA
Posts: 53
Send a message via MSN to mobius_13

In your bios do you have an option for "load optimal defults" if so , clear your cmos again, then select the "load optimal defults" save and exit, then set up your bios the way you want and try to post then, i know i had problems where windows would not boot, would get stuck on the "backing up cmos" screen. When i did the above options it fixed the prob. Hope this might help, good luck.
__________________
Hyundai Imagequest L90D+
Lian Li PC-60B Plus
OCZ 520W Powerstream
AMD A64 X2 Manchester @ 2640Mhz
DFI nF4 Ultra-D
G.Skill 2x1GB DDR400 @ 240Mhz
EVGA 8800GTS 640Mb @ 600/1800
Audigy2 ZS Gamer LE
WD 160GB S-ATA II
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
EPoX 8RDA3I Pro stuck on "F2" post code. DarkKnight EPoX MotherBoards 8 17th September, 2006 07:16 AM
EP-8HMMi-A 'veryfying DMI Pool DATA' with SATA drives tripitaka EPoX MotherBoards 2 29th June, 2005 05:00 PM
8KDA3+ and HyperRAM (A-Data) RAM NitroZX EPoX MotherBoards 2 6th August, 2004 12:52 PM
8RDA+ and ghost error verifying dmi after clone gplracer EPoX MotherBoards 1 30th December, 2003 01:03 AM
Nu Install win xp stuck at Verifying DMI Pool........ Pulveriser OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 2 30th March, 2002 03:30 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:25 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0