AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 25th June, 2004, 02:42 AM
Member
 
Join Date: June 2004
Posts: 7

Walmart AMD 2400??

I have a cheapie Walmart Compaq PC with an AMD 2400 cpu. What makes if different from newer 2700 and 3000 speed chips, and from my old 1500 Athlon.

How did the Athlon evolve? Do all these chips share a basic platform? Where are the biggest jumps in performance? Always been an AMD user and fan, and am curious about the various models.

Thanks
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 25th June, 2004, 03:22 AM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

I "think" with those systems they put in a decent CPU and everything else is cheap. The mobo is usually and "all-in-one" and the hard drive is usually a 5400. It probably comes with a modem that usually is a "software" modem and "on-board" audio. You'll probably get a DVD drive and a CD-ROM burner.
$.02
Rob
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 25th June, 2004, 03:53 AM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

The differences between the CPUs are not major. A 2400+ runs 15 x 133 = 2000mhz w/ 256k cache. The fastest (non A64) is a 3200+. It runs 11 x 200 = 2200mhz w/ 512k cache. The extra cache does help a bit, about 5% or so. The big thing is actually the FSB, only 133/266 on the 2400+. The 3200+ runs 200/400mhz, which gives you much better performance due to the memory bandwidth.

Do you fold?
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 26th June, 2004, 02:35 AM
Member
 
Join Date: June 2004
Posts: 7

The motherboard on my homebuilt computer supports 333 fsb. What chips run at 333?

thanks
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 26th June, 2004, 03:58 AM
RussianMissile1's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2003
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,229
Send a message via AIM to RussianMissile1

i believe the fastest 333fsb chip is the 2700+, but be warned, it also comes in a 266fsb variety.
__________________
<-- My Cat PWNZ J00!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 26th June, 2004, 04:00 AM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

333 FSB is available all the way up to 3000+. However, there is also a 3000+ that is 400 FSB.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Walmart go back to the traditional BETA look danrok Random Nonsense! 12 7th February, 2007 02:55 PM
Walmart Job Application Betty Mookydooky's Just for laughs! 3 8th August, 2003 09:52 PM
$115 Xp 2400 runs at 2400 good deal? The Spyder AMD Motherboards & CPUs 6 25th February, 2003 03:31 PM
2400+ bldegle2 AMD Motherboards & CPUs 2 4th December, 2002 06:28 AM
Walmart is Selling Lindows PCs Superman Random Nonsense! 11 16th June, 2002 03:42 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:59 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0