AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 27th June, 2004, 07:04 AM
Member
 
Join Date: June 2004
Posts: 7

Question OC my old mobile Athlon??

This is my first cut at OC, and I need to know where to start. This box is already fast enough for my needs, but it would be fun to play and learn about overclocking.

My XP 1500+ chip turned out to be a Mobile Athlon 1346, but I guess this is a good thing since it runs in 36-39C temp range. I loaded MBM5 and AIDA32, and saw what they do. Now I'm ready to pull the trigger and change some stuff, but don't have a clue what to do.

The board supports 333 fsb and overclocking. Memory now 128 PC2200 soon to be 512 PC2700. Any advice appreciated. Thanks.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 27th June, 2004, 10:01 AM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

What motherboard do you have?
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 27th June, 2004, 10:04 AM
Lazgoat's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,868

Hi LexusDaisy,
Could you post what motherboard and CPU cooling you have? Your overclocking success will be influenced greatly by these two in terms of Voltage selection, multiplier choice, FSB, memory settings and heat removal.

Laz.
__________________
DFI SLi-D, Opteron 144 @ 2.8Ghz, 4x512MB PDP XBLK, 160GB WD Caviar SE, Benq 1620DW DVD-RW, X1800XT 256MB,Custom WC.


AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 27th June, 2004, 11:24 AM
Soul99's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: UK Portsmouth
Posts: 306
Send a message via ICQ to Soul99

you did get the correct chip, the XP1500 is a 1333mhz part the XP1600 being 1400mhz.

I think the default voltage for that chip will be about 1.4 or 1.3v, you should be fine at up to 1.8v with sufficient air cooling, is it a palomino core or an T'bred core? was the die square or rectangular?
__________________
XP 2500 @ 2400mhz 1.76v Idle -5c, Load 9 c | Abit NF7-s V2.0 @ 218 FSB
Adata PC3200 2 x 512meg @ 218 mhz | R9700 Pro @ 415Mhz core, 355Mhz mem
Cooling is custom built TEC /Water/ Freon setup | Vapo Mk1 performance est.
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 27th June, 2004, 11:02 PM
Lazgoat's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,868

I've read a few good things about these Mobile XP1500's. They are T'bred cores, all unlocked and 2Ghz should be easy! CPU City have them (Mobile XP1600+) for about £32 if anyone is interested.

Laz.
__________________
DFI SLi-D, Opteron 144 @ 2.8Ghz, 4x512MB PDP XBLK, 160GB WD Caviar SE, Benq 1620DW DVD-RW, X1800XT 256MB,Custom WC.


AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 28th June, 2004, 12:54 AM
Member
 
Join Date: June 2004
Posts: 7

My board is an ASRock k7s41gx, the heatsink/fan is off of an older Duron, but seems to cool Ok.

Confused about temps: MBM5 says chip = 37 and case = 42 while the BIOS and AIDA32 say chip is 42 and case is 37. Shouldn't the case always be cooler than the chip?

CPU core voltage is 1.47 volts. Is this the one to increase? If so, how.

Am thinking about getting a bigger quieter fan with new sink. Everyone on newegg raves about this cooler that only costs $9.... very cool, very quiet and comes with a light show! Anyone familiar?

http://secure.newegg.com/app/Custrat...tem=35-106-602
Tr2tt (Designed by Thermaltake) Tr2M1 CPU Cooler for Socket A/ 370, Model "A4001D"
Features:
Compatibility: INTEL COPPERMINE 1.13 GHz, TUALATIN 2.0 GHz, AMD ALL DURON SERIES & ATHLON XP 3400+
Dimensions: Fan: 80 x 80 x 25 mm, HeatSink: 80 x 80 x 45 mm
Bearing Type: Ball Bearing
Nominal Speed(RPM): 2500
Max Air FlowCFM): 32.4
Max Pressure: 2.9 mm-H2O
HeatSink Material: Aluminum/ Copper Base
Rated Voltage: 12V DC
Connector: 3-Pin
Noise(dBA): 21
Special Features: Transparent body construction with Red, Green and Blue LED.
__________________

Last edited by LexusDaisy; 28th June, 2004 at 01:05 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 28th June, 2004, 04:30 AM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

The temps read by the BIOS are offset by some factor that is determined by the BIOS programmer, and can even vary from BIOS to BIOS. Basically, the offset is a 'guess' at how accurate the temp readings from the probes really are, and an attempt to compensate. Think of it as a 'Kentucky windage' for temps.

The temps read by MBM come directly from the sensors unaltered, so they are exactly what the probes are reading. These temps may or may not be more accurate than the temps reported by the BIOS, but they will almost certainly be different.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 28th June, 2004, 08:25 AM
Yan Yan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: April 2003
Location: München
Posts: 268

I would ask if you are sure you set up MBM5 right? Sounds like you might have mixed up the sensors. I would trust the BIOS in your situation.

Good luck with your OC
__________________
If you open your eyes a bit wider
You just might let some more light in

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 28th June, 2004, 06:07 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

I think Yan is right. Check the MBM5 configuration it has probably defaulted and mixed the two up.
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 28th June, 2004, 07:03 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

Quote:
Originally Posted by danrok
I think Yan is right. Check the MBM5 configuration it has probably defaulted and mixed the two up.
Yeah, I completely missed the part about the temps being the same, just swapped. Probably due to the default MBM5 config as danrok and Yan have suggested. I had to twiddle my NF7 configuration, too.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 28th June, 2004, 08:45 PM
Phat Pat's Avatar
Phat Spammer
 
Join Date: July 2002
Location: /home/pat
Posts: 1,432
Send a message via AIM to Phat Pat

mbm swapped the same things on me.
__________________
God's got this all wrong. We are not special. We are not crap or trash either. We just are, and what happens just happens.
And God says, "No, that's not right."
Yeah. Well. Whatever. You can't teach God anything. -Tyler Durden

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Athlon 64 MOBILE are they good Jonny_doe General Hardware Discussion 7 9th May, 2005 09:14 PM
Mobile AMD Athlon XP bigjohnson AMD Motherboards & CPUs 11 5th October, 2004 12:30 AM
Athlon XP-M Mobile Temps at different FSB Speeds Hoppster AMD Motherboards & CPUs 8 19th June, 2004 05:36 AM
Mobile Athlon 2600XP@2600mhz on air mixx666 AMD Motherboards & CPUs 37 24th April, 2004 02:41 AM
8rda+ and Mobile Athlon XP 1400+ Mark.S EPoX MotherBoards 2 10th December, 2002 03:04 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:12 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0