AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 2nd July, 2004, 02:07 AM
Member
 
Join Date: June 2004
Posts: 7

Overclock... I'm trying, 2000 bios speed

Just went from 128/PC2100 to 512/PC2700, improving performance noticably as judged by this user.

I ran simple memory read and write benchmarks: read was the same level but write improved 25%. Also saw that the memory was 333, so I set the FSB jumpers to 333. Set like this, the bios says Athlon 2000+ ....that's a nice gain over stock 1500.

Trouble is that Windows won't load..... just an Athlon 2000 that acts like a rock. After I send this message, I'm installing a copper sink with 80mm fan. CPU runs about 42 now.

I think the hardware is ready for some serious abuse and testing. What is next? Is there an Overclocking FAQ here? I could not find anything in the files section? Do I change settings or jumpers? Thanks

PS... I use a Celeron 1.7 at work, and it benchmarks faster and runs cooler than my AMD. I have this irrational dislike of all things Intel and very much want my homegrown AMD 1500 to beat this Compaq Celeron thing they gave me. I expect the AMD1500 should beat a Celeron 1.7 with 133 memory. Right?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 2nd July, 2004, 02:13 AM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

Go here. Read it from top to bottom. It is a good basic how-to. Many of the tools you will be interested in can be found here, here, here, and here.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 2nd July, 2004, 02:32 AM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

PLease read Gizmo's links first...

Then, try upping the vcore a notch. It sounds like your CPU needs a little extra juice. Just keep a close eye on temps.... BTW... Have you looked at our folding section yet?
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bios support for variable fan speed plz gibman EPoX MotherBoards 3 26th March, 2003 09:27 PM
SPREAD SPECTRUM option in BIOS & 8K3A+ helps on HIGH FSB Overclock ? Dagalidis EPoX MotherBoards 1 12th February, 2003 11:24 PM
8rda+ Bios "cpu frequncy changed or overclock failure" Rhom EPoX MotherBoards 6 17th January, 2003 03:24 PM
enable +.2000 vcore in the bios spyral EPoX MotherBoards 12 4th February, 2002 02:39 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:56 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0