AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > AMD Motherboards & CPUs

AMD Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on AMD products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 5th July, 2004, 04:06 PM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2004
Posts: 36

Which NForce2 board should I pick?

I was thinking about picking the NF7-S Rev 2.0, but what about the Epox 8RDA+? which is best, especially for overclocking?

I'm having this dilemma because the epox is about U$20 cheaper here in brazil...
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 5th July, 2004, 04:30 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

I've heard lots of good things about the 8RDA+. I like my NF7, but I certainly wouldn't be against the 8RDA+, especially if it was $20 cheaper.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 5th July, 2004, 05:06 PM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2004
Posts: 36

i've heard that the nf7-s is not as good a pick cuz it has some limitations when changing the multiplier and the vcore...is that true?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 6th July, 2004, 12:24 AM
Razorfish's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,878
Send a message via MSN to Razorfish

The DFI Lanpartys a Nforce 2, and it treats me well. i heard lots of good things so i bought one, plus its cool under UV and of course built in LAN.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 6th July, 2004, 02:19 AM
Member
 
Join Date: July 2004
Posts: 36

Quote:
Originally Posted by Razorfish
The DFI Lanpartys a Nforce 2, and it treats me well. i heard lots of good things so i bought one, plus its cool under UV and of course built in LAN.
built in LAN? what is that?
(that's what some months not updating your brain about pcs will do to you...)

well the problem with the DFI is actually its price...here in brazil its about 30-40 dollars more expansive than the NF7-S, which is about 20-30 dollars more expensive that the 8RDA3+

oh some folks told me to wait for the 8RDA6+PRO to reach the stores but i dont think its worth it, i dont want a major upgrade for my pc, just a slight one to wait for intel's 64bit...what are the major gains of 8RDA6+PRO over the 8RDA3+?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 6th July, 2004, 02:53 AM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

There are apparently some issues with the NF7-S and certain multis, 10 and 10.5 mostly. I've never had a problem with them myself. I think the VCore problem is a myth. Theoretically, the NF7-S undervolts. This is according to monitor utilities that read the WinBond chip. My own direct measurements taken with my trusty multimeter indicate that, if anything, the NF7-S actually overvolts slightly. At least, that has been the case with both of mine.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 6th July, 2004, 09:51 AM
Lazgoat's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,868

They are all great boards and most NF2 boards have LAN as standard.
If you just want a minor upgrade get the 8RDA+ or NF7. They are cheaper than the 8RDA3+ and NF7-S.
Socket A will be aroud for a while yet and the performance of these boards is very good. If you want tried and tested mature board with good features get the NF7-S V2.

Laz.
__________________
DFI SLi-D, Opteron 144 @ 2.8Ghz, 4x512MB PDP XBLK, 160GB WD Caviar SE, Benq 1620DW DVD-RW, X1800XT 256MB,Custom WC.


AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 6th July, 2004, 10:31 AM
Razorfish's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: March 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,878
Send a message via MSN to Razorfish

to be honest its true, ive heard nothing bad about really about the nforce2 boards, if the lanpartys to expensive why not try the Dfi infinity board, nearly exacly the same as the lanparty but a lot cheaper.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 6th July, 2004, 10:48 AM
dod's Avatar
dod dod is offline
AOA Staff (should be working)
 
Join Date: June 2002
Location: Inverness
Posts: 4,014
Send a message via ICQ to dod Send a message via Yahoo to dod

Quote:
Originally Posted by brunobm
I was thinking about picking the NF7-S Rev 2.0, but what about the Epox 8RDA+? which is best, especially for overclocking?
.
Very little to choose between them to be honest. Both fast and stable straight out of the box.

If you're in the market for really high FSB though look at the DFI Infinity. It might take a bit more tweaking than the Abit or Epox but there are some great examples of what can be done with it in this section, just search for posts by user name "whatever". In fact if you check the Motherboard section on front page you'll find a very nice review on it,
__________________
AOA Team fah
Asus P5Q pro, E8400, 4X2Gb XMS2 6400, 8800GT OC and a heap more HDD space

Last edited by dod; 6th July, 2004 at 10:55 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 6th July, 2004, 12:47 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Quote:
Originally Posted by brunobm
what are the major gains of 8RDA6+PRO over the 8RDA3+?
As far as I can see, the biggest point is that the 8RDA6+PRO has Gigabit ethernet onboard, and it has 4 SATA connectors. The 8RDA3+ has 10/100Mbit ethernet and 2 SATA connectors. Take a look at epox.org and see for yourself!

8RDA3+ specs here
8RDA6+PRO specs here
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 6th July, 2004, 03:11 PM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

Quote:
Originally Posted by gizmo
There are apparently some issues with the NF7-S and certain multis, 10 and 10.5 mostly. I've never had a problem with them myself. I think the VCore problem is a myth. Theoretically, the NF7-S undervolts. This is according to monitor utilities that read the WinBond chip. My own direct measurements taken with my trusty multimeter indicate that, if anything, the NF7-S actually overvolts slightly. At least, that has been the case with both of mine.
ditto to all statements.
Regarding upgrades... the 8rda+ is probably the best choice. It's primary weak spot is also a plus for you. It is a bit long in the tooth, and therefore has the lowest price. You really don't lose anything in terms of performance... The sound isn't quite as nice as soundstorm and there's no SATA. Otherwise, you get a great mobo for a good price. If you wait for the new Epox, you'll be paying for the new shine. It will have more raid options... and the ability to handle many drives at once (like 10 or more), but that does not seem to be a priority for you. There may be more, but I expect the pricing to be much higher than nf7s now.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Nforce2 Shuttle board???? wtf? purplemohawkman AMD Motherboards & CPUs 1 3rd November, 2003 10:57 PM
Best nForce2 board?? DevilDoll AMD Motherboards & CPUs 32 25th August, 2003 09:25 PM
soltek nforce2 board(golden flame) daktari AMD Motherboards & CPUs 7 21st July, 2003 09:49 PM
safest way to exchange VIA KT133 to nforce2 Board? dmtec EPoX MotherBoards 9 12th March, 2003 05:09 PM
When Epox nForce2 board with RAID? mirus EPoX MotherBoards 2 5th January, 2003 03:52 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:14 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0